Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2015
The bed was terrible, it's old, flat and worn out. The whole hotel needs updating. Location is great.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tomah, WI

Smelly room

Posted Nov 28, 2014
The room smelled like old cigs. Room was cramped. Reusing room towels is gross....green or not. I do use fresh towels with each shower at home. I expect to be able to do that when away from home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2014 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I'm sorry that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. As you are aware Wisconsin has a no smoking law in effect in all public buildings, even with this law some guests still decide to smoke in their room. We make every effort to sanitize and disinfect these rooms. We will review our process to ensure rooms are smoke free. Our housekeepers are instructed to replace any dirty towels in our guest rooms, if this was not done, I apologize for this error and will follow up with our housekeeping staff. We appreciate your feedback and would like to see you here at Tomah Super 8 again. Joseph W. General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Madison, Wisconsin

Cheap

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Poor heating if any. Draft coming from windows and bent up metal window frames that wouldn't lock . Poor management with lame excuses and no satisfaction.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2014 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all your feedback. We have fixed the screen that was causing the issue in your room and we apologize for any discomfort you had while staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Tomah. Joseph W. General Manager
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Williamfrom Cudahy, Wi

NOISY

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Noisy people in staircase. Stairs actually vibrated the vanity mirror each time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2015 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that there were guests that made to much noise during your stay. We attempt to provide a quiet relaxing atmosphere so our guests can have a good night's rest. I will discuss this issue with my staff and we will work to provide a better quiet hotel to our guests in the future. Joseph W. General Manger
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kenfrom Narol Manitoba

Basic Accomodation

Posted Nov 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Basic accommodation...furnishings were dated but adequate. OK for a short term stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2015 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review. We are currently in the process of updating our rooms with new paint and decor. We hope you will stop in and see our updates on your next visit to Tomah. Joseph W. General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Working trip

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pet friendly and allowed us to have an early check-in
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2014 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to provide a review about your stay with us at the Tomah Super 8. We are happy to have been able to accommodate your early check in as we attempt to meet all our guests needs. And thank you for pointing out that we are a pet friendly location as well. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Tomah. Joseph W. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a two day stay at the motel. Worked fine for us
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Super 8 in Tomah. We are pleased to have met your expectations during your stay and we look forward to providing you with an even more exceptional stay on your next visit. Joseph Woyt General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Burnsville, MN

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Everything!!! What really got my husband excited was to see he had a recliner just like at home!
Cons: Nothing!
As we made last minute plans, Super 8 was the only one with a room left. We were pleasantly surprised with our room. We didn't expect it to be so roomy! It was great to have a microwave & refridgerator! We were equally surprised that we got free breakffast
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are glad to have been able to provide you with a "roomy" sized room, with your microwave and refrigerator, which we have in every room. We also are happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary Superstart Breakfast. On your next visit you will be sure to notice our newly painted guest rooms as well! Joseph Woyt General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Hollyfrom wi

cranberry festival

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
No extra pillows, small room, thin walls
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your current stay with us in Tomah. We are sorry that we were unable to accommodate your request for extra pillows. We do have a large stock available to our guests, however due to the increase of guests per room for Cranfest we obviously did not have enough to meet all needs. We certainly will take your feedback into consideration when preparing for all large events. Sincerely, Joseph W. - General Manager