Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Relaxing 'Home Base' for Boca Chica

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The hotel is on the mainland, which is super helpful. The staff are incredibly kind, and the environment is safe and relaxing. The area is gorgeous.
Cons: Open the tiki bar, finish construction, and add specific 'cooked to order' options to the menu on applicable items to help servers and patrons alike.
Location: Kayak: Boca Brava for lunch, nearby beaches and shores. Boat tours: beach day tour, sunset mangrove tour. Drive: David is 1 hr and Boquete is 2 hrs.
Two days and two nights at Bocas del Mar, and had a nearly flawless experience there. The Boca Chica area and Marino Golfo de Chiriquí National Park are gorgeous because of their picturesque settings, but also due to much of it being uninhabited or protected. Bocas del Mar is well maintained and has a great sense of privacy. Staff speak English, owners are Belgian, and all of them amazingly nice. From what I can tell, no bungalow has a bad view of the ocean and both pools are great. There is some construction going on (Dec 2015), but hey, good for them. Food was tasty, but had some "meh, whatever" moments: ordering over–easy eggs and getting sunny–side–up, ordering medium rare and getting rare. I didn't complain then so I don't have a right to do it now. There's also a tiki bar on a pier that seems abandoned and would be sweet if opened. Kayak rentals, boat trips, etc. are all available for an extra cost. The nearby town runs water taxis but let Bocas del Mar do it for you – they know the best beaches, where to snorkel, and what to see. We even had dolphins cruise along with us! The bus from Panama City to David is 7-8 hours of blaring 80's latin music, merchants hocking their wares, and Spanish–dubbed Michael Bay movies (or at least mine was). The plane ride takes about 45 minutes. From David to the hotel is about an hour. If you do rent a car, be mindful – the last stretch of road to the hotel is very steep gravel. A hotel shuttle is available for an extra cost
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Costa Rica

Real Hospitality

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Location: Sportfishing and water sports are good. Not much else in the neighborhood. A great place to relax. It's way off the beaten path.
Yes the grounds are beautiful and the facilities are new and clean, but others can claim that as well. The real difference is how friendly and hospitable all of the staff were. We felt like they really wanted to make sure we had a very pleasant visit - which we did!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Elizabeth Ann Macfarlanefrom Cayman Islands

Paradise in Panama

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything about this place was amazing. Rooms are large and tastefully decorated, grounds were beautiful and immaculately kept, there are two pools, a good restaurant and bar. Our main reason for being there was to go whale watching and it was awesome. It was the highlight of our trip to Panama.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Pierre

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome paradise

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: it was just great
Location: the location is extremely remote and there is nothing to do but enjoy the water.
The hotel is awesome, clean and the staff is wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Frankfurt

Sehr gepflegte Anlage mit fantastischem Ausblick

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Die schöne Aussicht und die schön gestaltete Anlage.
Cons: s. o.
Location: s. o.
Wir waren 4 Nächte im Bocas del Mar. Die Anfahrt von David ist zurzeit etwas mühsamer, da entlang der Panamericana viele Baustellen sind. Doch es lohnt sich: Die Anlage liegt am Hang und bietet von (fast?) allen Bungalows aus einen Blick auf das Meer. Sehr schön ist auch die Aussicht vom höher gelegenen der 2 Infinity Pools, den wir an einem Tag für uns alleine hatten. Das Team und der Eigner gestalten den Aufenthalt mit unangestrengter Freundlichkeit sehr angenehm. Das einzige, was wir vermisst haben, war ein bisschen mehr Abwechslung beim Frühstück und einen Tee-/ Kaffeebereiter auf dem Zimmer. Um Ausflüge in die Umgebung zu unternehmen, z. B, an die entfernter gelegenen Strände, empfiehlt sich ein Mietwagen, alternativ gibt es Wassertaxis, die am Dock des Hotels anlegen können. Alles in allem sehr empfehlenswert!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andreafrom Seattle, WA

A true getaway

Posted May 30, 2014
If you are looking for a peaceful and beautiful getaway, this is the place. The hotel grounds, the staff and the setting are absolutely to die for. We couldn't have had a better experience. We stayed for 6 nights, whereas the average stay seems to be a bit shorter...but we could have stayed longer! It is far out from any main city, but that is what makes it so peaceful. And there is still so much to do. We did many of the activities provided by the hotel and very much enjoyed each one. The staff took such good care of us - I even shed a tear saying goodbye to them when we left! This place is the real deal - amazing service, phenomenal views, and pure relaxation. One tip is to not try to find the place at night. We made the drive from Panama City (everything online says 4 hours but really it took almost 7) and we ended up finding it in the dark. It was challenging, so I would advise driving only when it's light out if you've got a car. If you have a car, drive to Boquete or David for a day outing. Sit by the pool, take a boat to the private islands across the way (Isla Bolanos was one to remember), and stare out at the ocean from your bungalow... doesn't get better than that. Thank you to Yost, Lara, Alberto, Alex, Oldalis, Daphne, Ray and the rest of the staff for making our 5 year anniversary so memorable. We will always remember you! Hope to visit again sometime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hamoodfrom Bahrain

Amazing!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Amazing hotel, great staff excellent management! Stayed in 8 different hotels the past month and this takes first place. just make sure you withdraw cash before hand as there are no ATMs close by and only one supermarket :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stevefrom San Francisco, CA

Wonderful place to stay.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Everything - Grounds, staff, rooms, amenities, food.
Cons: Hard beds.
Location: Remote - like most of Panama, the hotel is where it is at and they have lots of activities.
This is a fantastic wonderful hotel that is a great place to relax and unwind. Staff is awesome and very attentive and helpful. They truly want you to have an excellent stay. Make sure you take the boat cruise to the beaches, they are great swimming and snorkeling beaches. Hotel is brand new and the grounds, rooms, and pools are wonderful. The food was awesome. A selection for everyone, even my vegetarian daughter was happy. My son declared their Ice Cream wrapped in a crepe with chocolate sauce as his new most favorite desert. This is a kid that has been to every continent and has a taste for the worlds delicacies. He also raved that they cooked his fish perfectly. They make a good mojito as well (that was for me). Only 1 minor complaint. You had better like a firm bed. I like a softer bed and the beds are HARD. Don't get me wrong, these are not cheap beds, or anything like that. The furnishings are very modern and new, and in great order. Just the mattresses are FIRM. My wife loves this, but not me. If you've ever stayed in Brighton, England you probably know what I'm talking about. Perhaps they could keep a mattress pillow or something for guests like me. To be fair I did not ask them for a softer bed, and they may have been able to do something for me.