Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tomah, WI

Smelly room

Posted Nov 28, 2014
The room smelled like old cigs. Room was cramped. Reusing room towels is gross....green or not. I do use fresh towels with each shower at home. I expect to be able to do that when away from home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2014 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I'm sorry that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. As you are aware Wisconsin has a no smoking law in effect in all public buildings, even with this law some guests still decide to smoke in their room. We make every effort to sanitize and disinfect these rooms. We will review our process to ensure rooms are smoke free. Our housekeepers are instructed to replace any dirty towels in our guest rooms, if this was not done, I apologize for this error and will follow up with our housekeeping staff. We appreciate your feedback and would like to see you here at Tomah Super 8 again. Joseph W. General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Madison, Wisconsin

Cheap

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Poor heating if any. Draft coming from windows and bent up metal window frames that wouldn't lock . Poor management with lame excuses and no satisfaction.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2014 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all your feedback. We have fixed the screen that was causing the issue in your room and we apologize for any discomfort you had while staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Tomah. Joseph W. General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Working trip

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pet friendly and allowed us to have an early check-in
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2014 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to provide a review about your stay with us at the Tomah Super 8. We are happy to have been able to accommodate your early check in as we attempt to meet all our guests needs. And thank you for pointing out that we are a pet friendly location as well. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Tomah. Joseph W. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Burnsville, MN

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Everything!!! What really got my husband excited was to see he had a recliner just like at home!
Cons: Nothing!
As we made last minute plans, Super 8 was the only one with a room left. We were pleasantly surprised with our room. We didn't expect it to be so roomy! It was great to have a microwave & refridgerator! We were equally surprised that we got free breakffast
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are glad to have been able to provide you with a "roomy" sized room, with your microwave and refrigerator, which we have in every room. We also are happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary Superstart Breakfast. On your next visit you will be sure to notice our newly painted guest rooms as well! Joseph Woyt General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Close to Cranfest

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Beds were comfortable
Cons: Making sure everything works in each room.
Location: Location was great. Close to restaurants and shopping
Intranet was slow and never did get on, hair dryer did not work, had trouble with the television, when taking a shower there were times when the water all of a sudden got very hot, went down for some breakfast around 7:30 and alot of things were empty and they did not have any more to re-stock. Very disapointed for the price we had to pay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2014 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to review our property. Please know that we value your feedback and will utilize it to improve all of our guests experiences. During the Cranfest Weekend, we experience a high volume of guest interaction and with this in mind, the number of guests connecting to the internet is much higher than normal causing a lag in the internet. We will work with our service provider to try to resolve this issue during our busy seasons. All reviews are shared with the staff so we can take active steps in improving every day. We will be sure to make sure all items in our guest rooms are checked including the hair driers. We continually strive to improve enhance and update our hotel and hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future. Sincerely, Joseph W. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Red Lake,ON. canada

It is nice and close to places we want to go

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: coffee make
Cons: nothing comes in mind right now
we always enjoying staying in Toma,food is close and able to go places,yet very close to our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2014 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback we appreciate your visit to Tomah and look forward to your stay at Super 8 in the future. Joseph W. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2014
over all better tan average stay breakfast less than normal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Horrible

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Only one thing I'm going to say spend your money somewhere else room dirty stinky they said the rooms are smoking free but I'm not sure DO NOT GO THERE.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2014 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay with us. I am sorry your room did not meet your expectations. We are currently in the process of remodeling all our guest rooms and hope you will visit us again to see what we have done. Joseph W. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very accommodating.