Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The hotel has nice view.
We booked this hotel for a family holiday to Wales, but please do not have high hopes for this hotel! 1. The hotel will not try to accommodate special requirements even through you have send your request 3 weeks in advance. 2. The rooms look nothing like it is on the pictures. Everything is dated and the tv in bathroom is just for decoration. We found 3 huge spiders on the ceilings in one night and house keeping will not replace anything they give you for free in the room, including shampoo and shower gel. I had the same hand tower which is wet for the entire stay and they will not change your beddings either. 3. The breakfast is very basic and we had eggs which is blue in colour. The restaurant is expensive but food is tiny and quality is poor. 4. Our key card does not work every day so we have to go to reception every day to get it renewed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Devon

Good facilities and staff

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Staff and facilities.
Cons: Mattress was very soft ( personal complaint for both wife and myself ). Bath plug hole dirty when plug accidently removed.
Location: Good base for Castle Coch & St Fagans which were great days out.
Easy check in, small ground floor room with view of machinery but we were a late booking at a cheap rate so no complaint. Excellent pool and spa facilities - shame all the treatment staff were fully booked - shows it is popular. Good bar - restaurant a little pricey but again popular. Pleasant breakfast - limited choice of egg options only gripe. Should have played the golf course but will save for another trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Good facilities

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The view from the restaurant were spectacular. I booked a junior suite which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Food was very good.
Cons: The lounge area sofas were a bit tired ... but that's just a small point.
Location: It's fairly rural, so we stayed in the hotel and made use of the spa facilities.
Beautiful surroundings, and we were blessed with gorgeous sunshine while we were there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

One night stay

Posted Jul 22, 2014
The view was amazing, staff helpful and room great. However the food in the resturant wasn't good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Spa or not to spa

Posted Jul 21, 2014
We stay at this hotel for 2 night relaxing weekend break before going to my daughters graduation ceremony in Cardiff. The hotel was chosen for its location and fantastic spa facilities Positive The setting of the hotel was excellent beautiful grounds and fantastic scenery, the staff are excellent and polite and the room was very clean and spacious ( we chose the junior suite). If you play golf it would be a golfers paradise (and would be highly recommended) as our room opened right up onto the golf course. The swimming pool area which includes Jacuzzi sauna and steam rooms are also excellent Negetive As the hotel offers various spa treatments we went with all the anticipations of enjoying our stay more by having a well earned pamper session only to be told at the spa reception that they were full booked and that most treatments are booked 6 weeks in advance!!!!?????? What a disappointment. Nowhere on the web site does it advise this. I think that the spa facility should reserve some time slots for their actual guests. In all our stay at this hotel was good and would recommend it to anyone tho i would advise them to pre book spa treatments
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Marketa from Crawley

Great location

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The first impression was great. Receptionist was friendly and helpful.However, the room was deffinately a let down.I stayed in room 102, which had no phone, no hand dryer and very dusty night tables and lamp shades. I requested phone as I could not get either of my two phones to work, but even though promised - it never arrived.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by logo from Oxford

Ok for golf or a spa stay

Posted May 8, 2014
I have stayed here a couple of times, but only because it is one of a small handful of hotels in the area with fitness facilities (I have stayed in the others too). The facilities are good, but it is a real balance as to whether the poor service is worth putting up with to use these. I would also advise that the whole set-up, from steep front steps, narrow corridors and sprung rather than automatic doors, favours the younger more agile client, which to be honest is at odds with the rest of the hotel, which seems to target more mature users. Food is tasty enough, reasonably cooked and in general nicely presented, if slightly overpriced, but again the service needs to be improved, it is slow and I found things have been either forgotten if ordered or not offered to start with. Breakfast is adequate, but not special. Rooms are ok, but could use an update (stained carpets for example) and some nods to practicality would be useful, like a hand towel tail for the sink. There is wifi which is a bonus, but few plug sockets in the bar/restaurant which means if you need to work the room is the best place.
3 out of 5
by anony from cardiff

lovely views right on a golf course

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: food
Cons: carpet in lower corridor the room was not all that clean either for the price we paid we could have gone 5star elsewhere
Food v good but same choice both nights bathroom/shower curtain smelly also only one facecloth one hand towel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Francis from Fleet

Great Staff but the Spa is overcrowded

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We thought that the best thing about this hotel is the helpfulness of the staff. The food is well prepared and delicious. The service was excellent at Reception, the Bar and Restaurant. The Spa staff rate as average for their service and they have a difficult job to do given the size of the spa facilities. Let me explain. The gym is excellent as are the pool, Jacuzzi (takes around 8 people), small sauna (4-6 people if you like it cosy) and small steam room (6 people). The problem comes when you have guests, leisure club members and visitors to the spa all trying to use the facilities. There are only 12 beds by the pool and yet there are lockers for 62 people in the changing rooms. A number of the lockers are not emptied at night which is a security issue and means that there are limited lockers available for people who are actually using the facilities. The hotel needs to find a way to manage the spa differently so that all of the different types of guests get a fair chance to use the facilities in comfort without over crowding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by David from Swansea

Good night away

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Although champagne and rose petals were initially ordered they weren't present on arrival but were later delivered to the room. The food served in the restaurant in the evening was excellent, as well as the service. Overall we had a lovely visit celebrating my fiancée's 50th birthday. We hope to revisit in the near future.