Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Cons: More freshly cooked food choices
When we arrived our room had been upgraded from a junior suite, partial ocean view to a Grande Suite with a wonderful ocean view from our balcony. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the beach and the snorkelling from the beach was very good. We saw lots of beautiful fish. The bar had excellent drinks and all was inclusive. The food in the restaurant was served buffet style. One main course for each meal, breakfast, lunch and dinner was freshly cooked and was very good. The rest of the food choices in the buffet were not as good as the fresh cooked ones but food wasn't as important to us as the relaxing beach, great bar, friendly staff and great snorkelling.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York, New York

Great Place with Mediocre Food and Bad Scuba Entry

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Rooms were nice. Location is good.
Cons: The hotel staff helping on the shore were abysmal--incompetent and lazy. Food was constantly running out of anything really edible.
The single cafeteria was constantly out of food and late on providing drinks. Food was equivalent to college cafeteria food. For a scuba diving place, the shore entry is horrendous (corral rocks and waves). If you do giant stride off of dock, scuba entry is ok. The hotel and dive shop staff are completely unhelpful so you have to figure out what to do on your own.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Een beetje outdated hotel, schoon, het personeel z

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: De ligging
Cons: Vernieuwen en de zwarte slangen van een ouderwets sproeisysteem in de tuin ,dat is lelijk!
Location: Als je van duiken houdt is er veel te doen, verder heeft Bonaire niet veel te bieden. Het natuurpark plantage washington voor 25 dollar p.p te duur
Kort verblijf( slechts 2 nachten ) laat gearriveerd 22.00 uur, er was niets meer te eten! Een volledige dag all inclusive eten. Volgende dag om 11.00 uitchecken, na bijbetaling van 10 dollar/per uur wel gebruik van kamer tot 19.00 maar geen eten meer. Dus volledig betaald voor 2 dagen en slechts 1 dag eten. Geen goede deall voor kort verblijf.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom denver, co

Better than we expected all-inclusive

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: All inclusive is always nice for us. We are usually tired after diving and just want to relax, drink, chill out and visit in the evening.
Cons: Beds in the room were very quite uncomfortable (hard). A little more choice in liquor and my husband always wants potatoes at breakfast buffet.
Location: Diving of course. Paddle tennis courts are set up on the beach. Large snorkeling area. Town is very nearby.
We had booked a junior suite but were given a grand suite room and were VERY impressed when we arrived. The room was very spacious and very nicely appointed. Quite a long walk to the dive shop but close to dining area, bar and beach. Quite a nice beach area, especially for Bonaire. We usually stay at Buddy's Dive Resort and it has become increasingly difficult to get our tanks for the day (we dive with nitrox), because tanks are gone or have to wait in a long line of trucks. At The Plaza resort, there were always tanks available. Food and included liquor were relatively simple but plentiful and food was appetizing and satisfying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Great Value

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Great location right by the airport. Nice beach and snorkeling right on the grounds. Good dive shop. Great staff.
Cons: The grounds need to be upgraded. Wooden boardwalks need replacement.
Location: Diving, what else is there, lol! Shopping, good restaurants, and banking are all just 5 minutes away by car or scooter.
I stayed at The Plaza from 10/25/14-11/01/14 for a week of diving. Check in was smooth and painless. The junior suite is spacious and the A/C worked great in the 90 degree weather. The queen beds were comfortable. Plenty of quality free drinks with the all inclusive deal. Breakfast and lunch were always good and varied from day to day. Dinner was less consistent: sometimes disappointing but other nights it was top notch. The cook-to-order station is definitely the way to go and some of the fresh-grilled fish dishes (and accompanying sauces) were fantastic. I attended during low season so the place was not crowded and the weather was great. The grounds were in decent shape but could use some TLC. Speaking of which, they were working on the areas around the pool but it was still usable. The staff were always friendly, responsive and helpful. They even sent a maintenance person to unscrew the wall-mounted flat screen TV so I could connect my camera cable into the back of it and review camera footage. Nice touch. The bar tenders at Coconut Crash were not on "island time." They hustled non-stop to get drinks to their patrons quickly and they were were-well made. Although I was concerned that my previous emails to Toucan divers were met with no response, they were a friendly and well-organized outfit. Their boat excursions took us to great locations and they were always willing to take requests to specific dive sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MN

Very nice place to stay.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Everyone was very helpful. We especially enjoyed Benito's warm smile and helpfulness.
Cons: Keep updating. Make a sandy beach entrance.
Location: Wonderful snorkeling and diving right off the shore of resort.
Great food, walking distance to town. Great diving and snorkeling. Loved the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oostzaan

Uitstekende ligging aan het strand

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Ligging, service, strand en het zwembad alles onder handbereik. All-in service is prima
Location: In centrum van bonaire en door het huren van een fiets of bromfiets kun je het hele eiland bezien.
Vriendelijke gastvrije mensen en de all-in service is uitstekend. Goede gezellige (gratis) strandbar waar allerlei heerlijke drankjes voor je worden gemaakt. Voor een ieder aan te bevelen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Dorinafrom Nederland

goede service

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
De locatie was prima. kwaliteit en service was goed. Alleen jammer dat ze wel eens vergaten mijn kamer schoon te maken en moest ik daar s,avonds achterheen gaan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Fernandofrom Buenos Aires

Habitaciones y camas muy confortables, bien ubicad

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Agradable estadia. Buena calidad de comida all inclusive, recomendable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ronfrom Vail, Co.

Great,But

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Location and the restaurant help.
Cons: More communication between departments andMore maintainance.
Location: As a Dive destination, perfect . A little more night life would be even better
The outside patio could be cleaned daily and the back door slider was almost impossible to operate.This was my first time @ the Plaza in 30 years coming to Bonaire and am not too sure I will stay there again.