Ratings based on 639 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

fun fund in Boise!

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: clean rooms, really comfy bed, great bar menu & cocktails. Fun vibe, loved the outdoor communal seating. No in-room coffee but available in lobby.
Cons: Additional luggage rack beyond the one, a little stingy on in-room furniture overall. Didn't love the shower and lack of ability to direct the spray.
Location: Fab downtown location; walked to multiple restaurants, coffee, bars, bookstore. Trader Joe's nearby too! (Didn't do anything related to Boise State)
Arrived late on a Friday night and there was street parking only. Not perfect but not a disaster either. Great atmosphere in the outdoor seating area with firepits, and fab cocktails and bar menu. Far above what you'd expect for a hotel bar!! Was worried the ambient noise from seating area/firepits would travel up to the rooms directly overhead but our room was behind a fire door further away and heard nothing from the bar area at all. Walked everywhere from the hotel -- to yoga, to many restaurants and coffee shops. Farmer's Market was happening on Saturday am, Oktoberfest that evening and so nice to be able to walk to it all. Room was spotless. Comfy bed. Hated the large square flat bathroom sink but for 2 nights, not a big deal. Not crazy about the shower either, no way to adjust direction of spray since all water came from a square outlet on the ceiling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Fabulous style, friendly staff, and tasty food. Best bang for your buck around!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spokane

Budget motel that needs some TLC

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Cool concept.
Cons: The shower pressure was too weak. Clean the carpet! Replace the sink!
This small motel has potential, but needs some TLC. The concept is cool, but it lacks anything that could make it comfortable. There were multiple large stains on the carpet to greet us when we opened the door. The shower pressure from the ceiling shower was so minimal that I had trouble washing the soap out of my hair. The sink was ridiculous -- a large square vessel about 2 inches deep that wasn't angled toward the drain, so your dirty water just sat in the sink. Bed was decent but pillows were so fluffy they had no support. It was supposed to be a queen bed, but was only a full. Fine for one night, but wouldn't recommend it for more than that. Overpriced for what you got.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from laguna beach ca

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Super friendly and accommodating. Would recommend to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Fun place

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: We really like the way they had kept the mid-century vibe but updated everything so it was very comfortable.
Cons: Although not a problem for us, guest should be aware that there is not elevator to the second floor. Also, no refrigerator in our room.
Location: Easy walk to downtown.
We stayed here one night and enjoyed the retro vibe. The rooms have been updated with flat screen tvs, and modern bath fixtures. The courtyard has a nice seating area with fire pits and nice lighting. The bar and restaurant were quite good as was the breakfast. Best hotel coffee we've had on the road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

No elevator!

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the Modern Hotel for one night on our way to Seattle. I liked the idea of an independently owned hotel and a small business that we wanted to support. Overall the hotel was fine, nothing exceptional. The front desk receptionist did not give us the warmest welcome, and in fact, when we asked for suggestions of where to eat she seemed miffed that we were not planning to eat at the hotel. Most of the hotel's employees seemed slightly to very pretentious, so be prepared to deal with hipsters. However, the bartenders were excellent and the cocktails and drink menu were great. The biggest complaint we had was that there is no elevator. We stayed on the second floor, and since we were on a two-week trip our bags were fairly heavy to lug up and down the outdoor staircase. We also were not impressed with the bathroom; it looks great, but the overhead waterfall shower was weak and took forever and the shallow sink was a pain as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Travelodge with an Edgy Band-aid.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Meh...scratch the surface and this really is nothing more than a snazzed up Travelodge now dog-earred. Ridiculous sink, tiny room and the Eco-toiletries (conditioner) smelled rank. Room really dark and dank. Not worth the boutique price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by BeeDot from Oregon City, OR

Modern Perfection in Boise

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was my 2nd visit to the Modern, and will always be my first choice when staying in Boise. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have a sleek and spartan modern design. The pillows are the best I've ever found - and in fact, I ended up ordering a set of pillows direct from the manufacturer after my first visit. I'm not a big fan of the "rain" shower, nor do I much care for the bathroom sink - looks good, but functionality is somewhat lacking - but these are my only gripes. FANTASTIC bar with original and creative cocktails, along with a small but sublime dinner menu makes this place a "can't miss" stay. On this visit I had the smoked sturgeon salad, with beets, arugula and goat creme fraiche. Awesome. Asked the bartenders to make me whatever they wanted, and ended up with the best cocktail I've ever had - a Lucky Frida, which is made from gin, egg whites, lemon juice, absinthe and bitters. What a treat!