Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indian Trail, NC

Fairfield Was More Than Fair

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Convenience to ski slopes, shopping and dining, and a remarkable breakfast service, with many options. Squeaky clean, nice amenities.
Cons: Indoor pool temp was too cold--and never changed while we were there, with others complaining to the front desk.
Location: 3 nearby ski slopes, Blue Ridge Parkway, mountain bike park, running trails and university atmosphere. Colorful downtown shops, local restaurants.
Convenient to local ski slopes, shopping and dining, Fairfield was clean, quiet, and served a great diverse breakfast. Our first stay ever in this location, we will definitely return and recommend it to anyone seeking a modestly priced motel. We knew of the Marriott name but weren't familiar with this level of the chain, which has a long and proud history. The staff was friendly, approachable and helpful. Boone has had some bad publicity in recent years about dirty "ski mob" motels, deaths from carbon monoxide leaks into rooms and misrepresented hotel names that have changed hands and don't want anybody to know. Fairfield by Marriott will definitely change people's opinions of the industry in Boone, NC.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Raleigh

No refrigerator

Posted Jan 24, 2015
I'll start with the cons: I was very surprised that the room was as small as it was. For one person it was ok but had there been another person with me we would have been cramped. I don't remember the last hotel I stayed in that didn't provide a refrigerator for the guests. It was extremely disappointing since I had a couple of items that could have benefited from being refrigerated. The lack of the refrigerator is the only reason I rated the room comfort and overall rating a 3. Leaving the hotel could be a pain depending on the traffic. PROS!! I became ill my first night which necessitated 2 visits to the ER in 4 days. (My illness wasn't contagious) The staff was very nice and acomadating when I need to extend my stay and very helpful when my husband arrived to help me get home. The bed. WOW!!! I wanted to smuggle it home with me and the pillows as well! I never saw the breakfast bar but my husband enjoyed it! The Fairfield is also close to the hospital where I received excellent care. There are several restaurants close by with 2 of them being within easy walking distance. Would I stay here again? Yes!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2015 by Stacey, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! We apologize for the problems that you encountered with the size of the room and lack of amenities. When you make your next reservation, be sure to tell us that you would like to have a mini-fridge and we will put in a great room with the amenities that you need. See you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simple hotel;reasonable rates

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Rooms were very small. Good location; close to stores,restaurants. Staff was friendly. Indoor pool was very small. Coffee 24 hrs in lobby. Decent place for the rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom northeast n.c.

Very good

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: serve bacon on breakfast bar.
Location: Grandfather mountain, Blowing rock, drive on parkway and Biltmore House
It was our 43rd anniversary and we couldn't have a better vacation anywhere else. The area was very beautiful and the leaves were spectacular. It was very relaxing and we needed a weekend like we had. The hotel staff was nice and very helpful. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a place in the mountains to consider staying there.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Noooo Internet service- ugh!!!

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Checked out early, even though I can't get my money back cause the Internet just DOESN'T work! Very hard location to find in light of day,or night- good luck. Very nice front desk help! Location and Internet gives it a 1 rating'
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2014 by Stacey, Hotel Management
We apologize that you experienced problems with the internet during your stay. We will address the issue to ensure a better stay for our future guests! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lexington, South Carolina

Close to App State

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Accomodations were clean and comfortable. Appropriate for an overnight stay. Overpriced for type of hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2014 by Stacey, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your stay! We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by KTfrom Columbus

Nice stay!

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very nice and very centrally located. It was hard to see from the street and we almost missed it the first time by. The only complaint I had was the breakfast. The second morning of our stay the kitchen seemed to have a trouble keeoing up with the demands for food. It was crowded, so that was a bit understandable. What was not was hearing one of the staff commenting to another that is the people wouldn't take so much food, they wouldn't have to wait so long for more. We had just arrived, so I was slightly annoyed by her attitude. We waited approximately 10 minutes for more scrambled eggs to be brought out. Several people just gave up and ate something else, or left.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by btfrom daytona beach

Overnight in Boone

Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was older, but very clean. The halls smelled musty, but the rooms did not. Only thing that they needed was a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was better then most hotels, but they did not have almond or soy milk. All in all is a nice place for overnight. Got a special rate which was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Donnafrom New Jersey

My Boone NC Trip

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff was very pleasant and went out of their way to help us anytime we asked. My third year in a row and I still love it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Donnafrom New Jersey

My trip to Boone to visit my relatives

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel has everything you for want on a vacation. Staff so friendly and nice. This was my third year at this hotel and I wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else. I had two rooms and both were kept very clean and anything we asked for blankets, towels etc they were brought to our rooms very quickly.