Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by laurie from concord nc

super great service!

Posted May 26, 2014
a spur of the moment trip. were really excited about a pool to swim in. once we got to the hotel, we found that the pool was being serviced and was closed. the front desk help noticed our disappointment and called a neighboring hotel to get permission for us to swim there. he loaded us up with towels and off we went!! it is concern for guests that set this hotel above the many that i have stayed in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for your very kind remarks about our staff. I am happy to hear that our staff was sensitive to your needs and responded in such a appropriate manner. I know the pool being closed was a disappointment, I am happy to say that we anticipate opening it again the 18th or 19th of June. Please stop by the front desk on your next visit and say hello.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything I mentioned above.
Location: Location was close to town but you had to drive.
This hotel was very disappointing. The pool was closed and boarded up. The hotel itself was seedy and in need of repair and sprucing up. Towels had stains. Had to fix the curtains myself because they were falling off the window.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. I wish we had had the opportunity to correct the situations before they became problematic for you. I will disagree in the terms "boarded up" and "seedy", neither of which are accurate. Yes the pool was closed for needed reapirs prior to the summer season...hardly boarded up. Seedy is certainly overstating the condition of our facility. Please refer to the many reviews of stays in which our guests were truly happy with the service they received and the condition of the facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good value for money...

Posted May 14, 2014
the reading lights did not work, nor did the ac. however they fixed the ac.. but a let down . good value for the price... the pool was closed
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. Our pool has been under renovation recently, however, we plan on reopening on or around June 18 or 19. I am happy to hear that our maintenance department responded to your needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by unsatisfied from fl

Great Appalachian stay

Posted May 5, 2014
Clean and friendly. This was one of the best stays of our merlefest adventure. Beautiful place with a great view close to everything. Id go again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind comments. Yes, we do have a great location close to Merlefest and all the great restaurants and stores in Boone. Please allow us to host your next visit to Boone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Exeter, UK

Comfortable hotel in the Blue Ridge Mountain area.

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: It is clean and well run.
Cons: My only criticism is that it does not have a guest laundry.
Location: In Blue Ridge Mountains; skiing; Merlefest annual folk and country music festival held in nearby Wilksboro at end of April
This is the fifth time we have stayed in this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shelby from Harmony, NC

disappointing

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: the staff was very accommodating
Cons: cleaner rooms
Location: boone nc not sure of things to do we didn't have time to site see
checked in and to our surprise the pool was closed that was the main reason we choose the hotel but they let us use another hotel pool so that was ok it was about 3 miles away. then in our room we pulled the curtain closed and a pair of panties fell in the floor. then I went in the bathroom that tub had red stuff in it and the maintenance guy rubbed it and it was coming off. the staff was great and fixed everything they dropped the rate some and changed our room and helped move us. the staff was wonderful and very accommodating.
1 out of 5
by Angela from Asheboro, NC

Big disappointment

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The clerks were friendly.
Cons: The pool either needs to be fixed, or stop advertising a pool. Air fresheners. And keep up with laundry
Location: 6 miles from Tweetsie. Nearby to a very nice park for children to play at. Mystery Hill was very close. Gem Mining. A good selection of restaurants.
The hotel was very disappointing. The main reason we chose this hotel was because it advertised an indoor pool, but the pool was shut down indefinitely. When we arrived in our room, all you could hear was loud banging, hammering, sawing, ect. It was very annoying. The hallway on our floor smelled awful. I went to service desk to request a wash cloth, and was told they didn't know if there were any because most of the laundry was dirty. They had a computer for guests to use, and all they keys didn't even work on the keyboard. We were very disappointed in the hotel, and will not be staying there again. This was also our first time using expedia, so we probably will not be using it again either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by marie from beaufort, sc

Great for a ski weekend

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Nice staff. Close to the ski slopes. Enjoyed my stay Very much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for a passing through stop

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Clean rooms, staff is nice. Lots of teenagers roaming the halls late at night though.
1 out of 5
by Maria from North Carolina

Do not stay here -- Bates Motel

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: Absolutely nothing
Cons: Everything...from the dirty front door, to the lobby and whoever was working the desk -- he actually looked surprised that someone was checking in.
This hotel was terrible and not at all like the posted reviews. Upon arriving, there were mattresses in the windows, the front door and lobby was dirty. I asked the person checking us is if they were renovating and he said no. Upon entering the room, I was horrified. Mold on the ceiling in the shower, light in the bathroom flickering, sheets on the beds looked dirty and the mattresses looked worn. The curtains were falling off the hooks . I immediately went to the lobby and turned in my keys. I did not stay and would not recommend it to anyone. Expedia needs to carefully consider putting this hotel on their site. By the way -- for $20 more a night, I went to the lovely, clean LaQuinta 2 miles away.