Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Amazing place with Excellent service

Posted Aug 15, 2014
If you're going to Bonaire this is the place to stay. They are super super close to the ocean and there is really no reason to spend the extra money. We loved it and we'll go back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

ver

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Viktor, the hotel manager, is great - he prepares breakfast to order, gets you whatever you might need at the hotel, and makes reservations for activities. The hotel is located close to town so you can walk if you want. It's also close to good snorkeling beaches.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sonrisa short break

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: The staff and the price
Cons: Not a lot
We live in nearby Curacao and decided to visit Bonaire for a short break. The hotel was recommended by a friend. We arrived on a Thursday and left on the Sunday. The staff were helpful and the manager, Victor, was extremely so. He arranged a hire car for us and gave us valuable local information on restaurants and snorkelling sites as well as clear information on when he would be in the hotel. The room was adequate and the bed comfortable. It was clean and serviced regularly. Overall a very relaxing break. Definitely will be back and would recommend without hesitation for those looking for a comfortable, budget hotel without frills.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by AB

A perfect getaway

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our time at Sonrisa. Highlights were the delicious and filling breakfasts and chatting with Viktor in the mornings, enjoying the evening breeze, and the close walk to downtown and convenient location. Housekeeping needs to do a better job - the balconies were filthy, and would otherwise be a very nice place to hang out, eat meals, etc.. But I would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Ted and Lorelei from Vancouver Island, Canada.

Good in parts.

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: The location away from the crowds from the cruise ships, and Victor, the manager.
Cons: More of Victor, control of the dogs, a continuous supply of BBQ gas- there was none available on the island for four days.
Location: Good location, ideal for those with a rental vehicle, less convenient for those without.
Good was Victor the manager. He was professional and served our needs well. Pity that for the most part he was not around in the afternoons. Good was our upstairs room with a private balcony up amongst the parakeets. People with rooms downstairs facing the pool area had far less privacy. Good was the location near the edge of town close to facilities like the Airport, car rentals, gas station, and the largest supermarket in town. Bad were the neighbors dogs which along with the strays kept us awake most nights with their barking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Clean with European feel

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: I love what it is and what it isn't. Very good rate. I would stay again.
Cons: Really, nothing as I would like to keep it affordable for all to enjoy.
Location: Windsurfing, Snorkel, Scuba. It is manly a nice international windsurfing crowd/mix. The Scuba people have there own scene.
Clean, safe, free breakfast, nice pool, good rate. See below.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Melissa from tiffin

Nice place

Posted Mar 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at this place two night because we couldn't stay at the Divi for our entire trip. Pretty boutique hotel. Breakfast is made fresh for you... Fresh baked bread was Yummy! No phones in the room. Staff is only there in the morning. Definitely a place for low maintenance people. Only strange thing is the doors. You have to use the key inside your room to lock the door and to unlock.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cheryl from Minnesota

One night stay, but would use them again

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: The place was extremely neat and clean and gave us the feel of being at home.
Cons: Can't think of anything..
Location: Scuba diving-plenty of dive companies near by, close to local grocery stores and downtown for shopping and local craft fair/market.
We needed a one night stay prior to our resort stay elsewhere in Bonaire. This hotel is not on the water, but only a few blocks from at least 4 dive companies. The manager was present for check in (9 pm) and made breakfast for us the next day. There is a lovely pool, nice outside dining area. The doors were secure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by snorklegirl from S

Perfect Cozy Get-away

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Without breaking the bank you can have a very lovely stay at a charming and immaculately clean, intimate hotel less than 5 minutes from the shoreline and all the action of Krawlendljk. Viktor will prepare a hot breakfast for you every morning and go out of his way to give you tips about the island and make sure you are comfortable. There is a quiet and pretty pool area with shade or sun where you never have to fight for a lounge chair. Rooms are very basic, but with nice linens and very comfortable beds. I would choose a room facing the pool , but the rear view rooms face a simple garden, so not bad. Only complaint would be a slight upgrade in the bathrooms is needed...they are a bit dark and no shelf in the showers to set your shampoo on. I'd return in a heartbeat, though. We didn't even have a mosquito issue and never needed a sweater, even at night,but never sweaty either. . Water temp was awesome. Wah!! I wanna go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wayne from Northern California

Brief but enjoyable stay.

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Quiet and pleasant staff.
Cons: Nothing to report, only stayed overnight.
Location: Walked to a great restaurant only 10 minutes away. Surrounding area not impressive but the hotel grounds were secure and well kept.
Quiet comfortable night, nice breakfast with friendly staff and other patrons.