Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from United Kingdom

Practically perfect in every way

Posted May 19, 2014
I stayed at Hotel Aemilia while attending a conference in Bologna, and chose it principally for its proximity to the conference venue: a five-minute walk gets you into the university area, and in 10 minutes you are in the centre of Bologna. The location is functional rather than picturesque; but, that aside, everything else about the hotel is practically perfect. My room was comfortable, spacious, well-equipped, and impeccably clean. The evening meal in the restaurant was very creditable. Breakfast was comprehensive, with everything from cereal to bacon, sausage and scrambled eggs, to cold meats, to pastries and cake: something for all tastes, and the coffee was surprisingly good. The roof garden was a pleasant place to relax, with lovely views of the city and surrounding countryside. The laundry service was first-class. The staff are all professional, friendly, courteous, and helpful. I would definitely use this hotel again. But if your stay is for pleasure rather than business, make sure that you ask for a room on the higher floors (floor 5 or 6), and a west-facing view, to ensure a stunning panorama of the city by day and by night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from Canada

Great value.

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: Good size, comfortable room. Friendly, helpful staff.
10 minutes walk from downtown, in quiet area Good parking facility. You can take a train to Florence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from Manchester, UK

Very good, comfortable and cost-effective hotel.

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: The friendliness of the staff and its close proximity to the city centre of Bologna.
Cons: A few more pillows and covers for the bed in the room.
We found the Aemilia Hotel to be a very comfortable and convenient hotel. it is situated about 10 to 15 mins away from the Bologna city centre which gave us the opportunity to work up an appetite and/or work off a few calories. All the hotel staff we encountered during our stay were very helpful and willing to give advice on places to see. The room was sufficiently spacious and clean, and came with free wifi that was very easy to access. Finally, the breakfast was good and seemed to suit a range of tastes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close to Bologna

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff. The rooms were cleaned everyday. The staff were helpful and resolved our problem of the electronic door fault quickly.
Cons: Maybe a larger choice of meals on the evening menu.
Location: We were near to the centre. Bologna is also a good location for other well places.
We stayed in the hotel for 5 nights. It was a relaxing break. The service was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good; a great choice of food buffet style. The optional evening meal was good and well priced. Bologna is a good location for other places such as Florence. We travelled by train to Florence. The journey going was fine (it took about about 35 min) on a fast train. Unfortunately there was a 40 minute delay coming back. We had to book our train coming back. Booking seemed a bit complicated. We were lucky because our son can speak Italian. I think we would have had difficulty travelling without him.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JD from UK

Short city break

Posted Apr 19, 2014
We had no concerns with the hotel apart from our evening meal in the restaurant which was very poor. the food was generally tasteless and the service exceedingly slow although the Swiss waitress was most professional.I got the impression the problem was in the kitchen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jo from Dorset UK

Modern hotel on the edge of the old city

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Most things.
Cons: Perhaps better instructions on how to find the hotel from the bus stop. Method of brewing coffee at breakfast could be improved
Location: If you are interested in art and history Bolgna will easily keep you entertained for three to four days - visit Ravenna by train
The local bus drops off about 100 metres from the hotel and the bus connects with the airport coach. The hotel is clean and modern in a quiet are just beyond the circular road around the old city. We had a lovely room on the sixth floor overlooking medieval Bologna. The walk in to the city centre took about 20 mins. For visitors who are not able to walk far a taxi will be needed. We stayed in Bolgna so that we could visit Ravenna for the Byzantine art but Bologna itself is full of interest and character.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Clean, modern, close to the centro storico

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, breakfast.
Cons: The hot water in the shower is very touchy, and it was difficult to get a comfortable temperature for the entire shower.
Location: A fifteen minute walk to the old city, with many churches and museums.
A delightful stay here. Our room was spacious, including two spots to open suitcases. Everything was spotless. The breakfast is a sumptuous spread which includes the usual (delicious) pastries, coffee, tea, and juice, but also eggs, meat, cold cuts, yoghurt, fresh and prepared fruit. The staff is very friendly, and will do whatever they can to make your stay pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Woods from Malta

Very impressed

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall we are very impressed. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Room and rest of hotel is clean with a pleasant smell. Breakfast was plentiful. No complaints. Only negative thing I'll say is that one night room got a little cold but extra blankets are provided.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Larry Marino from West Palm Beach, FL

Aemilia

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very clean and professional looking but lacks a bit of "homey" atmosphere. The staff is great, helpful, and parking is on site. Locations is good with a short walk to town center
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by David from US

modern comfort, close to historic center

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was excellent in all respects. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. Great breakfast offered with the rate and with outstanding service from the staff. A nice bar and meeting room. 10 minute walk to the historic center and 20 minute walk to the central station. located in a nice neighborhood with a couple of restaurants within walking distance. The hotel has a restaurant, but I did not eat there.