Ratings based on 708 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Salt Lake City, UT

Wannabe modern

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Restaurant, the attempted modern look, cleanliness, location.
Cons: Price can be lowered, or the fitness room, pool or other amenities included. At least the free breakfast of sorts.
Location: Location is great, close to downtown. Little less appealing than the "south" (I think) side of downtown.
The hotel was just "fine". If the price was $40/night less, I would say it was good. No free breakfast, no fitness room, no pool, no hot tub, and a lot of money. The modern remodel was fine, but it could have been so much more. The rooms are tiny but that is fine. Very little room for clothes or luggage. It was clean. Pretty noisy. The restaurant was trendy with a nice night scene. Seems like people come for the restaurant more than the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Tacoma

Very comfortable fun hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing to complain about.
Location: Near downtown, lot's of good restaurant's and walking areas.
Our entire experience with this hotel was very good. Awesome lounge as well with highly trained staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Idaho

Fun Boise hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: The hotel has a channel that streams movies from their indie film festival. The decor is a bit quirky/ hipster - an improvement over most hotel rooms.
Cons: The parking lot is a bit tight, but I didn't have a car, so I didn't care.
Stayed only one night. My room was on the first floor, off the highway. I could hear some road noise, but not enough to prevent me from sleeping. My room was comfortable, clean, and in good condition. The Saturday brunch was delicious. I would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Only stood one night, place was clean and well designed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boise, ID

Good location downtown to walk to bars

Posted Feb 2, 2015
The room was satisfactory and clean. In comparison to other hotels downtown this rate is just too high. There was no refrigerator, no small table to sit at, no robes, and the doors bang loudly when closing. The parking is limited so we had to park out on the street. The bar was relaxing and the service was good. It was a good experience but I think the the rate should be lower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sun Valley

Surprised and pleased

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Beds and bathroom.
Cons: You're doing a great job!
Location: Loved the linen district. Big City Coffee was another great find. We were in town for a concert at the Knitting Factory... an easy walk.
Great experience from check in to departure. The bar and food is over the top with some great mixologists.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, Ca

Not what we expected

Posted Jan 23, 2015
The modern is anything but, I would describe it as a glorified motel. The room was dated, missing tiles in the shower, no counter space in the bathroom at all. The door to the bathroom is see through and the toilet is right there. The bed was not a pillow top and the blanket on the bed is made from a horrible scratchy wool. The hotel has a restaurant/bar attached which gets busy and if your 21 I could see the attraction. We ended up having most of the patrons of the bar hangout and smoke right in front of our room until about 2am. The staff at the front desk was not welcoming at all and when I was checking out he was preoccupied with the book he was reading on his ipad. Would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Carlsbad, CA

Great hotel close to downtown Boise

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: The rooms were very clean and comfortable. It was easy to get a great night's sleep. The restaurant they have on site is fantastic.
Location: It's in a great location if you have business in the downtown area: a 10 minute walk to the convention center and we felt safe walking after dark.
My wife and I stayed at The Modern earlier this week. We really enjoyed our experience and would recommend this hotel. We plan to stay here, again, on our next visit to Boise.The office staff and restaurant staff were friendly and very professional. They made us feel welcome on our first visit to their city.The restaurant they have on site has a fantastic vibe and menu. We enjoyed their Sunday brunch menu, dinner during the week, and their complimentary coffee and bagels. A nice strong cup of coffee to start of your day! Each of the meals we had were tasty, creative, good sized portions and fairly priced. Transportation between the hotel and airport was complimentary and very convenient which saved us money on needing a rental car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great Experience

Posted Jan 15, 2015
It was a nice quick stay for a business trip, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. I really liked the huge shower and the esthetic design of the room & the bathroom.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels.com