Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio, USA

Location, location, location...

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The location and the staff was really friendly. Plus, the travel agent is right on site to book your reef and other excursions.
Cons: WIFI ustairs in the rooms.
Location: If I could redo my trip... I would make Cairns my launch pad for my travel time in Australia. Spend more time on the reef!!!
Perfect for the solo traveler... I arrived late late evening, exhausted. The night crew took care of me to get me into my room with little fuss ~ they are to be awarded for their kindness! This is all about location in this sea side town. Anything further would not have worked unless you fancy walking in the dark or taking a bus to get into the city center. And, I'm a avid walker. The pool if you have a chance to utilize it is quite amazing with a sandy beach included right at the hotel. The breakfast was convenient as well. As for pricey, Australia is pricey unless you are on a shoe string budget. This extra few $$ was worth the effort to book this hotel. Overall, hotel was clean and friendly. They do need to work on getting WIFI into their rooms ~ only available in the very spacious lobby area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom central coast nsw

Full of history

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Very interesting place to stay however age of hotel means compromising some comforts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand old classic in a great little town

Posted Sep 20, 2014
My daughter and I stayed at the Carrington and it was a marvelous return to the golden age of lodging. Great blues & jazz from the fifties, a fire in the lounge, beautiful old architecture. A really nice place to hang out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom syd

Charming (but spooky)

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Amazing old hotel, was huge and very historic. If you've seen the shining it may spook you a little but Definately the best in katoomba.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Oldy worldy delight.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: All of the above
Cons: Fresh lick of paint and some new tiles/grout
A delightful hotel experienced in the middle of winter. Full of art deco charm and eccentric character. Drinks in the bar, dinner in the brasserie and complimentary breakfast in the grand dinning room. Room was pleasant and the shared bathroom hilarious and quirky. A fabulous location, full of atmosphere, fabulous cafes, including the Paragon, and the magnificent, stunning Blue Mountains. Will definitely return to the Carrington.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ritafrom Sydney

Excellent Location

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely Hotel really warm which was great as it was very cold outside, only downside to it was the shared bathroom's. In this day and age we found that unacceptable . To have to go down the hall to even clean your teeth is not on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tonyfrom Sydney

Easy going

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Colonial room quiet and comfortable, Charlies bar staff friendly, helpful and mix a great cocktail, good views and just a nice friendly atmosphere. Katoomba main street and shops / cafe's and eateries all within easy walking distance. Take your winter wollies in July !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by StuartWfrom Sydney

highly recommend

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely heritage hotel, excellent position and very friendly staff. We stayed in a suite on the top level with an excellent view! It was quite windy & cold, whilst the room was very pleasant it could have been warmer. Highly recommend. Bank brasserie out the front does really enjoyable meals also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by .from Sydney

lovely escape to the mountains

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
we had a great escape to experience the winter in the mountains. food and service in all katoomba cafes was very good. the only minor thing was the extra bed for our teenage daughter was a collapsable wire frame roll away bed, which was a bit soft for a teenager. The room was designated to have a spare bed. But it did mean that the fridge couldn't easily be opened when the spare bed was made.