Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Good position for access to the central sights

Posted Oct 19, 2014
We spent a very enjoyable three night stay at the hotel. Very good facilities with a lovely outside area. Attentive and informed staff, good facilities and excellent range for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2014
I loved EVERYTHING about this hotel!!!! From the friendly, helpful staff to the location:) It was perfect an beautiful. And the complimentary breakfast was AMAZING:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cromer, Norfolk UK

Perfect Place To Meet Friends

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Friendly, Comfortable, Convenient
Cons: Toaster was a bit slow at breakfast
Location: Great location 10 - 15 minutes from city centre, lovely squares surrounded by churches and many nice places to eat. Try Café Maxim near the twin tower
We chose the Hotel Porta San Mamola in Bologna from previous reviews, this was our first visit and we were not disappointed. A very warm welcome from all the staff and a cappuccino in the patio garden fully of wonderful colour and smells whilst our room was prepared as we were early. The hotel has a good position in a quiet back street but still within 10 - 15 minutes of the city centre. The room we had was spacious and very comfortable.You can't always believe past reviews but in the case of Hotel Porta San Mamolo you certainly can. Recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Quaint hotel with great staff

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Loved having breakfast in the garden. Super bkf buffet. Staff was extremely helpful providing a map of the city with the walking path highlighted to the main square. Easy 10 min. walk to the main square. Quite little side street with good restaurant 4 min. down the street. Ask for a room with a view if you want to face the garden or tile rooftops .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great hotel - staff can't do enough for you

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Extremely helpful and friendly staff, outdoor terrace for eating/relaxing. Quiet room.
Location: Good choice of local restaurants. Hotel about 15 mins stroll from centre of city.
Spent two nights here at end of 2 week holiday compares well for value/facilities etc with many more posher places. Informal atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Bologna, Italy

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: It was very nice. Staff was great. Location was great as well and very quiet!!
Cons: Need to work on the A/C.......weak at best. Advised the owner upon checkout.
Location: 10 minute easy walk to the historic city center, with many cafes and eateries to choose from.
Great little hotel tucked away in residential area. Many good eateries very close.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly and very comfortable.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Not in the centre but certainly close enough to be able to easily weak in and access by car! Very friendly, helpful and personal. Really enjoyed our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bowdon Cheshire

Most important assets are the staff of the hotel.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Food ( B/F) was excellent. The staff are so efficient that they make up any deficiencies the building has. Centre Plaza Major is only 15min walk which is a good daily exercise. If we ever go back to Bologna we shall stay again at this hotel provided same staff are still there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Good location, easy to reach from the station and a 15 Euro taxi ride from the airport.
Location: Close to Bologna historic centre (10 mins walk)
Nice little hotel, comfortable rooms, pretty little garden and nice breakfast room, and very helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Great location - 10 mins from the centre. Room was clean and well equipped and the staff all extraordinarily courteous and helpful. I wish we had been able to stay longer.