Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Excellent hotel close to train station

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: clean, simple luxury of the bedroom, bathroom; early morning buffet breakfast; friendly, courteous staff
Cons: can't think of anything
Location: close to the train station, Piazza Maggiore, the two towers, the Oratory of Santa Maria della Vita is a real treasure
After travelling throughout Italy for three weeks, we were exhausted. Arriving in Bologna by train, we needed only to cross the street to arrive at the Excelsior. What we found was a very comfortable, immaculately clean bedroom and bathroom, with all the conveniences. The hotel's location in the heart of the city gave us the opportunity to wander around this beautiful, historic, cosmopolitan city for a few hours and enjoy one last Italian dinner al fresco. We had to leave for the airport at 7:30 the next morning. Conveniently, from 7 a.m., the hotel provides a delicious buffet breakfast with a wide variety of fresh breakfast foods. After checking out, we simply crossed the street again to get a taxi for the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely, comfortable hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Lovely and comfortable hotel conveniently located opposite the train station. The airport shuttle bus also departs from the train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Convenient to train and center

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Hotel was very good. Clean, comfortable. Good breakfast. Very convenient to train station (across the street). The center is a 20 minute walk away - also easy. Restaurant was awful - skip it. Chef unable to accommodate a simple request for a side of roast potatoes even though it was available with other dishes (eg steak and potatoes).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Great location for a layover but not much to see or do and hotel staff wasn't very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herefordshire

Hotel chosen for its proximity to station

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: It was not particularly characterful but served its purpose, our room was large and comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent
Cons: The air conditioning was erratic at times
Location: As stated, convenient for station. Not a great deal to do in the immediate vicinity but not far to walk into the centre of Bologna.
We planned to use Bologna as a base and use the train to visit other places, Florence, Ravenna, Ferrara, Parma, Verona. The hotel reviews were favourable and we thought that we could return from our day trips and would just have to walk a few yards. It was a good decision because the weather was particularly hot for June and we were exhausted after looking around these beautiful Italian cities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel across street from train station

Posted Jul 9, 2014
In general, very nice hotel with great location. Good breakfast, helpful staff, nice rooms. Would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A wonderful hotel in a wonderful small city.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: It was quiet, clean, comfortable and convenient.
Cons: Nothing
The hotel was so good. It was spacious and clean and beautiful. We received a complimentary upgrade. The city had beautiful architecture and a calm, relaxing vibe. We recommend both the city and the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Manchester, England

Ideal location

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Good overall facilities and location
Cons: Staff service at breakfast
Location: Well its great for visiting Bologna but you can get better guidance from other sources.
Right next to Bologna central station. Ideal for short stay in city. Caters for family with teenagers. Good selection of tv channels, not normally a consideration but we wanted to catch the football world cup, which surprisingly was only fully available on sky italy. Good breakfast selection but not good staff service which unfortunately seemed a reoccurring theme in italy. There is a gym which had the usual fitness equipment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location opposite the train station

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Very comfortable hotel, ideal location for sightseeing etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cant wait to go back for another wonderfull stay!!

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: I couldnt find a fault with it, definatly visting again & looking at its sister hotels elsewhere.
Cons: I enjoyed my stay and have no complaints
Location: Amazing Location for travelling. It is adjacent to the main street up to all the tourist attraction, lovely Ice cream shop close by!!
The location is amazing, we were slightly worried about the noise before we left being so close to the station but it was very quiet, with the quadruple glazed windows. The room was very spacious & had everything that we needed. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of variety, something for everyone, full continental, hot food, fruit ect. All the staff we encountered were lovely and reception were very helpful, check in & out was quick. Hotel was clean and presentable and welcoming to the regular traveller. A very useful part of the hotel is the free computer with internet access that was available in the lobby, a massive bonus for us! Will be returning to Bologna and the Starhotel for another lovely stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2014 by Andrea Contri FHM, Hotel Management
Dear Guets, It’s such a pleasure to read your kind words regarding Starhotels Excelsior and its staff, but most importantly, for dedicating some of your personal time to us. We sincerely thanks you for your time and hope to have the possibility of welcoming you, once again in Starhotels