Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel has very old double beds; too small!

Posted Apr 13, 2014
No queen beds in 2014? This hotel needs a major renovation, starting with the beds. Staff was friendly, though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by courtney from gadsden, AL

Very comforting and roomy. I loved this hotel!

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Only stayed two days here, room was very clean, roomy, had a fridge and nice microwave, coffee pot, and everything else I needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to slopes, staff was friendly and helpful

Posted Jan 6, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mitch from Lenoir City, TN

Looking forward to returning

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, hot breakfast, proximity to skiing
Location: Close to skiing, plenty of restaurants in Banner Elk. We've never been other than winter, but looking forward to trying the warm weather offerings.
Everything about our stay exceeded our expectations. From the moment we arrived, Stephanie, who was a pleasure to work with during the entire stay, got our carsick son into a room early. The facility is older, but has been nicely updated. I had stayed here years before when it was another hotel company and there is quite a difference. Fixtures and furniture in the rooms are all new. The lobby has a new, inviting look complete with large leather sofas and a warm fireplace. The old restaurant is gone, but not missed. The hot breakfast every morning was wonderful and included waffles, of course, and eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy and grits. The breakfast staff was excellent as well, making sure we had plenty of everything and serving up smiles with every request. Outside the hotel, the proximity to skiing is great too. Less than five minutes and we were at Sugar Mtn, donning boots and skis, and ultimately experienced surprisingly good conditions and moderate crowds. The lack of restaurant was not a problem as Banner Elk has plenty from which to choose, from sushi to steak and a little of everything in between. Try Dunn's Deli for a great local feel and a delicious sandwich. Back at the hotel, there was some minor construction to contend with, but I am confident that's simply more improvements in the works. We're looking forward to coming back. Soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Location: Skiing, ice skating
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to ski North Carolina ski slopes.

Posted Dec 1, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near Lees-McRae College

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: Breakfast
A very clean hotel near Lees-McRae College. Excellent hot breakfast and very cordial staff. My only complaint was noise in the wee hours of the morning from other guests. We could definitely hear conversations (muffled) in the next room and in the walkway outside the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2013
I found the room to be small for double beds plus you can hear what people are saying next door. The room was clean. But I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Atlanta

Better than it looks

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness, d├ęcor.
Cons: Outside a little dated. Should not have booked through Expedia. Would not honor rate difference because I was not "signed in" when I booked.
Location: Convenient to Boone, Blowing Rock, Grandfather Mtn.
Room appeared to be updated recently. Tastefully decorated. Very clean. Complementary breakfast buffet.