Ratings based on 472 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bellevue, WA

Good hotel close to downtown, great value

Posted Jan 19, 2015
I read other visitors' reviews, and was a little wary given complaints about hotel age and condition. But I found these to be unwarranted. My room on the 3rd floor of the 3-story wing was very good, clean, fashionable looking linens. Bath was spacious and clean, nice big sunflower shower head. Was a great value, and I'll probably stay there again over the next few years if my student chooses to attend the university in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Twin Falls, ID

Hotel is located in a great spot!

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Restaurants, bar, shuttle driver, location of hotel.
Location: We went to the Morrison Center and it was very close by.
This hotel is located in downtown Boise which is close to many great bars and entertainment facilities. The staff is amazing! So friendly and goes out of their way to make your stay perfect. The shuttle driver accommodated our many needs (just give him 10 minute notice) and was just wonderful. The restaurant and bar are great places to eat and staff is awesome there as well.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Patrickfrom Rapid City South Dakota

Not so good in Boise

Posted Jan 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
Hotel had no hot water Hotel was has deteriorated quite a bit and needs to be upgraded
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2015 by Ken, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests. I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. I’m sorry for the lack of hot water during your stay. We had a boiler fail on us during the middle of the night. The boiler was repaired at approximately 8AM and we had hot water again at approximately 10AM. I hope you informed our front office staff of the issue. They should have tried to make the issue right with you before your departure. Once again I apologize for the issues during your stay Ken Kester General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel adjacent to downtown

Posted Jan 6, 2015
We always are satisfied at this Red Lion. Up to date room furnishings that are comfortable and clean. A short walk to downtown and short drive to BSU or shopping mall. Only negative this stay was a burnt out lightbulb over the vanity.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bryanfrom Seattle

Good bargain. Needs upgrades.

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
Front desk wasn't rude but wasn't overly nice. Hotel desperately needs an upgrade. The bed is really nice. Had a good stay for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Staff was great except for the last day girl at the front desk was just rude. Prior days the staff was just wonderful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Overal OK but in need of reno.

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
It had rained most of our stay and there were several leaks in roof. There was a spot on the roof where leaking had occurred and mold had formed. Hotel is in need of renovation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reno, NV

Close to downtown

Posted Dec 15, 2014
The hotel is nice, and close to downtown. It is an old hotel but they have made upgrades to the room. The carpet is very outdated and there are lots of noises in the hotel like noisy ice and vending machines in the halls. Overall I would recommend. For the price, it was exactly what we needed. We stayed with a 1 yr old and there was enough room for a pack n play and for him to run around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bryce

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jeriefrom Wyoming

A motel that is made to order your every need!

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
My daughter and I met in Boise. She lives in Washington and me in Wyoming. She stayed at Red Lion before so I decided to try it and appreciated the offer to cater to pet lovers! I had to bring my dog. She is well behaved and I appreciated how they welcomed her from the very beginning when I checked in. The room was on the 1st floor and perfect! We had the opportunity to take her out the back door without disturbing anyone. There was a spot where we could cleanup after her with bags to clean up after her. This maybe sounds insignificant but to me as a dog lover who doesn't want to impede on a non-doglover, Red Lion catered to my needs. The outdoor hot tub was an added enjoyment. We stayed for 3 nights and they took care to make sure our needs were met through housekeeping, again a plus when you are having an extended stay. All of the staff was awesome and the free breakfast was great! Even the waitress was on top of our every need. The location was perfect, next to the mall and river. Shop and go for a beautiful walk. I suggest this to anyone who has a need for a taste of Boise hospitality!!