Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Late check in went smoothly; the room was nice; great location, quiet street but a short walk to shops of Blowing Rock.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Millx SC

4 Generations of girls weekend trip!

Posted Nov 1, 2014
A pet friendly Inn that's worth the extra fee. Our hotel staff was very nice & always willing to accommodate to make our stay comfortable.We had a 10 month old a great grandmother, grand mother, & mom plus our dog. All had a really nice stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Jamestown, NC

Highly recommended

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Great location, within walking distance to the historic area of Blowing Rock. Good restaurants within a short walk, and convenient parking.
Location: Just off the main street of Blowing Rock; several excellent restaurants are within a block of the Inn. Shopping and a nice community park are close.
This Inn is very neat, clean and pleasing to the eye. Comfort and service are highly important to the staff - the grounds are pristine and manicured, and the staff is willing to help in any way they can. Very nice breakfast served until 10 am so we could sleep in, and not feel that we needed to rush to get coffee or a bagel. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are well appointed and cozy. We are repeat visitors because of the location and comfort of the Hillwinds Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Stay at Blowing Rock

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Close to downtown, clean, neat and quiet.
Cons: A light in the alcove and repairs to the toilet.
Location: Blowing Rock is a wonderful tourist town with lots of shops and restaurants and access to Moses Cone Park.
Check in was no hassle and pleasant. Room was clean and nice. Toilet definitely had issues with not flushing properly. Alcove where coffee pot and table were located had no light at all which was a little awkward. Overall, a nice room. Continental breakfast was a nice touch and very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Apex,NC

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Drogheda,Co.Louth,Ireland

Hillwinds Inn - A Real Gem.

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Lovely quiet location with very convenient access to shops and restaurants in Blowing Rock.
Cons: Can't think of anything !!
Location: Quiet location on side street off the main street in Blowing Rock.Pretty shops,boutiques,restaurants,cafes,nice park and the Blowing Rock Centre.
My wife and I stayed here for two nights in September and really enjoyed the experience.We were taking a few days away in the mountains and chose this Inn for a variety of reasons,its lovely character,proximity to shops and restaurants in Blowing Rock and value for money.The complimentary breakfast is a very nice touch and is perfectly adequate.The Check-In staff were extremely friendly and courteous and very efficient.Also the staff at the breakfast area were very friendly and efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cary NC

clean and neat

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Its location central to the shopping areas and mountains. The lodge provided a warm comfortable area to sit and relax. It was pet friendly
Cons: see note above. The lodge could have been more handicap friendly.
Location: hiking. biking, traveling up the mountain , amusement park for children. quaint little shops nearby that provided a variety of shopping, good food
We found the Inn to be clean and neat our only recommendations was to make the bathroom more user friendly by installing shelves or places to put items needed for grooming down and installing a hook on the back of the bathroom door to hang up your clothes while you shower. My second suggesstion is to make the bathroom more handicap friendly by installing a grab bar on the tub wall . The lodge was comfortable and the area where the continenal breakfast was served was very pleasant and bright. Our room was comfortable and clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Tired hotel and non engaged staff

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: It's proximity to the downtown area
Cons: Needs a major renovation and the desk staff could use some training on customer relations and courtesy.
Location: Lots of scenic hiking
Within a minute of our arrival, we knew we did not have our reserved room and that the desk clerk really didn't care. He stated "Expedia always overbooks those rooms" and he could not fix the problem. After hiking all day and with a late arrival we had to accept the room as given. We were given a small room with 2 twin beds and a very small bathroom. The tub / shower combo was very worn, both handles leaked (I had to put a washcloth over one to keep the water from leaking over the tub edge) and the shower head was less than 6ft high. The bed was too soft and very uncomfortable for us. The wine reception mentioned in other reviews consisted of two boxed wines and some crackers on a plate. It is very clear that this hotel has seen better days and it is due for a major renovation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Colinfrom Atlanta

Fine N.C. mountain getaway choice

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have stayed at Hillwinds in Blowing Rock several times previously, and always have enjoyed it. The rooms have been redecorated and are very comfortable. The breakfast (included in the room rate) is excellent. We did not avail ourselves of the evening reception, so can't comment on that. Perhaps the best thing about Hillwinds is its location, a very short walk to Main Street and adjacent to an excellent restaurant (Blowing Rock Grille, not affiliated with Hillwinds).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: location, breakfast, wine hour, price
Cons: cooler AC and a hot breakfast would have been great
Location: lots of food, shopping, parks, and more within close walking distance
We got upgraded and enjoyed our stay great location right in blowing rock. The AC in our room took a while to get working but everything else was great and I thought it was a great deal.