Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York, New York

Great Place with Mediocre Food and Bad Scuba Entry

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Rooms were nice. Location is good.
Cons: The hotel staff helping on the shore were abysmal--incompetent and lazy. Food was constantly running out of anything really edible.
The single cafeteria was constantly out of food and late on providing drinks. Food was equivalent to college cafeteria food. For a scuba diving place, the shore entry is horrendous (corral rocks and waves). If you do giant stride off of dock, scuba entry is ok. The hotel and dive shop staff are completely unhelpful so you have to figure out what to do on your own.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Een beetje outdated hotel, schoon, het personeel z

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: De ligging
Cons: Vernieuwen en de zwarte slangen van een ouderwets sproeisysteem in de tuin ,dat is lelijk!
Location: Als je van duiken houdt is er veel te doen, verder heeft Bonaire niet veel te bieden. Het natuurpark plantage washington voor 25 dollar p.p te duur
Kort verblijf( slechts 2 nachten ) laat gearriveerd 22.00 uur, er was niets meer te eten! Een volledige dag all inclusive eten. Volgende dag om 11.00 uitchecken, na bijbetaling van 10 dollar/per uur wel gebruik van kamer tot 19.00 maar geen eten meer. Dus volledig betaald voor 2 dagen en slechts 1 dag eten. Geen goede deall voor kort verblijf.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom denver, co

Better than we expected all-inclusive

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: All inclusive is always nice for us. We are usually tired after diving and just want to relax, drink, chill out and visit in the evening.
Cons: Beds in the room were very quite uncomfortable (hard). A little more choice in liquor and my husband always wants potatoes at breakfast buffet.
Location: Diving of course. Paddle tennis courts are set up on the beach. Large snorkeling area. Town is very nearby.
We had booked a junior suite but were given a grand suite room and were VERY impressed when we arrived. The room was very spacious and very nicely appointed. Quite a long walk to the dive shop but close to dining area, bar and beach. Quite a nice beach area, especially for Bonaire. We usually stay at Buddy's Dive Resort and it has become increasingly difficult to get our tanks for the day (we dive with nitrox), because tanks are gone or have to wait in a long line of trucks. At The Plaza resort, there were always tanks available. Food and included liquor were relatively simple but plentiful and food was appetizing and satisfying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Great Value

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Great location right by the airport. Nice beach and snorkeling right on the grounds. Good dive shop. Great staff.
Cons: The grounds need to be upgraded. Wooden boardwalks need replacement.
Location: Diving, what else is there, lol! Shopping, good restaurants, and banking are all just 5 minutes away by car or scooter.
I stayed at The Plaza from 10/25/14-11/01/14 for a week of diving. Check in was smooth and painless. The junior suite is spacious and the A/C worked great in the 90 degree weather. The queen beds were comfortable. Plenty of quality free drinks with the all inclusive deal. Breakfast and lunch were always good and varied from day to day. Dinner was less consistent: sometimes disappointing but other nights it was top notch. The cook-to-order station is definitely the way to go and some of the fresh-grilled fish dishes (and accompanying sauces) were fantastic. I attended during low season so the place was not crowded and the weather was great. The grounds were in decent shape but could use some TLC. Speaking of which, they were working on the areas around the pool but it was still usable. The staff were always friendly, responsive and helpful. They even sent a maintenance person to unscrew the wall-mounted flat screen TV so I could connect my camera cable into the back of it and review camera footage. Nice touch. The bar tenders at Coconut Crash were not on "island time." They hustled non-stop to get drinks to their patrons quickly and they were were-well made. Although I was concerned that my previous emails to Toucan divers were met with no response, they were a friendly and well-organized outfit. Their boat excursions took us to great locations and they were always willing to take requests to specific dive sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MN

Very nice place to stay.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Everyone was very helpful. We especially enjoyed Benito's warm smile and helpfulness.
Cons: Keep updating. Make a sandy beach entrance.
Location: Wonderful snorkeling and diving right off the shore of resort.
Great food, walking distance to town. Great diving and snorkeling. Loved the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oostzaan

Uitstekende ligging aan het strand

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Ligging, service, strand en het zwembad alles onder handbereik. All-in service is prima
Location: In centrum van bonaire en door het huren van een fiets of bromfiets kun je het hele eiland bezien.
Vriendelijke gastvrije mensen en de all-in service is uitstekend. Goede gezellige (gratis) strandbar waar allerlei heerlijke drankjes voor je worden gemaakt. Voor een ieder aan te bevelen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Fernandofrom Buenos Aires

Habitaciones y camas muy confortables, bien ubicad

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Agradable estadia. Buena calidad de comida all inclusive, recomendable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ronfrom Vail, Co.

Great,But

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Location and the restaurant help.
Cons: More communication between departments andMore maintainance.
Location: As a Dive destination, perfect . A little more night life would be even better
The outside patio could be cleaned daily and the back door slider was almost impossible to operate.This was my first time @ the Plaza in 30 years coming to Bonaire and am not too sure I will stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My 3rd stay.....

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: The service from the staff is excellent. A feeling of safety and being able to truly relax or have fun with SCUBA diving &.other water sports.
Cons: The food
Location: Good layout including a great marina which offers many water sports. Downtown nearby with good restaurants.
Property badly needs repairs & improved food. My last visit they had 2 restaurants where you could eat off menu and the meals and wines were excellent. Now all meals buffet style, the food is fair and geared toward the Dutch vacationers. Who eats beef stroganoff for lunch when it's in the mid80s? Many dishes served every meal....boring and unappetizing. The property is now so poorly maintained that I saw graffiti on the wall of the once lovely, now abandoned restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Danafrom Langley, BC, Canada

Quiet Hotel on the Beach and Close to Town

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: Great snorkeling on site; friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: Some part of the facility were getting run down and could have been in better repair but none that impacted our stay.
Location: Great access to snorkeling and water activities, a 15 minute walk to town, easy to rent a car and explore the whole Island.
We stayed at the Plaza for 5 days in February and were very pleased with the service and help we received from all the staff. They arranged a last minute rental car for us and provided a wealth of local knowledge and information. The snorkeling right at the hotel was great with good visibility and a wide variety of fish. The room was spacious, well maintained and clean. The food was adequate, good but not outstanding. Good access to water sports, tours and dive excursions right on site. I would have no hesitation returning to the Plaza.