Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by First time DC

Convenient for centre of town

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: offer proper non-smoking rooms. and ensure the single rooms are adequate size.
Using the app, had to book a single room because travelling solo, although a double would have been the same price. Room clean (but had been smoked in very recently), but v small and the wardrobe door would not open fully because room so small (other fixed furniture in the way), so limited access to in-room safe. Bathroom clean and spacious. Staff friendly. It was only for one night so I did not ask to be moved, but I would not go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Australia

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Location and room was lovely and big.
Cons: Not sure
Location: Location was fantastic, close to restaurants and the main street for shopping etc
Great little hotel just off the main street in Bologna. Staff friendly, rooms nice and clean and quiet. Very close to everything. Enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Julia from Ny

Would stay there again, happily

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was helpful and polite, the room we had was spacious and comfortable. It's an old building and things are a little worn, but it didn't bother us. The bathroom was clean, the sheets good quality. One of the nights the noise from outside was loud, but it wasn't the hotels fault!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kat from Auckland, NZ

Old fashioned style hotel in the heart of town.

Posted Dec 20, 2013
Pros: The room was very spacious and quiet. The hotel is right in the heart of town with easy walking distance to all the tourist places and the station.
Cons: the toilets flushing was extremely noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mary from Traveling the world

Near great restaurants

Posted Nov 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was exactly what we pictured. Very common European room but slightly bigger. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fine, shower a little small. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was okay. The location was easy to get to from the train station and there was a great juice/health place at the corner and at the other corner there was a row of amazing restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandra from London

Very conveniently situated hotel in the old town

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Pros: Central location
Cons: Decor is a little dated
While not having some of the facilities of a larger hotel, Il Canale more than compensates by being in a very good position, close to the sites, restaurants and shops of central Bologna. The hotel is a 10 to 15 minute walk from the main railway station and aerobus stop. We would certainly stay at this hotel again when visiting Bologna.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by amber from dallas

Overall good experience

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Pros: Staff Cleanliness Location
Cons: Breakfast breads Wifi
Location: Gelateria Great shops and restaurants nearby Near the train station
Overall good experience. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean. Hotel is very dated, but this adds to its charm. Breakfast is a traditional Italian hotel breakfast, everything was as to be expected. However, the breads seemed old. I did overhear the front desk mention to a guest the breads were delivered daily, so evidently they are just baked to be hard and stale. Wifi was not working, or I could not get it to work. Really those are my only complaints. great location near shops and main boulevard. I travel to Italy once a year for business and have walked down this main street many times, having no idea this little hotel was in the area. It is next to a sex shop, but ignoring that, location is great. I was traveling alone, and felt perfectly safe. I have stayed larger, nicer hotels in Bologna. But I was pleased with my experience at Il Canale.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Family of 4 from M

Central location - clean room in good condition

Posted Sep 26, 2013
We needed a quad room and were given the ground floor room facing the road - so for privacy not able to open windows or blinds. Staff able to relocate us to a higher floor without problem. Helped to make our stay much more enjoyable. Surprised that access to Internet was expensive when most hotels in other cities offer it for free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Convenient and friendly

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Pros: The staff, the large firm bed and the bathroom
Cons: Entrance hall could be modernized
Location: Central and near station and to bus to airport
Good stay. Fine city. Good restaurants and nice bars in Piazza Maggiore.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels.com