Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom New York

A Great Stay!

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: The staff, the bars, the pool, the beach, the breakfast.
Cons: Rooms and beach bar need updating.
Location: Great beach, no vendors (which we loved) Close to Store Bay and Crown Point.
We had a wonderful time at Grafton. The staff is so kind and pleasant! We left a tip for the housekeeper and when we got back to our room, it was still there. So I went and found her and said "I left this for you" and she replied "I just wanted to be sure" You don't find honesty like that these days. The lobby, pool and bar area are really nice. The breakfast is excellent! If there was one area to improve, it would be the rooms need updating, but they are clean.The beach bar needs a little updating too, but the food and drinks are excellent. The pool and beach beautiful. Very nice for a simple family getaway. We would stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Trinidad

October 2014

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: the location. the buffet breakfast. the beds, super comfy
Cons: An elevator to access the ocean view rooms. there are steps with no roof. it would also be convenient for differently abled persons
Location: the beaches, mt irvine, stonehaven etc and buccoo is closeby for sunday school. there is also the forts and mystery tombstone
It was ok. Used this hotel just to shower and sleep really. We had buffet breakfast. It was nice. The staff are not very eager to assist. They need some easier access to the ocean view rooms. A single elevator would be sufficient because if rain falls, the steps become wet and there isn't any roof over the walkways to the rooms. Overall it was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Value for money - I've seen better

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Not a bad hotel but value for money I think there are much better vacation spots. I found all of the receptionist except one to be extremely rude and unhelpful regarding information about the hotel or the island including yours they sell at their resort although the guy was hard to track down. I ended up booking with someone else. Otherwise, the hotel could use a much needed make over but the views are great and the weather was perfect. On a service note, I think reception could do a better job of being more discrete regarding women who are travelling there alone. I went after I finished working in Trinidad for a few days. When checking in the receptionist just keep saying to the entire lobby. You by yourself? And would freely add my room number whenever she mentioned "ok just yourself staying in room 391" often while people who weren't staying at the hotel were in the lobby. This happened throughout my stay even after check in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Trinidad

Close to Beach

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: very calm serene area
Cons: Staff Professionalism needs improving. Cable Television Sucks. Drinks for all inclusive could be improved.
Location: Fort James & Nylon Pool
My experience was good. The food was great. The shower in the room was a bit small.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ronnellfrom Trinidad

Grafting beach "never again"

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Arrived at 2:00pm with my 4 year old daughter and had to wait until 3pm to check in because of hotel policy even though the hotel seem to be empty. Rooms of hotel was terrible, old, dirty, remains of dead Mosquitos on walls plus live ones trying to bite you. I killed 7 before I could sleep.Paid extra for an ocean view but got, so called electric fence with grass blocking view. Kettle old and dirty and could not get an exchange because they said "all kettles we have are like that" TV not showing properly. Asked for someone to check the tv but no one came. Staff needs to be more hospitable. The pool was dirty and smelly, the only thing good was the breakfast and ocean view from the restaurant . I decided to checkout early and loose aprox. $200usd , then they decided to put me in "the new wing". But my mind was already set to get out of there. No refund or any kind of compensation. This a lonely, sketchy hotel. I left and got a room for the remainder of my trip at the best hotel in Tobago "Kariwak village hotel" trust me , they are the BEST!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Addella

It's was ok

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ran out of clean towels Ran out of some breakfast had to wait to restock both items Pool bar never opened the kids pool was closed all weekend The balcony door in my room never opened sent for it to be checked I left and it still closed Asked for a room close to pool gave me a room far away expected more was disappointed. Will not choose this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Trinidad

Need to upgrade

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: I liked the beach
Cons: The number chairs on the beach. The cable channels and its reception. Sliding doors that lock. Ceiling fans that are functional.
Location: There are other villas and hotels nearby that may be more upgraded. There is a fruit stand and a deli about a 10 min walk away as well as a bar.
I stayed at the Grafton for three nights. My room was clean however the ceiling fan was missing three of its blades so it was not usable. Also, the sliding door to the balcony did not lock which affected my ability to feel completely safe and relaxed in the room. The cable channels are very limited and the reception was fuzzy to make matters worse half of the channels changed to Spanish at a certain time so the only thing I could watch with a clear reception, in English was the news. The breakfast menu was basic and repeated itself and the dinner menu was also very basic. The beach was the best part but the hotel has very limited beach chairs; the beach had only four chairs and about six others were at the restaurant on the beach. An unexpected event came up an hour after I made my reservation at the hotel and they refused to waive the US$195.00 cancellation fee even though my reservation was over one week away. The receptionist would not allow me to speak to anyone else that was senior or they refused to come to the phone. So, once you book you will be strong-armed into staying there. On the other hand, the hotel staff were very pleasant and the location is fairly nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ladyb

Enjoyed it

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: location, staff accessible, restaurant
Location: The location was on the main road in Black Rock. Easy to get taxi service to other locations.
We arrived early to check-in so decided to have lunch. The best idea ever...lunch was terrific. Each meal we had was wonderful, prepared just right. The entire staff was cordial, not overbearing. Right there to assist when needed. Look forward to returning
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

would never go back again

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: The staff and the beach
Cons: the rooms need to be upgraded and the food in the restaurant needs to be better.
I found the hotel to be subpar for tobago. The staff was very helpful and exceptionally friendly. The rooms were barely decent and the air conditioner went out in the middle of the night during an incredibly hot time of the year. The food served was good but for a buffet, they kept running out of items and not replacing them with more fresh food. So if you came late to any of the meal services, you were out of luck, which also included all of the drinks. I won't be returning or recommending.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com