Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A must stay in Bloomington-Normal Area.

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
This is the only place I want to stay in Central IL. The accommodations are so clean, welcoming and unique. It feels like you are stepping back into the 1800's. The staff could not be any nicer or accommodating to your needs. They are very flexible and eager to make your stay better in any way that they can. I can not say how perfect this place is! Stay for business to feel like your at home, or go for a weekend retreat with a loved one. This place would be a great surprise for an anniversary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bob from outside Chicago

Perfect when visiting Illinois Wesleyan

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels
Very historical and comfortable. Very close to either campus. Very friendly staff. Nice change from run of the mill, cookie cutter hotel rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

An oasis of calm...

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: The very warm welcome, the beautiful house and its surroundings, the delicious breakfast and refreshments - in fact, what's not to like?!!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lovely residential area with a friendly bar within walking distance (5mins)
...after an arduous journey from Chicago. It was a great relief to arrive at Vrooman Mansion after a long day on the road as we started our trip down Route 66 and we received a very warm welcome. The house and its residential area were lovely, but the interior of the Mansion was particularly delightful being filled with antiques and beautiful furnishings. After a restful evening with everything provided for (tv, refreshments, snacks, magazines & books) and a comfortable night's sleep, we were greeted in the morning by a delicious home-made breakfast which kept us going for several hours on the next leg of our journey. We hope very much to visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by DJ from Illinois

Stepping Back in TIme

Posted Apr 17, 2014 on Hotels
We have been coming to Bloomington for 3 years visiting my step-Daughter in college, always wanted to check this place out and was so glad we did....If you love historic homes/history this place is amazing. There are no areas "off limits"..staff was so welcoming and told us we could roam at our leisure, even turn on and off the original Thomas Edison light bulbs! The night we stayed we there was only one other guest room booked, so all the rooms were open and we spent more than an hour just checking out the books, pictures and other really cool stuff scattered throughout the house. We stayed in the Julia room, which was very cozy and had an attached modern private bath with great plush towels and Gilchrist and Soames bath products. Breakfast was nicely done, love the player piano creating ambiance and chatting with the other guests. I have not stayed in many B&B, but this was my favorite so far!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Camilla from Sweden

Perfect place to stay at!

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels
This lovely B&B is a historic place. The people who works here are really friendly and will help you in every way they can. This B&B is like a living in a museum from the 1870's or stepping in to a episode of the TV show 'Downton Abbey'. I can highly recomend a staying here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2013
Pros: History.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unbelievable Place

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Pros: Beuatiful, good service, great food.
Cons: Nothing, keep it just as it is
Vrooman Mansion is really a 35 room mansion, owned in yesteryear by the wealthy Industrialist family whose name is bears. It has been restored or preserved to a breathtakingly beautiful state. Every room elicited an “Oooh” or “Wow”. I visited just before Thanksgiving and it was already decorated for Christmas – 20 Christmas trees, one in nearly every room. I must have taken 20 photos just to prove I stayed there. The service was impeccable: friendly, homey, yet professional. After a few hours I felt like I actually lived there. Food was fantastic – a 5 star breakfasts. If they charged twice what I paid I would still go back. I highly recommend either for travel or even if you are a local and just want a mini vacation where you feel like a royal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Vrooman Mansion

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels
Very nice, would recommend this for a night or weekend getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by janet from columbus oh

Pleased!

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Pros: The history and the feel
Really loved the stay staff was awesome!! No problems at all
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2013 on Hotels