Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Doniel Williams from USA

Must stay

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Great hotel. Excellent customer service. Great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Camarillo, CA

Hotel in Bologna

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Good, centrally located for the trade show in Bologna. Staff was nice and very helpful. Room was good.
2 out of 5
by Robert from Birmingham, AL

Unacceptable climate control.

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: Close to train station. Professional and polite staff who were helpful but unable to remedy the problem with AC system.
Cons: Change the HVAC system so that each room can control its temperature with use of AC or heat to meet the needs of guests.
Location: Bologna is a wonderful city to visit; the historical center is large, well preserved and vibrant. Go to Bologna, but pick a different hotel.
We stayed at this hotel for one night and had a miserable experience. The Royal Carlton aspires to be a top notch luxury hotel but it fails on the most important point - guest comfort. Rooms and bath are large and well appointed, similar to what one might find in a first class business hotel in the U.S. We found the room much too warm. It was a very pleasant October day with outside temperatures in the mid-70s. It was roughly 80 degrees in our room. It was not possible to open the window and close the drapes at the same time. The explanation for the lack of air conditioning given by the front desk was that it had been cool on the previous day and the heat had been turned on. This meant that they would not be able to get the AC on for another day or so. They seem to have a central system that is either heating or cooling with no possibility for room to room variability. The hotel management was apparently unwilling to insist that service personnel get the problem fixed immediately. We had prepaid through Expedia; nearby hotels in Bologna were booked and we had a very early morning departure or we would have left promptly for other lodging. If you find you have no choice but the Royal Carlton, do not pay in advance and have an alternative ready.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ken from Bermuda

Very good stay

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Pros: Location, room, bathroom, price, staff.
Cons: The public spaces are somewhat staid and could be jazzed up a little perhaps.
Location: Old town Bologna is actually very charming.
I was surprised at some of the negative comments about this hotel. The location is great, walking distance to the Old Town, my room was absolutely immaculate with a lovely new bathroom, and the price was very good. Perhaps the rooms have been refurbished recently? It's not exactly a trendy, rocking scene but the public spaces are fine and seemed to attract a business-oriented crowd. In summary, especially at the price which was very reasonable, an excellent stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spotless, elegant hotel with great personnel

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Although this is one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed in, it is eclipsed by the excellence of the staff--from reception to breakfast room to cleaning women, everyone is helpful and cheerful. It is a pleasure to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for your stay in Bologna

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Right by the train station with only a ten minute walk to the major sights, two towers etc. Great buffet breakfast with a wide range. Good sized rooms with classic decor, overall a good hotel in the right place. The only negative I would point out is a minor one but something I found unusual, check out is at 10am?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicholas from California

Excellent choice for Bologna.

Posted Jul 1, 2013
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The rooms need a bit of updating, but otherwise, it's a great hotel.
Location: Located in central Bologna. Perfect location to walk everywhere. No need for taxis.
I've stayed at this hotel several times over the past 12 months. The staff is excellent and friendly and all speak English very well. I would definitely stay again in the future. The gym is incredible and surprising because from the outside you would never know this hotel even has a gym. When you walk in, it rivals some of the best gyms in the U.S. All the equipment is new (or fairly new) and everything works! The rooms are clean, however, my only criticism is the wallpaper is old and obviously dirty from years of accumulating dirt. Otherwise, the beds are very comfortable and immaculate. Since the hotel is off the main street, there is little to no sound at night that you might find in other major Italian cities, such as Rome. You only hear the roar of those little Vespas during the day. Breakfast was always included for us and is excellent. It is a buffet style and has everything you can imagine. Lastly, the hotel is less than 5 minutes walking to Bologna Centrale (the train station). No need for a taxi unless you're loaded with luggage. Overall, an excellent choice.