Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hedi from australia

very friendly stuff,lovely breakfast and great loc

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: location,staff
Cons: earlier breakfast
Location: perfect location for any activities and walking into old town
wish i could have stayed longer,great bars and shops nearby
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2014
This hotel Location is very good. Cozy and clean. There were little noise from the street. Wifi was not good in my room. I would like to book this hotel again, if I go to Bogota.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Madeleine from UK

Lovely little hotel

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ideal situation for easy access to sights. Very friendly & welcoming staff. Rooms are small but clean in characterful building. Nice breakfasts & dining room arrangement makes it easy to mix with other guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very efficient and conveniently located hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: The friendliness of the staff, the location and the pleasant communal areas
Cons: Noise control
Location: On the edge of the Candelaria district and close to a Trans-Milanio stop. Well located for the major city centre sights.
The hotel was very welcoming and efficient. The staff were helpful and very willing to give advice and information. The relaxed dining and sitting area on the first floor was a nice place to sit as the rooms were quite small. Guests are able to use the kitchen facilities also. It was a bit noisy at night (internal rather than street noise) but of course that depends on who else is coming and going on any individual night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by West coast guy from BC Canada

Great location

Posted Jan 24, 2014
I found the staff very helpful and knowledgable. The bed very comfortable and a good breakfast. Keep in mind this is an old building so not soundproof but then the charm and service of smaller hotels is what is important to me. Be advised this is the newer platypus not the hostel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Yvett L. from Los Angeles

Quaint hotel in great location

Posted Jul 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at Casa Platypus. When traveling, I try to find hotels with character. Casa Platypus was just what I was looking for. It is in the La Candelaria, which is a artsy/historic part of Bogota. We were walking distance to all the things we wanted to see (excluding the Zona Rosa). The room was small, but very clean. The shower was also great (great water pressure and heat). The hotel staff were helpful. . We enjoyed our stay there so much, that we decided to book another night for our last night in Colombia. I would definitely recommend Casa Platypus to anyone traveling through Bogota. On a side note: One thing I was surprised about when arriving to Bogota was the amount of graffiti/ street art. I then came to realize (after walking around Bogota for a few days), it is used as an art form and as a way to express political ideas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by David from Texas,USA

central location

Posted Jun 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is exactly the location I wanted. The first afternoon I walked over to the Museo de Oro, and some other key sites of Bogota were also within walking distance. I felt the hotel was secure and clean. Each day there was an adequate breakfast in the upstairs dining area.The front desk was always staffed by someone who spoke English and was willing to give helpful advice relevant to my interests. I had a very early departing flight and my exit went like clockwork without any hitches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place to stay in Bogota

Posted Jan 4, 2013
Great, friendly staff and comfortable, clean rooms!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ed

Right on the historic district,

Posted Dec 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
Nice small hotel with friendly staff. Near bus lines and walking distance to major historic sites. Rooftop with a view. Would stay there again.