Ratings based on 725 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Great place to stay with excellent food and drinks

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Food, location, rooms.
Cons: It's a bit noisy bat times, but it's so much fun who cares...
Location: Great location for getting to fun things in Boise. You can walk to almost anywhere. they have bikes you can borrow too so it's a perfect location.
It's in a very convenient location. The food is excellent and so are the people and drinks. The staff could not be more helpful and attentive. The rooms are cool and comfy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms too small, inadequate parking, noisey

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Convenient
Cons: See above
Location: N/A
Upon arriving we were unable to find any parking except on the street, which is unacceptable. The room was adjacent to the hotel bar which was okay except when trying to sleep. The hotel staff was very accommodating in solving the parking problem by moving their van, but they should make arrangements with adjoining property owners for more convenience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: It is convenient to walk to downtown.
Hotel is convenient to downtown and the room was clean with a comfortable bed. It is motel style, which is ok, but the outside "hallways" and the rooms are colorless and pretty stark. The bathroom is nicely tiled, but small and not well lit. There is a nice courtyard adjacent to the in-hotel bar and grill, with seating and fire pits. Parking is limited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mission, BC

Coolest. Hotel. Ever.

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Absolutely loved this place, and would go back to Boise just to stay here. Cool concept, great staff, good location. The dining area / lounge feels like a big living room where everyone is always welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Second time staying

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Once again Modern Hotel did not disappoint. Staff is great, the room was ready on time and clean; and the bar still makes great drinks. My favorite place stay in while visiting Boise.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Salt Lake City, UT

Wannabe modern

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Restaurant, the attempted modern look, cleanliness, location.
Cons: Price can be lowered, or the fitness room, pool or other amenities included. At least the free breakfast of sorts.
Location: Location is great, close to downtown. Little less appealing than the "south" (I think) side of downtown.
The hotel was just "fine". If the price was $40/night less, I would say it was good. No free breakfast, no fitness room, no pool, no hot tub, and a lot of money. The modern remodel was fine, but it could have been so much more. The rooms are tiny but that is fine. Very little room for clothes or luggage. It was clean. Pretty noisy. The restaurant was trendy with a nice night scene. Seems like people come for the restaurant more than the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Tacoma

Very comfortable fun hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing to complain about.
Location: Near downtown, lot's of good restaurant's and walking areas.
Our entire experience with this hotel was very good. Awesome lounge as well with highly trained staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Idaho

Fun Boise hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: The hotel has a channel that streams movies from their indie film festival. The decor is a bit quirky/ hipster - an improvement over most hotel rooms.
Cons: The parking lot is a bit tight, but I didn't have a car, so I didn't care.
Stayed only one night. My room was on the first floor, off the highway. I could hear some road noise, but not enough to prevent me from sleeping. My room was comfortable, clean, and in good condition. The Saturday brunch was delicious. I would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Dillon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

I will always stay here when in Boise

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels
Old Travel Lodge turned into a retro gem! Great bed! Great Food and one of the most unusual cocktail menus in the bar...downtown is walkable