Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

old hotel modernised well.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: staff were more than helpful.
Location: boat of garten is well placed for golf,fishing,walking,cycling.the whisky trail is not far away.
checked in,room was good,very good value. had a drink in bar. staff at reception and in bar were very helpful hotel located in village ,plenty of hotel car parking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Two day quick trip

Posted Aug 7, 2014
I enjoyed my trip very much indeed only minor issues where wifi in rooms and needs new flooring in hallway and some rooms but great staff and great meals
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Booked this hotel for a two day stay during school holidays as a base for our visit. Easy to find just 8 miles from Grantown on Spey and Aviemore and only 4 from Osprey centre. Immediately opposite the hotel is the train station at which you can take day trips and even have a five course meal. There is also a bike hire shop and looks like a great area for a bike ride. Accommodation was very comfortable in the extension which has the executive garden rooms with their own patio and not that expensive.. The old part of the hotel is not in a great condition but acceptable. We did not eat in the restaurant but it was fully booked on both nights. Breakfast is very good if you can get it. At the two breakfasts we attended it was organised chaos which did did not fill me with confidence. The restaurant manager was stomping around preparing table at the expensive of attending to guests and after 45 mins we left without eating. Pity as everything else was fine. Overall I would visit here again if the price was right. Booked through Expedia and paid £250 for 2 nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from aberdeenshire

Hotel in great location for touring aviemore area

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Wifi connection, unable to connect in bedroom
Location: Landmark centre for children,highland wild park Walking, orientering,swimming,cycling,climbing Suitable for all outdoor sport,
Only complaint would have liked a proper single bed for grandchild especially if our stay had been longer. As we were only there for one night it was ok.
2 out of 5
by bandita from illinois

Has seen better days

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Location in middle of nice small town. Good food in restaurant. Staff generally friendly.
Cons: Rooms need refurbishing.
Room was tired and worn, and no internet connection in room. Condition of public areas varied; bar and breakfast room were ok but hallways were bad, with loose/rippled carpet and dim light.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exploiting the scenery

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Too expensive with tired decor and rooms, will not book again
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Rizwan from Pakistan

Awful

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had to cancel my booking immediately after checking in as room I got had pungent smell of fresh paint. Curtains were litterely torn. Sofa in the room was dirty. It was an awful experience to spend 15 minutes in that room. Reception staff was very helpful though in finding me an alternative hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by tom from Liverpool

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Single rooms very small only shower walls thin and hear people next bedrooms wifi didn't work very good. Breakfast not till 8.00 and the floors very noisy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ChrisK from Mid Wales

Excellent value for money

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Staff, Location, Atmosphere and the Beer!
Cons: Sound proofing could be improved a little but not a major problem
Location: Loads, Cairngorm Mountain with all its outdoor pursuits in a brilliant location for the outdoor types
Had a great few days here last weekend, plan was to Ski but the weather scuppered that on Sunday but Monday was amazing! I really liked the Hotel, staff were most helpful and the room was fine, my only minor niggle as mentioned by others was the lack of sound proofing between the rooms. This is obviously due to the fabric of the building and difficult to resolve, it could just be small single room I had, the rest could well be OK. Food was excellent and the beer was really good, the whole hotel was very warm and welcoming and the staff could not do enough to help. On the whole very happy with the hotel and will be going back in the near future cant say fairer than that !
3 out of 5
Recommended
by The Hotel Inspector from Hertford

Pleasant stay but could do with some updating

Posted Jan 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Generally the hotel is quite nice, nice bar. The room i stayed in way nice but the bed was extremely soft you could feel the bed slats.Hotel carpets were a little old and could with updating they have put rugs down to cover the bare bits. All in all was pleasant enough but could do with some money spent on it in some areas.