Ratings based on 569 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fair for the price

Posted Apr 14, 2014
I booked a room with two double beds and ended up with a king. No refrigerator as quoted. Fine place to stay for one night and convenient enough to BJCC if you had a car.
3 out of 5
by Tzuo from San Francisco

you have to drive to get to hot spot

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: downtown location.
Cons: Maintenance of room. light bulbs , windows were nailed shut.
Location: Restaurants and bars are else where
Parking for $7.50 when the street in front of hotel is free. Restaurants and bars are somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ted from Montgomery, AL

Quaint hotel near UAB and downtown

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: TV need to be flat screens
Location: Downtown, restaurants, UAB
Only stayed one night, but the room was comfortable and the staff was very pleasant and helpful with local dining info. Only suggestion would be to update TVs to flat screens.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jessica from California

Nice room.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Nice room. But the fact that you couldn't order room service because of the construction sucked big time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but unknown charges

Posted Apr 3, 2014
It seems that's this hotel charge you and don't explain why. Their e-mail address doesn't work.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This place should not be open.

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
The hotel is "under renovation" . If so, they should wait until something is in place to sell rooms. The rooms were dirty (there was trash from previous guests) and there are no amenities.
3 out of 5
by Matt from IL

Was okay for the night.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Suitable for the single night. Not great, but not terrible. The staff were fantastic though and this really made the experience positive.
2 out of 5
by Joe from Detroit, MI

WHAT A DUMP!!!

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: friendly staff / proximity
Cons: EVERYTHING. general cleanliness. condition
Location: BJCC close by - limited late night dining.
Carpet was the dirtiest I've ever seen in a hotel. One hanger in the closet. No coffee maker despite online promise. Elevators broke for 2 days. Molding falling off. Lights don't work. Plugs don't work. Phone doesn't work. Dirty bathroom. Wires sticking out of wall in hallway. 3 keys - all don't work during stay. No on-sight restaurant as promised. Lobby coffee / breakfast is a joke -a couple boxes of cereal with no milk, and the worst coffee EVER. Only positive point was an extremely friendly staff, and close to downtown / BJCC. NEVER AGAIN for me.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First time reviewer

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Let me be clear... The affordable price is not worth considering this hotel. The room was filthy. Stains on the carpet. Non working lights...terrible odor... Not enough towels.... We heard running/dripping water in the elevator.... We attempted to locate another room for our stay just by viewing the place at check in...missing ceiling tiles.. Terrible odor and the floors had not been swept in months... Do not recommend!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient downtown location

Posted Feb 22, 2014
The staff working at the desk were the very nicest and most accommodating people the downside was that there was no restaurant or amenities on site. There was also no coffee maker in the room, which would have been a bonus. I give them an A+ for effort, as they were very helpful in directing me to offsite restaurants.