Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

One day stayover

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Central location in solihull
Cons: As above a bit more T&C
Location: Excellent. Right in centre and next to everything including shops and rsetauarnts
Needs a coat of paint and a bit of investment in terms of painting and decorating, bathroom decour etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by janet from Cwmbran

Ideal if visiting NEC

Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was ideally situated for our needs as it was in easy travelling distance for the NEC, both by car and public transport, the number 966 bus is almost door to door. Close to the Solihull town centre which offered plenty of variety of shops and places to eat. The hotel was clean and the staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was a nice size and was cleaned daily. We ran out of milk & coffee but this was quickly solved with a simple request to reception. The leisure facilities were pleasant but be advised that the lockers require a £1 coin deposit. All in all, a pleasant place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good experience.

Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
Classical, clean and comfortable. Also, it has a good location to shopping center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carly from Birmingham

fantastic

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel clean tidy and very comfortable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel some rooms good some not so good

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Rooms ok check in late as coming from airport. The room I got was at far end of hotel which actually remind me of little shalleys felt I bit degraded. As I stay on the 12th March night before my flight and had a fantastic room .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stephen from Waterford, Ireland

St Johns Stay

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable stay. NIce hotel Could probably do with more tables in the bar area for evening dining.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tracey from Sidcup

A dogs breakfast!

Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
Room service breakfast was inedible - we gave the full english to our dog and the fresh fruit salad was out of a tin!! We were also incorrectly charged £15 per night per pet instead of £15 per stay as stated on the Hotles.com website. We complained about both and got the refunded but really not very impressive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Linda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by James from London

Recent stay at the St John's Hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels
As usual, a comfortable stay at the St John's. I'd recommend going for express checkout as it does get busy at Reception around 6pm for checking in and around 8:30am as those times are when all the business people tend to check in and out. Hopefully the hotel can do something to sort this out as it's a common issue and I have waited over 20 minutes to check in, in the past. Breakfast is always good, though it was a bit tricky finding a clear table this time. A little speedier clearing of used tables would be appreciated! All in all, a reasonable hotel with decent food and polite staff. With a couple of tweaks, as I've suggested, my rating would definitely be higher.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bobby

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2015 on Hotels