Ratings based on 555 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Skiatook,OK

Decent for price

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: The staff was nice
Cons: Cleanliness. Rooms stink. Had roaches in my room. The breakfast wasn't very good.
Location: Talladega race track is about 40 miles away.
We booked here because I stayed at a wyndham in Chicago and it was immaculate so I had high hopes when I booked this hotel. Although it was okay it was not near what I had hoped. We had roaches in the room. The rooms stunk really bad. It was some kinda of spicy musky smell that smelled like they were trying to mask an odor. The breakfast was not very good either. The night time desk clerk was very nice and professional and the shower was hot. Not sure what else I can compliment on. I guess maybe I expected too much....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2014
When we got to our room, we noticed the bed headboard was crooked and then that the faucet handles were on backwards on the bathroom sink. We reported it, just wanting the staff to know that it was that way when we got there. The staff promptly sent the maintenance man up to the room and he was very professional, polite and efficient. He had everything fixed in no time. We enjoyed the rest of our stay, as always. We always stay at this hotel when we come to Birmingham, which is several times a year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birminghan, alabama

Fair experience

Posted Oct 15, 2014
This Wingate by Wyndham seemed older and was not as nice as others I have stayed in. Very disappointed in the breakfast each morning. Free wi-fi but everytime I logged on it made my phone and tablet go crazy. Probably would not stay at this particular one again but will continue to stay at other locations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to Birmingham zoo

Posted Oct 2, 2014
had a nice stay at hotel. staff was very friendly and slso helpful with direction.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff a little clueless

Posted Sep 21, 2014
When I walked up to desk to check-in, the lady behind the desk told me "I'll be there in a minute". Then she said they didn't get my second reservation and I would need to call Expedia and get it straightened out. Fortunately, I asked to speak with the Manager and he straightened it out in about 10 seconds. The room was clean. I could hear the TV in the room next door. Probably won't stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
I loved my stay here! Breakfast was great and beds were so comfortable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn AL

Very nice

Posted Aug 25, 2014
The stay was great and staff was very friendly and helpful to the area I would definitely recommend staying here to any of my friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Could be a lot better.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The one redeeming factor was the staff. The staff was great helpful polite and went out of their way to help.
Cons: I was deeply disappointed the carpet was dirty, the smelled bad and the bathrooms looked jacked repairmen remodel the place.
Location: The location is very convenient and near the highway and stores.
The last time I stayed at this property it was being re-model. So this time I hoped that it has gotten better because was good the 2 times prior. I was deeply disappointed the carpet was dirty, the smelled bad and the bathrooms looked jacked repairmen remodel the place. The one redeeming factor was the staff. The staff was great helpful polite and went out of their way to help. If it was not for the staff I would have given a lower rating. Maybe the place is under new management. Whatever it is please find your way back to the way it was 5 years ago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

For the money, Good

Posted Jul 30, 2014
The hotel wasn't too bad. Cleaning was as expected. Breakfast was terrible though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Great clean and safe location with lots of shopping. Traffic is a bit heavy but very nice views.