Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chavez from london

Very central, perfect base for the old town

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Location and the staff.
Location: Plenty of sights, shops and restaurants.
In addition the staff in the hotel and the bar/restaurant were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patsy and Denis from London

Quiet hotel in Bologna

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Beautifully modern decor in classic old building in a very central location and the room was very quiet. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Right in the centre, off Piazza Maggiore, and within walking distance of the whole city. Markets, shops, historic buildings and museums all nearby.
Lovely hotel right in the centre of Bologna. So much to see and do, and spoilt for choice for good restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Near London UK

Lovely Hotel 2 minutes from the main square

Posted Apr 1, 2014
We stayed in one of the apartments they have in the block next to the hotel. They were well appointed and the room service was excellent. The hotel staff were friendly and always willing to make recommendations and the restaurants they sent us to were always a good choice...... We will go back there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barney from Kent, UK

Full of character and a joy to visit

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: The fun and very lovingly finished decor (it's all about the details), the friendly and helpful staff and the brilliant location.
Location: The hotel is next to Piazza Maggiore so everything is close. Visit Divinis for amazing wine and pasta or La Mela for real home-cooked Italian.
Al Cappello Rosso must be among the most unique hotels in Bologna with a number of super-stylish themed rooms that make staying in the hotel a real occasion. My fiancee and I stayed in room 202 – the shock in pink room – and absolutely loved the little touches that made it so much fun. In addition, the staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful or friendly, while the hotel's location so close to the Piazza Maggiore was perfect (the restaurants nearby are also great - visit Divinis around the corner for an amazing choice of wine or La Mela for inexpensive but wonderful pasta and pizza). I would not hesitate in recommending the hotel to anyone visiting Bologna and I certainly intend to stay there again myself. Next time I'm hoping for the room themed on John Cage!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alyn from Glasgow

Great location, right in the city centre

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: It was clean, nice restaurant in it. Breakfast was only 10 euro. Was very nice
Location: Its in the historic city centre so everything is close.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great All Round

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel with excellent wifi and in a fantastic location in the historic centre of Bologna - Off street parking worked fine (if a little expensive) but a great place to stay for business or pleasure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Geoffrey Dick from Statesboro, GA.

Perfect for exploring Old Bologna.

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staying at the Al Cappelo Rosso gives you a he'd start on the tourist trail as you are less than 3 minutes walk from the main square (Piazza de Maggiore). It is a very comfortable hotel with attentive and helpful staff. It was recommended by an Italian friend an I would definitely stay there again. we were upgraded to a superior room which was very nice, but the superior rooms do not have the funky themes that the other rooms do, so if that is why you are staying there - forgo the upgrade.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Susanne from London

Perfect Location

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Al Cappello Rosso is a gem in the heart of the historic area of Bologna. Rooms are well sized, clean and comfortable with sparkling bathrooms. There is even a pillow menu! The staff were friendly and very helpful and made our stay like a "home from home". Hotel is situated close to all the excellent shops and tourist attractions, not to mention the superb restaurants. It was a perfect haven to return to after a day out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com