Ratings based on 742 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Hotel opposite Bologna Centrale Station

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Generally good hotel. Few bits damaged in room though i.e. hole on bathroom door of which I wasn't very impressed with. Hotel is clean and staff are good. Location is good. Breakfast was good too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location from train station.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: movie selection for rent was poor.
Traveled from Florence to Bologna via train with luggage. This hotel was convenient, reasonably priced and very comfortable. The staff arranged transport to the airport the following day and answered all my questions with patience and were very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in bologna

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Staff were very accommodating and they really attended to all our need! Great experience we will be back here if given a chance
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bretagne

hôtel confortable, chambre très spacieuse et calme

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Ou qu'on soit, à l'accueil, au restaurant, c'est calme
Location: l'hôtel est à proximité du centre historique et du quartier universitaire
hôtel bien situé en face de la gare SNCF, et proche de la gare routière, petit déjeuner copieux et varié; chambre et parties communes calmes et très propres, hôtel à conseillé.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt

Direkt gegenüber vom aerobus gelegen.

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Es war sehr gut mit schönem Frühstück. Perfekt gelegen für einen Tagesausflug mit der Bahn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from napoli

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Albergo centrale elegante e comodo. Personale molto gentile e disponibile. Colazione ricca e varia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Convenient modern hotel across from train station.

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: The location was very convenient and the staff were very helpful.
Cons: The room temperature. It was too warm, and the air conditioning could not be controlled.
I had a very pleasant stay at the Star Hotel Excelsior. The hotel is located directly across from the Bologna Centrale train station making it extremely convenient to take day trips to other cities. Despite being across from a busy train station, the hotel is well insulated and very little street noise can be heard from the rooms. The hotel is about a 25 min. walk to the historic City Center. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. My only one complaint is that the air conditioning is set and cannot be lowered below 22 celsius. The room was a little warm for me. Unlike many other European hotels, the Star Hotel Excelsior serves a full buffet breakfast, and has a fitness room. The hotel staff was very efficient at check-in and check-out, and were helpful in recommending restaurants and shops. I would definitely recommend the Star Hotel Excelsior if you are planning a visit to Bologna.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

great hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: Room are with great amenities, clean and comfortable.
Cons: hope hotel stuff can be more friendly, but it is Italy, people said don't expect too much ...
room is very clean and comfortable, not many hotels in Italy offers a simple hot pot for coffee and tea, and Star Hotels does. I am very please with the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Handy place to stay

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Cons: Provide buffet with drink every evening. Serve food on HOT plates. Food rather cool by the time it makes its way up the stairs from the kitchen.
Location: Not a lot to do in the immediate location
Location opposite Station convenient for local and City Bus
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hotel across from the train station.

Posted May 31, 2015
It's a 3 no it's walk to the hotel from the train station. You can see it as you walk out and cross the street. Room is very comfortable. Had the most spacious bathroom, as expected of a chain hotel, in all my stay in Italy. Got a room with a window that looked out to the train station, which was fun for people watching. Had a problem that required the help of a staff member, called reception and someone showed up in 2 minutes. Breakfast is a buffet spread European style, good food, many choices. Would definitely stay here again.