Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to station.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed and close to station for getting about.
Cons: Shower! Very narrow bath with shower in bath, shower taps stick out too far from wall hindering access and hot water pipe burns.
Nice hotel with comfortable bedding and close to amenities. Excellent helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by fab from london

Nice hotel close to train station

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Staff are really friendly And helpful. Raccomandations And booking restaurant for us. Room/bathroom a bit tired could benefit from refurbishment - but adeguate free tea/coffe in Room And free wifi nice touch. Waliking distance to centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Marietta, Ga

Nice hotel across from train station

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: It's location to the old part of the city.
Cons: there is no parking, but they suggested a lot around the corner, pricey, but convenient
The beautiful young woman at the front desk was very helpful and spoke wonderful english. When we asked her for the name of a restaurant (on a Sunday when many were closed) if you had only 1 night to spend in Bologna, she made a fantastic suggestion. The bed was a king that was firm and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was ok. Good value for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adele from UK

Good Hotel, central and convenient.

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: I liked the situation right opposite the main Railway Station which was also convenient for the Airport Coach.
Cons: For the price of the package, it was great value for money.
Location: This hotel is so conveniently located with easy walking access to the centre of town. Restaurants and shops are close by.
The Mercure Hotel is great and so conveniently situation opposite the Railway Station for daily excursions to other places. It suited my needs perfectly and I would not hesitate to stay there again. Altogether a great experience. The Staff are very helpful and friendly and efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dan from San Diego, CA

Surprisingly nice for a train station hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was nicely located close to the train station. The station itself is kind of tough to navigate at first. Beware of helpful people at the station who will stop at nothing to help you for money. The hotel doesn't have this issue though, very friendly staff who can speak English. Rooms are medium sized and the shutters can black the room out completely. Neighborhood is very nice, easily accessible by walking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Margaret from California

Convenient location

Posted May 17, 2014
Expedia price was excellent - about 1/2 price. Nice fancy business hotel in walking distance to the historic center and across from the train station. I would have given more stars for the facility but the air conditioning was out of service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

All this hotel has is convenient place and staff

Posted May 17, 2014
+ Very good and helpful staff + Conveniently located next door to railway station + Plenty of cafes and restaurants close by + Charming garden in the courtyard - The hotel looks like something from late 1980s, has not been refubrished lately - Reservations missed my non-smoking preference - room facilities are very basic and def not 4* (more like a good US motel) Might be good place for an overnight stay
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ali from Perth

Not what I expected of a Mercure

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The complex screamed of being tired & neglected. The bed springs were nearly at surface level. Bed springs? It actually squeaked & I was solo… If you just wanted to take advantage of the rail system it was handy. The room had a feeling of space with its high ceilings & balcony, but the bathroom was grubby & the cleanliness of the toilet left a lot to be desired. The bath/shower drain was blocked - a pet peeve of mine when I'm standing in the shower in water that isn't draining properly & wondering whose DNA cells my feet are bathing in. The reception staff were nice & helpful & very professional. But the housekeeping staff sounded like a school-full of teenage girls in the corridors early in the morning, whilst presumably working. Noisily pushing linen trollies, laughing & bantering loudly, it really did sound like an excited group of visiting school girls were checking out of the floor. I actually poked my head out of my door to see what all the noise was about, imagining I'd encounter a group of happy & excited teenage travellers, only to discover it was actually the staff having a good old party. When I checked in, I also had to move linen trollies that were in the hallways so I could get past them. And if I understood Italian, I could have listened to a neighbour's phone conversation word for word - the walls are paper thin. I really did expect better from Mercure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kathyb from Yorkshire, England

good hotel very close to the railway station

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: location
Location: close to the station and the city
the mercure is a very good, comfortable hotel directly opposite Bologna train station, but also handy for the centre of the city, a short walk away. It is clean and comfortable, the staff very helpful and has a delightful garden at the rear.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by bmj from uk

nice hotel close to rail station

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
hotel receptionist was very helpful, room was good, location handy to rail station. Breakfast was a hefty 12 euros each extra so we went to a cafe near the centre.