Ratings based on 662 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hit or Miss

Posted Aug 3, 2014
I'm a wedding photographer and I picked this place for its great location. Our first stay with them was pretty good. Quiet, clean, normal. The place obviously needs some updates but it was perfect for us. The second (and last) time we stayed was the night of some event that they were hosting on the top floor (or rooftop). There were people everywhere. All night. Like until 5AM. People in the hallways. Music and screaming everywhere. You would think a cute little historic hotel downtown would not approve of this and maybe fix it. But no. I felt like I was surrounded by college students during spring break at Panama City. Unfortunately, I won't be staying here again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Ariana & Brendafrom Lawrenceville, GA

Will not recommend

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was not pleased at all. The pictures shown for this hotel, specifically the room, does not compare to the real deal. The TV in the room was as antiquated as the building and the size was not as big as shown in the picture. No restaurant on site and no complimentary breakfast. We want our money back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mary jane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jakefrom Florida

Not bad for the money.

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a conveniently priced and located hotel for us. For 2 nts it cost the same as one night at tutwiler. But redmont needs to make some drastic changes if they want to stay in business. There's one desk clerk that I'd fire. They "continental breakfast" was muffins and coffee that's wasn't very good. The roof top bar is not open and it is simply creepy up there. Cool view though. The whole place just looks really run down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by zzcn69from Jackson, Ms

Great Location for downtown B'ham

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is about to close for remodeling so things look a bit dated and others just need replacing. Carpet stained, etc. However, the location was ideal for us and we would stay there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
by wandererfrom San Francisco

So promising, but...

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel has a lot going for it. Nice staff, lovely lobby. Old charm. Good location. But there are too many things that need improvement. They're doing some work downstairs so when I went to check out the very small fitness room things down there were kind of a mess. Worse, the carpet to the basement was filthy and the carpet in the room felt dirty underfoot.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Historic bodily fluids?

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel looks the part of a nice place to stay, but make no mistake, this place is no frills. Staff is nice. I was prepared for some dinginess since this is a historic hotel. All over the white covers were bodily fluid stains. The sheets were clean. If you want to play celebrity guess those fluid stains, you'll be ok. Other wise, it's not the worst thing in the world for the price. The strong could survive the night if they look down and not trip over the ripped carpet. Hope this helps
4 out of 5
Recommended
by cpfrom Birmingham

Nice stay

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The service was really nice. Loved the historic look amd vibe of the hotel. The rooms are slightly dated, however very clean. The sales manager explained that they will start renovations and updates. I would strongly reccomend this place to anyone. And I anticipate the updates. Will definitely return.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Will Not Stay Again

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Went to a men's conference at bjcc, and thought this hotel would be perfect since it was close to the civic center. Well that was the ONLY thing I was right about! Lady at the front desk either didn't know what she was doing, or cared more about not having a break. She put us in a room that was already occupied, then she left a "sticky note" that we'd checked out of that room, and been out into another, of which the "manager" decided to knock on our door @ 3 a.m. I always try to give a hotel the benefit of the doubt, but after this experience I'll stay somewhere that's a major chain!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looking forward to a quaint historic hotel!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The old downtown feel.
Cons: Cleaning, upgrading
It was a quaint hotel, and I wouldn't have minded that it was a bit run down, but the cleanliness was an issue. Just little things like the inside of the elevator doors and the floors. The hotel was in dire need of updating and maintenance. The caulking around the vanity was coming loose as was the wall paper. I had high hopes and was let down. Could be so much more.