Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ron from Vail, Co.

Great,But

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Location and the restaurant help.
Cons: More communication between departments andMore maintainance.
Location: As a Dive destination, perfect . A little more night life would be even better
The outside patio could be cleaned daily and the back door slider was almost impossible to operate.This was my first time @ the Plaza in 30 years coming to Bonaire and am not too sure I will stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My 3rd stay.....

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: The service from the staff is excellent. A feeling of safety and being able to truly relax or have fun with SCUBA diving &.other water sports.
Cons: The food
Location: Good layout including a great marina which offers many water sports. Downtown nearby with good restaurants.
Property badly needs repairs & improved food. My last visit they had 2 restaurants where you could eat off menu and the meals and wines were excellent. Now all meals buffet style, the food is fair and geared toward the Dutch vacationers. Who eats beef stroganoff for lunch when it's in the mid80s? Many dishes served every meal....boring and unappetizing. The property is now so poorly maintained that I saw graffiti on the wall of the once lovely, now abandoned restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dana from Langley, BC, Canada

Quiet Hotel on the Beach and Close to Town

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: Great snorkeling on site; friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: Some part of the facility were getting run down and could have been in better repair but none that impacted our stay.
Location: Great access to snorkeling and water activities, a 15 minute walk to town, easy to rent a car and explore the whole Island.
We stayed at the Plaza for 5 days in February and were very pleased with the service and help we received from all the staff. They arranged a last minute rental car for us and provided a wealth of local knowledge and information. The snorkeling right at the hotel was great with good visibility and a wide variety of fish. The room was spacious, well maintained and clean. The food was adequate, good but not outstanding. Good access to water sports, tours and dive excursions right on site. I would have no hesitation returning to the Plaza.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cyclist from Boise, ID

Nice place. Good food. Great Staff. Rebuilding.

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Overall an enjoyable stay. This resort has been run down, but is in the process of being renovated. The major issue we experienced was with the air con. They were kind to provide a room early as our flight came in at 7 am but the air con didn't work and became very hot. They sent maintenance but didn't work. Moved to another room. Air con worked for a couple of hours then quit. Moved to a third room. Air con worked, but dripped creating a puddle on floor and soaking suitcases. Management was helpful throughout, they seem to be trying...but it was a frustrating, hot few days. That said, the diving was great. Pieter and Ger were fun dive masters. The food was very good, and yes I would return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Art from Illinois

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Rooms and hotel need some renovation. Room smelled with mold. Front desk was friendly, but diving shop not so much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by D

Stay here, but check out other dining.

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff was good. Beach beautiful. Service good, except that when they brought our bags to the room, they left them outside...thought that was odd.. Food at restaurant not bad, but the only wine choice was the house selection and it wasn't very good. There are many really good restaurants in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice to get an upgrade to grand suite

Posted Jul 17, 2013
Pros: great oceanview room
Cons: should not have charged us to stay one extra hour from 11 to 12
Location: diving
13th time in Bonaire did some diving enjoed the food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DEW54 from Stuart, FL

Nice beach-side property close to everything.

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: Located far enough from town to be quiet but close enough that a short car ride brought us to all of the restaurants.
Cons: The mattresses were VERY hard. Floors were all tiled and it would have been nice to have a small throw rug to wipe off our feet getting into bed.
Location: The property is very close to the airport, but NOT walking distance. So many dive sites located around the property as well as one on property.
We checked in a day late due to a missed flight. The hotel never missed a beat and gave us an upgraded room. The housekeeping staff woman was very nice and tried to make our overly hard beds more comfortable by adding a comforter under the bottom sheet. We loved the island! You MUST rent a car to really explore it all. The people are nice and the island is very clean compared to others we have been to in the Caribbean. Donkeys and goats run wild everywhere. Must go see the Donkey Sanctuary and the salt mine. We missed the Cudushy Distillery and, unfortunately, didn't buy a bottle of their island-made liquor to pack in our luggage. Big mistake, as it's only available on Bonaire. The water there is safe to drink and tastes better than our water here in the U.S. It seemed that all residents speak English, most spoke several languages.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leandra from Calgary

Short but comfortable stay

Posted May 10, 2013
Pros: only saw in the dark but close to airport
Cons: Smoky from Casino in lobby as I walked through.
Location: Close and convenient to/from airport
Check-in very quick and pleasant Staff good directions to location of room. bed comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Excellent customer service

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Larger resort very near the airport within walking distance of town. Right on the water and harbor. We stayed in a renovated room, very nice. The lobby and rest of the area was dated, and restaurant was closed. I made reservations for a junior suite, lagoon side before we left Atlanta. The staff could not find the reservation, yet immediately upgraded me to a grand suite ocean side which was ready. Outstanding service