Ratings based on 1,659 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bend OR

Good location in need of a facelift

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: the location
Cons: In need of an interior remodel and pictures which accurately depict the dilapidated state.
Location: river trail, town is relatively close
The Cottonwood hotel is quite outdated with cement walls, low lying beds, old furniture, a musty smell, and a broken pool and hot tub. The exercise room is 3 pieces of equipment with one out of operation. The balcony rooms are a nice option, with the river trail directly adjacent. It seems like the owner is just trying to collect as much money as possible on this property until someone buys it as a scrape and replace, because it is in dire need of an interior remodel and regular maintenance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and clean

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Very nice motel. Wouldn't give a late check out tho and i only needed 30 min
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was the most awful experience

Posted Apr 19, 2015
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, I would strongly advise expedia to take it off their hotel search for boise
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by Bernard D, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am very sorry to hear your stay was not good. Is there something we could have done better for you? I would be very interested in speaking with you about what happened during your stay so we can make changes. Thank you, Bernard Daugherty, GM
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Not what I expected

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Exceptionally helpful staff. Location on the greenbelt.
Cons: Mattress, a thorough upgrade, cleaning the exterior of the property.
Location: Property sits next to the Boise River on the greenbelt, and close to two good places to eat dinner.
Contrary to its name, the Cottonwood is nowhere near downtown. Staff identified it as a former Shilo. To me it was a combination of an old Shilo and old Red Lion. The pool and spa were closed , which I found out only as I checked in. While the room was good-sized and the bedding was nicely upgraded, the mattress also needed an upgrade. Breakfast was generous and staff were very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2015 by Bernard D, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for the feedback! We are working to upgrade the property and make changes. We are sorry to have the pool closed, but we are going to make many changes to that area in the weeks to come. Sincerely, Bernard Daugherty, GM 208-344-3521
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Freeway

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Good hotel, nothing fancy. Had I been staying longer, I would have been frustrated that there was no information about the pool being closed for renovation, but we weren't there long enough to use it. Breakfast was decent (omelets, pastries, etc.). Bed was comfortable! Very nicely located...close to freeway. Overall, good value and nice room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Halfway, Oregon

Great location on the Boise River

Posted Apr 12, 2015
This is a clean, well-maintained motel that is a good value, but its charm for me is the location, right on the Boise River. A few steps out of the door and you're on the Greenway, a pedestrian/bicycle path that extends for miles in either direction on the river bank. The scenery and wildlife are outstanding, and most of the people I encounter on my walks greet me with a "Good morning!" Even the cyclists, when I'm on foot!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They look nice online but they're not. Old fashion

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Never stay there again too high price. Rooms are ghetto
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

Nice, comfortable room-great staff!

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Fix the screens so the sliding glass door can be enjoyed...if possible...more outlets!
Location: Though we didn't do much, we did attend Maundy Thursday service at Good Shepherd Lutheran Church. The Church almost makes me want to move to Boise!
The rooms were a nice size, the bed was super comfy, the staff was fantastic, helpful, friendly and engaging. The room had a sliding glass door and a small patio and you could walk over to picnic tables and a beautiful river view. My only reason for not giving 5 stars, was the ripped screen (so we couldn't leave the sliding glass door open) and a few small details, like lack of outlets and the strong cigarette odor near the breakfast room...yes, really...that was it! Speaking of breakfast, lots of options and it was actually tasty! Coffee, tea and other hot beverages, as well as, ice water available (FREE!) 24/7 in the lobby. We (and some friends in the room next to us) stayed two nights and were all very pleased. BTW...the fantastic price made it possible to stay the extra night!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wigwam new mexico

Easy easyeasy

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Pool is small
Location: Visit schools
In the right place with comfortable clean rooms, a soothing place for a traveler to rest
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom British Columbia

Excellent location; great value.

Posted Apr 2, 2015
The proximity to the riverside path, and walking distance to downtown plus good breakfast and nice pool area makes this hotel worth the money. It is older, but has been updated. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2015 by Bernard D, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for the kind words. We are very happy to hear our staff was so friendly. We will be making many changes in the near future to make the property even better. Sincerely, Bernard Daugherty, GM