Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs renevation immediately.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: THE WHOLE BUILDING
A VERY OLD BUILDING AND IT NEEDS REPAIRS. NO INTERNET IN ROOMS ONLY IN THE LOBBY, THE FLOORS MAKE WEIRD SOUNDS , I WOULDN'T RECOMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE . THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT THIS HOTEL WAS THE LOCATION.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from garmisch partenkirchen, germany

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: The location was excellent.
Cons: There should be better coffee and clean walls and clean carpets. The shower head was ridiculously low.
Location: Right near all the main attractions. Great pizzeria near by. Within walking distance of all the main sights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by California traveler from California

Visit to see son at University of bologna

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Really well situated. Very pleasant staff. We stayed twice within a week. The first room was nice but noisy. The second on the 4th floor was old. It had no shower curtain and the floors were squeaky. But overall great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Louis from Laval, Quebec

Close to all must-see sights

Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very conveniently located. The staff was nery nice. The breakfast was very good. The lobby was very nice. No Internet in the room only in the lobby. The hotel and furnishings are dated. The hotel was very clean. Parking was available for a small fee.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

No air con

Posted May 24, 2013
Average hotel, but without air con - good location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shannon from Manchester, UK

Excellent location and good value for money

Posted May 18, 2013
Pros: Its central location and the relatively low cost of staying there
Cons: It has seen better days and is a bit shabby
Location: Ideal for the town centre - a couple of minutes from the main square
The hotel is a very old one and has clearly seen better days. However, it was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good and the location was ideal for the city centre (also for Gianni's ice cream parlour next door). It was also very good value for money especially for me as a single traveller. I also was given five free breakfasts as a special offer. Free wifi was available in the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen from UK

Location perfect for Bologna sightseeing and cafes

Posted Apr 19, 2013
Pros: In historic centre, lots of character, great view from our room of medieval towers, cathedral, rooftops
Cons: Faded grandeur a bit shabby in some parts. Bathroom small.
Location: Perfect location for exploring historic, cultural, artistic heritage. Lots within 5 mins walk. Hotel has parking garage even though so central.
I liked this hotel with its slightly faded charm and excellent location just a couple of minutes from the main square, basilica, museums, restaurants, interesting food shops, medieval towers, churches etc. It hasn't had a recent makeover and may not appeal to people who prefer everything shiny and new. (If it was all brand new I think it would cost a lot more considering where it is.) It's a late 18th century palace (see the painted ceiling in the front salon), with 1920s renovations. Furnishings in our room looked late 20th century. It was well-cleaned with good quality sheets and ample towels. I'd have liked a bigger bathroom and would request this if I went again, though that might mean sacrificing our rooftop view towards the cathedral and the famous towers beyond. The hotel has a range of different rooms - some bigger, some quieter, some with a view - so ask. Staff are nice and helpful. Breakfast fine but nothing special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Central location in an interesting area.

Posted Oct 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
My only complaint would be that the bathroom was quite dark. Hard for shaving!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Fiona

Overpriced and noisy

Posted Oct 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
Not only was this the most overpriced hotel of our stay but they fail to mention that there is a cinema right next door to the hotel that blasts through the hotel walls until midnight. The rooms are also tiny and very dated. Only saving grace is the central location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Linda and Ron

A fine place to stay in cool weather

Posted Jul 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Palace is well located, near to most major sights. It is in a lovely old palazzo, with impressive public areas. Service is friendly and helpful. The guest rooms are a bit small but not excessively so, with comfortable beds and solid, attractive furniture providing plenty of storage place for clothes, both hanging and folded. There is a small refrigerator, although it is not stocked and does not keep food or drinks really cold. The one big problem was the air conditioning, which did nothing at all to help, making the room very uncomfortably hot in mid July. In cooler weather, however, we would certainly stay at the Palace again.