Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Geoff from Brighton

Friendly, cosy place but needs just a little TLC

Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels
I was very very grateful that i could change the date of my booking and not get charged a admin fee. Thank you. The Bell is a very friendly and welcoming place. Big smiles, log fires, Timothy Taylors landlord and great food The bar restaurant is beautifully decorated. The room (Room 1) was once a lovely cosy room but could urgently need a fresh coat of paint. Quite a bit of dust in the corners and lights. Needs a good attack. The drainage for the toilet is quite annoying but i am sure they know that and if they had a choice they would not have put it in if it wasn't required I would definitely stay again at that price and most probably will be later in the year.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by mike from Middlesbrough

Would not stay again

Posted Feb 8, 2015 on Hotels
When we were shown our room we were shocked that the bed was a "put you up " type which meant we were virtually sleeping on a mattress on the floor. The lighting in the room was awful, to read anything was impossible. Only one bedside table ( I had to turn the waste bin upside down at the other side to put my glasses, watch, water on.) No bedside lamps. The bathroom had no ventilation and was so dark my wife found it very difficult to put on her make up. The owner had no other rooms available to move us. Whilst the food was good I think that £108 for a evening meal was a little over the top. It was stated breakfast was available, but no price quoted. When we received the bill it was £10 per person. Owner took our credit card details and when I checked the charges back at the office had been charged £150 too much. When I emailed the owner he said a mistake had been made ( good job I checked my bill )I also put my comments on the room. His reply was simply ... "your comments have been noted ". No apoligies, no nothing. Make sure you are not allocated room 4 if you are booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Peter Wimborne

Posted Dec 5, 2014 on Hotels
Very comfortable and friendly staff I would return
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointing stay

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Most things
Lovely old inn converted to restaurant with rooms upstairs. Room was okay, but walls are so thin you can hear all the other guests talking. The view from our bedroom window was a small roof with an old hot water boiler left on it, hence the shutters I guess. Shower didn't work at all and the whole bathroom was on a very noisy sanifo which must have woken the entire hotel up. No hair drier in room, but seeing as how the shower didn't work and the sink was the size of a tea cup you probably wouldn't need one
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from UK

Nice hotel - well recommended

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels
very comfortable, good food, good host
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Neil from Plymouth

Could be great

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels
Good nights sleep and fair priced good food in sociable bar. Room was essentially well appointed but needs redecorating and maybe some personal touches. Car parking excellent, wifi excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dev from UK

Ok for just sleep over

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels
I stopped in only for a sleep over, the TV was not working (may be due to weather). I was on ground floor and there are rooms on the floor above, the floors crack a lot. Pub seemed nice but I didn't use it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Weekendgal from London

Great food, rooms need tlc

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels
Food in restaurant was excellent, staff very friendly. Rooms need some tlc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good food

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels
It was an okay overnight - food was good and staff were friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by almack from Glasgow

Idyllic location

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels
I had read mixed reviews so wasn't sure what to expect - especially for the price I paid. My room was clean, comfortable and with modern bathroom appliances. Oak beams give the room some character. Restaurant is really nice, and food is well above average. Breakfast was in a different league! Hotel is in a beautiful peaceful rural village green setting, but a short drive to Solihull and NEC. If you like your music, Tanworth is where Nick Drake lived and is buried. Only gripe was that internet was weak in my room (but ok in the bar/restaurant area). Would I go back - yes