Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Gailfrom Birmingham

Nice and quite

Posted Sep 17, 2014 
Very comfortable stay, welcoming and helpful. I knew breakfast was going to be good when I saw they had prunes, grapefruit and yoghurts - always a good sign. I couldn't make the kettle work but found out on exit that one plug socket works but not the other. It's in a quiet road considering the area is heavily residential which made for a good nights sleep. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Leefrom Australia

Isolated but nice

Posted Apr 13, 2014 
I sought out this small private hotel for the quality of the area in which it was located. From this point of view I was not disappointed and breakfast was lovely. Unfortunately when I was there the chef had been called away on personal matters and no evening meal was offered and as the only public restaurant within a reasonable walking distance was a nice Indian restaurant it meant on my second day I ensured I ate heartily at lunch time whilst in the city picking up a meat roll from a supermarket on the way back to the hotel. The advertised bar was not lit and manned and to secure a beer it meant knocking on the door of the hosts private quarters and requesting a drink which was provided but for a cost unknown. This was provided the following day. All in all a disappointing stay when the advertising offered so much more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Karlfrom London

Nice B&B within easy 15 min drive NEC Birmingham

Posted Mar 24, 2014
I was slightly concerned about the booking due to some of the other reviews on here but was pleasantly surprised by how wonderful my hosts were and how comfortable my stay was. It's a tudor house, with lots of charm, and very well kept. My breakfast was hot and served to order. Coffee brought to my table and the hosts were always asking how everything was. Very nice change from typical hotels. I had some groceries in my room (bread, spread, etc.) and on the 2nd day I was left a plate, napkin, and cutlery in the room which I felt was such a nice thought. Wireless internet was sufficient in the room -- never any connection issues and it was included. I will stay here again and drive to NEC (rather than being closer). Thanks for a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michele Bfrom Italy

A lovely stay

Posted Feb 7, 2014 
I stayed here 3 nights during the Spring Fair show. It is a family hotel, rooms are nice and confortable. Breakfast is rich and prepared at the moment. Very good quality food and superb tea. It is 15 mn far from the airport and 20 mn far from NEC by taxi (almost 18 gbp). You can't find any restaurant near by, that's the only issue I had
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Koldt

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: De fantastiske søde ældre damer der servicerede os :)
Cons: Skrue op for varmen, så jeres gæster ikke bliver syge når de er kommet hjem!!!
Hotellet var som sådan fint nok, der var pænt og rent, maden var helt ok. Vores eneste problem og grunden til vores dårlige karakter er at der var bidende koldt og da manageren var bortrejst havde personalet ikke mulighed for at skrue op for varmen, bi tænker at hotellet er rigtig fint om sommeren, men vil ikke anbefale at bo der i vinterhalvåret....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2013 
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Davefrom South west

Cold,grubby and smelly

Posted Nov 28, 2013 
Heating turned off all night, room grubby and smelt like an ashtray from years of smoking in past. Left early and slept in car!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ireland

Old hotel but lovely & clean. Very friendly staff

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Comforting
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cambridge, ontario

Posted Nov 21, 2013
A very comfortable stay! Nice breakfast, very hospitable owner. He helped us with directions and even allowed us to use his telephone to call overseas!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Faulty Towers

Posted Oct 24, 2013 
The owner seemed pleasant enough and helped take my bag to the room, and pointed out where breakfast would be served. The hotel is dated, poorly maintained, and needs a good clean. The walls are covered in woodchip and the carpets are in need of a good shampoo. The shower cubicle is tiny with the toilet henned into a tight corner. The ensuite window had a crack in glazing. The towels provided seem worn and had a damp musty smell about them. I left the room at 0730hrs, believing this wasn't an unreasonable time to have breakfast. The corridors had no lighting or sign of life and were poorly / barely lit. Downstairs the dining area was pitch black clearly unmanned, the expectation seem to be that I prepare breakfast myself. Fed up I left without breakfast, leaving the room key on the reception desk and without actually seeing anyone before leaving. I like places to have character, but this is just plain dated along with the service (or lack of). Avoid at all cost.