Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louisville,ky

great, small, quaint, homemade breakfast.

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: uniquely charming
Cons: nothing
Location: Portland trolley tour
recently remodeled, quiet, great bed, suite had everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RI

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Nice hotel, room was a little small, but very clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Oct 6, 2014
My wife and I spent one night here on an anniversary trip to Maine. We could have stayed for the entire trip. Everything was first class. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations for dining, attractions, shopping, etc. continental breakfast is great...several homemade (really) pastries and coffee cakes. Truly a great stay in the freeport/brunswick area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Walking distance to restaurants in Brunswick, an easy drive to Portland, private hot tub.
Cons: Our room faced the highway and was a little noisy, though it got quieter at night.
Location: Gelato fiasco!
We stayed here for an end-of-summer weekend getaway, and had a lovely experience. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was nice. The private hot tub and sauna were a great perk. Overall, a fantastic experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tilghman, MD

the DANIEL delivers!

Posted Aug 14, 2014
When we decided to head for Maine with little time for advance reservations, I took to the Internet, and settled on trying this place after looking at some reviews. We were very pleased to discover The Daniel. Apparently at one time, this was THE hotel in Brunswick. We were treated like family in the recently restored hotel. They have thought of everything and we will be going back! Great service from staff, comfy room, nice linen, good breakfast, bright and airy public areas. Go Daniel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joel from Rocky Mount, NC

Wonderful people and facilities

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: The rooms were immaculate and the staff went above and beyond to be helpful and friendly.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The theater on Bowdoin College campus features national theater troupes, very entertaining. Cote's Ice Cream at Bowdoin College was excellent.
Having booked through Expedia, we were not denigrated for using Expedia like the other motels we stayed at in Bar Harbor or Kennebunkport. The rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. The staff went above and beyond to be friendly and helpful. I HIGHLY recommend this motel for anyone in the Brunswick, Maine area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Scootermini from Dutchess County, NY

Lovely hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
VERY clean, with helpful staff , good food and a very comfy bed. What more can you ask in a hotel? Also, they have a private hot tub and sauna--wow!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gussy

Convenient and elegant

Posted May 25, 2014
Cons: There could be more convenient tables in the lobby at which to eat breakfast.
Location: Farmers' market twice a week - Bowdoin College - interesting shops - swinging bridge across the Androscoggin River - antique houses -
Since I wanted to check out Brunswick for a possible move, I chose the Daniel because it was within walking distance of Maine Street, and included a Continental breakfast in the rate. Good choice! The room was delightful, with a bed that "looked like it belonged in a palace" according to my visiting granddaughter and sparkly clean. The breakfast was really good - yogurt, fruit, muffins etc. served in the lobby. A nice touch was the carafe of lemon-infused water always available on a side table. Would I recommend the Daniel? Absolutely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

great

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved it! it was charming, historic and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by fajon from france

very pleasant

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We spent a very good evening and diner in this hotel. We had two rooms, on different floors. The rooms are comfortable, well furnished and decorated. The diner was excellent and the service is nice. The overall atmosphere of this old building in a good shape, is pleasant especially after many nights stayed in modern all alike hotels. Only the breakfast was not as well as expected.