Ratings based on 306 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, Alabama

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Thought room was an extended stay suite,but there were no dishes provided for cooking or eating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berwyn, PA

Room was dirty, stained carpet, out dated.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: McDonalds and gas station
I traveled to Birmingham on business. After a long day I wanted to shower and relax in a comfortable bed. I arrived at the hotel at approx 10:30PM and was surprised to see tall grass on the complex. After checking in and going to the room, I wanted to leave. If it was not after 11PM at night I would have looked for another hotel. I also did not want to go through the hassle of getting a refund because I booked through Expedia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old but at least it's clean with no bugs

Posted Jul 27, 2014
I stayed there this past weekend and the stay was ok. Hotel is really an apartment complex where people live and I guess they rent some of the rooms too! Hotel rooms are old, outdated, and have a slight basement smell to them. However the staff was friendly and the rooms were huge and clean. Even though it looked a little suspect I was surprised at the cleanliness. I've stayed in better looking hotels but they had roaches. This one was bug free!! Overall the hotel is average at best but very economical. If you need a clean room for a night or two at a cheap rate then this hotel is the move!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from duluth ga

Horrible

Posted Jun 27, 2014
It was the worst stay ever Bathroom lock was not working my friend was locked inn I have to call maintainece guy around mid night to take out my friend
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philly

Booked room but once I saw it, I cancelled.

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Dirty room, bathroom toilet seat had hair on it. Dishwasher was broken, tiles in shower were falling off the wall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rime Garden is surrounded by woods

Posted Jun 9, 2014
The staff was friendly, especially Mr. James, the van driver. However, the actual suite was run down, and didn't feel especially clean. The best part of the stay was the use of gym facilities across the street!
1 out of 5
by Jennifer from Montgomery, Al

Nasty. Stinky. Difficult to find.

Posted Jun 6, 2014
I am pretty sure this also serves as a halfway house. It was very old and showed and smelled it's age. It was not clean. The entire place smelled. Spend an extra $10 and stay somewhere nicer.
2 out of 5
by Athena

Low income housing

Posted May 8, 2014
Housekeeping consists of bed being made and getting clean towels. Had to go to office to ask for toilet paper.
2 out of 5
by Athena

Low income housing

Posted May 8, 2014
Housekeeping consists of bed being made and getting clean towels. Had to go to office to ask for toilet paper.
2 out of 5
by Mark from Westland, MI

Surprised (but not in the best way)

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Its proximity to the I-20 freeway.
Cons: A lot! The room carpeting and furniture should be updated; the business office definitely needs to be updated.
Location: There are plenty of stores, restaurants--casual dining and fast-food and gas stations nearby.
I got into Birmingham after dark so I was searching for a hotel building. Imagine my surprise when I pulled into an actual condominium-looking complex! I had no idea that the room I was renting was actually an apartment-sized room, but trying to initially find my way through the complex after checking in was a frustrating experience. I actually had to go back to the front desk after stopping at two other buildings, only to find out I missed a turn somewhere en route to looking for my room. I had a hotel staff member who was walking outside ride to my building with me to show me where I needed to go and to park. When I got into the room, I could tell it was pretty old-looking. The carpet was dingy and stained in many places and the furniture in the living room and bedroom was old and antiquated--it had all been around the block a few times before. Still, the room itself was pretty comfortable and the bed at least didn't sag--I slept ok in it. I went to use the 24-hour business center and once in the room, there was a single, old, Old, OLD computer and CRT monitor and and old printer--that's it, no phone, no other amenities. The staff person advised that the computer hadn't been working in a couple of days but she thought that *maybe* it was now.I had to reboot the thing twice--because of the old operating system lack of speed it had, it frozen twice. Go stay at a better place nearby...