Ratings based on 1,328 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Twin Falls, Id

Dingy and old

Posted Jul 19, 2014
While the staff was extremely friendly, it did not make up for the dingy conditions. The hotel is in need of some major over hauls and a good deep cleaning. Our room was not what I consider clean. Dirt build up along the baseboards, dirty walls, shower dingy, and the sink was broken. There was also some type of high school event going on and they put us in a room on the ground floor right next to the exit and stairs. Our family did not sleep at all!! When we took the kids to go swim we discovered that the pool was disgusting. I will never stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Just old and worn, but reasonable price.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Room itself was okay as far as being clean. Noticed a hair in the shower not of my making. The door was difficult to open. Almost couldn't open it trying to get out the last day. If I were a little old lady I would have definitely been stuck.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas and Yellowstone

The ONLY Boise accommodation right on the river!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Big rooms, better than average breakfast, the view from the riverside rooms, & the easy (make that instant) access to the Boise River trails/downtown.
Cons: The exterior of the Shilo is kinda funky, drab and dated. New colors, please! And during a July heat wave, the air-conditioning struggled.
Location: This Shilo location is close to downtown Boise, which has a great variety of eateries, urban attractions, parks and pleasures, the best in Idaho.
The... THE... best thing about the Shilo Riverside is that it is (truly IS) on the Boise River, right on the wonderful riverside walking and cycling path that connects a lovely string of parks all the way across town. We asked for and got a third floor room facing the river. Our view, with sliding glass door and balcony, was full of trees with glimpses of the river and a grand view of the walkers, strollers, runners, and cyclists using the fantastic path along the river. That river frontage and easy access to the bike path is why we chose the Shilo, and we're very glad we did. The Shilo is just a few minutes from downtown via car or bike and maybe 15 minutes if walking. The path is interesting, safe, and attractive all the way, a real PLUS for the up and coming capital city of Idaho.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from utah

This place is run down.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Beds were pretty good.
Cons: Housekeeping and repairs
Location: We were just there one night but made sure to avoid other locations of this chain in other cities we visited
It was not clean. There were spiders and cobwebs in the window sills, and other maintenance problems. That The beds were reasonably comfortable is the only positive thing I can say about it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boise

Near BSU

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Not really close to BSU. Old facility with large rooms and decent beds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from id.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Upgraded, toilet, needed repair 3 times hot tub water was green and looked nasty. The pool bathroom had vomit all over toilet and sink.
Location: Great location close to park and down town.
Room through expidia was wrong, room was not up to minmuim standard. Overall hotel condition was poor. Love the location, hotel needs upgraded in a bad way!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Good hotel convenient to conferences.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Room price was good and location was great.
Cons: Toilet paper was close to being out by the time I left........... Used coffee packet was not removed from my previous day.
Location: Was close to a more expensive hotel where a conference I attended was taking place.
I had a two day stay at the Riverside Shilo for a conference being held at a nearby hotel with higher room rates. The room was clean and updated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Don't expect too much

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: No complaints, and the workers at the front desk were very helpful.
Location: Kind of hard to find unless you know your way around that part of Boise. Once you are familiar with the are though, nice walking path to Boise River.
The Shilo Inn is a nice hotel, but don't expect too much. If all you are looking for is a clean place to sleep for a night or two, this is the place. Simple rooms, simple breakfast, simple "workout" room.
2 out of 5
by Scott from Boise

dirty

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: none
The walls are dirty and the ceiling also. the sheets had stains in them and yellow in color. everything was old and out dated. Scott Robinson
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by scrib

good coffee

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: location and coffee
we used to enjoy the shilo inn but it has gone downhill this last year. the breakfast, now, is very limited. the rooms are rundown with obvious repairs needed.