Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Taylor House is located in a very nice setting.

Posted Apr 17, 2015
I had two rooms, one in the main house and the other in an adjacent small building. I expected the rooms to be nicer for the price. However, the staff was very nice and the country venue was appealing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Augusta, GA

NIce Getaway

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: Some of the rooms being detached from the house which was kind of nice having privacy. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff was great.
Cons: Phones in the room and contact info for issues after business hours. Not having phone service to stay in contact with our kids was an inconvenience.
Location: Location was tucked away with some nearby towns. We went to Boone for dinner which was a nice little town with lots of restaurants and shops.
Only stayed one night at the Taylor House and spent most of our time in the nearby towns. Make sure your GPS does not take you on the back roads coming in if you can avoid it, most at extremely windy and steep and are not the best for driving at night or in rainy/snowy conditions. We had babysitters for our kids and upon arrival it was frustrating that there was no cell service to stay in contact if there were any issues, but that is not the hotels fault. There is no TV or anything electronic in the rooms so we stayed out in town most of the time for entertainment. This was my and my wife's first B&B, so I cannot compare it to anything else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: heater makes cracking noise
Location: excellent
excellent location, nice people, nice everything, good breakfast, little noisy heating
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte nc

Not Recommended I walked out

Posted Jan 29, 2015
My room was detached from main building. it looked like one of storage unit from home depot. Very old building & funny smell all over. i had to walk out and find other hotel near there. Staff were so rude. This really messed up my family ski trip. Not recommended! I will never book unknown motel ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Danny

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jennyfrom Winston

Love it!!

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
The Hosts are fabulous! The house is a lovely historic home with so much character and charm. There is hot tea and hot cocoa available 24/7 (which was fantastic in the cold wintry weather), and breakfast is delicious! I highly recommend this B&B and I'm already planning my next trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Location: It feels far from everything, but Boone, Banner Elk, Linville are only 15 minutes away.
The innkeeper will call ahead to reserve a table for you for dinner. Awesome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Danfrom Florida

Quiet Retreat

Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice, relaxing and quiet. Perfect for my wife and I to get away from our busy lives. Bernard and Tessa were wonderful hosts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vincentiusfrom Taylors, SC

Great place with fantastic hospitality

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Taylor House Inn is located in a very nicely decorated house. The owners are friendly and the breakfast was excellent. The Inn is very close to outdoor activities and there is a nice restaurant around the corner. Next to this restaurant is the first Mast General Store in an authentic building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Historic House in a beautiful setting
Cons: Better pillows
Tessa prepared gourmet breakfast, using old German family recipes. Loved our hosts, Bernard and Tessa. They couldn't do more to meet our every need.