Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge

Nice find

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Staff was incredibly nice and helpful. Hotel was charmingly renovated _ i believe a combination of two older structures. Common areas, indoor pool, restaurant, sauna, - Everything very well done. Room was ok and incredibly clean, beds comfy. My only complaint is that, being warm-natured, i found the room on the top floor to be consistently warm.. i requested a fan and they provided a powerful floorstand model that solved the problem. My daughter was preparing to leave south america after a stay of two years, which involved the sale of her car, etc. and the staff was very helpful and patient with our somewhat atypical questions and offered their help.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Munich

The hotel is situated in the Historic Quarter:

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Charming, old-fshioned style. Very close to museums and churches.
Cons: Friedliness and quality of the staff
Location: Excellent: museums, churches, restaurants nearby
The situation is excellent, but the staff, especially at the reception and for breakfast, is very bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Miriam from Cambridge, MD USA

Beautiful Bogota

Posted Mar 27, 2015 on Hotels
The old part of the hotel is beautiful and the front desk staff is very friendly, helpful and speak English. Breakfast is excellent and the location in the heart of Old Town is safe and very conveniently located to walk to all important sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lorenzo from Brescia

Perfect Hotel in La Candelaria

Posted Mar 15, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel de la Opera is a perfect location in the center of Bogotá. The colonial design of the hotel, the good quality of the restaurant and the kindness of all the staff, make this place a must if you want to spend some days in Bogota
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jimmy from Uphall, Scotland.

Good choice.

Posted Mar 14, 2015 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay. Nice pool in basement area. Hotel in good position to explore the historic old part of town. Good breakfast. Fine room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jorge from México

No vale la pena

Posted Mar 14, 2015 on Hotels
El baño estaba sucio, foco fundido, toalleros chuecos. La gente no sonríe. Llegué de noche y el camino a mi habitación tenía la luz apagada porque estaban ahorrando energía sin importarles la seguridad de los huéspedes. La habitación la arreglaron muy tarde El hotel no vale lo que cuesta.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Pete from Tucsonm

Authentic old Bogota (plus and minus)

Posted Mar 1, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is your best, if not your only, choice if you want to be in close proximity to Plaza Bolivar and the old city. It has old world charm and both classic and more modern room choices. However the hotel does not have air conditioning or double pane windows, so it is uncomfortable and noisy. The gunshots firing off in the middle of the night out in the neighborhood wasn't reassuring either. The restaurant is good and the staff is pleasant but not very proficient in English. If you want old Bogota, stay here. But be aware that the area past a few blocks is not safe and western chain hotels in Park 95 are better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Safe haven in Bogota

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The location and the fact I felt safe staying there.
Location: The location is brilliant right in the heart of the historic area easy to walk to some of many museums. The Gold and Botero museums are fantastic.
I had 3 days on my own in Hotel de la Opera after being on an organised tour for nearly 3 weeks. It was a relief to finally have a hot shower as so many of the 3 or less star hotels we had been staying in didn';t seem to recognise the concept of warm water. The staff were excellent they checked me in for my flight home and were careful to note the taxi's number when I left for the airport. They were very efficient, spoke very good English . Lots of good restaurants a very short walk away and an Exito supermarket just around the corner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Aulimaija from Mikkeli, Finland

A nice hotel in a good location

Posted Jan 30, 2015 on Hotels
Good location, good service (also in english), nice atmosphere, very good/fresh breakfast ( they arranged the whole table ready for us at 05.30 am!). Rooms do not look 5 star, but are clean. Did not have time to use the spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from AZ

GREAT LOCATION

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: THE POOL AND SPA WERE OUR FAVORITE PART OF THE HOTEL. DON;T MISS THE TWO PERSON SPECIALS OFFERED.
Cons: THE TUB IN OUR ROOM WOULD NOT HOLD WATER AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO FIX IT BEFORE WE LEFT. NO BIG DEAL!
Location: WALKING DISTANCE TO MARKETS AND GREAT SMALL SHOPS.
WE HAD A VERY NICE STAY. WE NEEDED EARLY CHECK IN AND HAD A ROOM BY 10AM. THEY LET US STAY IN THE ROOM UNTIL 2PM ON CHECK OUT DAY AND WE USE THE SPA UNTIL 5PM BEFORE HEADING TO THE AIRPORT.