Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joel from Rocky Mount, NC

Wonderful people and facilities

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: The rooms were immaculate and the staff went above and beyond to be helpful and friendly.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The theater on Bowdoin College campus features national theater troupes, very entertaining. Cote's Ice Cream at Bowdoin College was excellent.
Having booked through Expedia, we were not denigrated for using Expedia like the other motels we stayed at in Bar Harbor or Kennebunkport. The rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. The staff went above and beyond to be friendly and helpful. I HIGHLY recommend this motel for anyone in the Brunswick, Maine area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gussy

Convenient and elegant

Posted May 25, 2014
Cons: There could be more convenient tables in the lobby at which to eat breakfast.
Location: Farmers' market twice a week - Bowdoin College - interesting shops - swinging bridge across the Androscoggin River - antique houses -
Since I wanted to check out Brunswick for a possible move, I chose the Daniel because it was within walking distance of Maine Street, and included a Continental breakfast in the rate. Good choice! The room was delightful, with a bed that "looked like it belonged in a palace" according to my visiting granddaughter and sparkly clean. The breakfast was really good - yogurt, fruit, muffins etc. served in the lobby. A nice touch was the carafe of lemon-infused water always available on a side table. Would I recommend the Daniel? Absolutely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Margarita from Somerville MA

Perfect for a high-end cyclo-tourism weekend!

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: The staff, the in-room refrigerator including a small freezer, the quietness, the location.
Cons: A bigger and a bit more formal breakfast? Having washing machines available (at a fee) for guests use.
Location: Bycicle path to Portand, Sea Dog Brewery, Arctic Museum.
The Daniel far exceeded my expectations. The staff was incredibly professional from the very start, and eager to go the extra mile to help guests and make their stays as confortable as possible. The rooms are very confortable. The view of the river (and the Sea Dog brewery across the rapids is impressive, as are the early morning sounds -- woodpeckers, water rolling, other birds). The hotel has a cozy bar/restaurant with many reasonably priced items. For those controlling their weight or their wallet, however. e, a nice vending are has been set up with a microwave and some nice frozen entrees. Each room has a refrigerator and a nice coffee machine. The location is perfect, at the start of the cycling/walking path along the Androscogin river going towards Bath. It feels secluded and private,yet it is only a 5-minute walk to the center of Main Street, and a 8-minute walk to the Sea Dog brewery, which is also highly recommended. The hotel only offers a small continental breakfast, but the items (most made in-house by the chef) are delicious. A wonderful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cate from Coventry, CT

Recently remodeled

Posted Apr 20, 2014
The people work hard and are more than willing to offer any assistance to improve your experience! The rooms are spotless and the beds are comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Patti from Connecticut

Excellent stay

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed every minute of our stay at the Captain Daniel Stone Inn. The front desk help was sincere and helpful. The property very clean and the room comfortable. We enjoyed the hot tub and sauna; and I used the gym. We will certainly look to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by nancyb from durham, NH

A comfortable stay

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
I had a very comfortablel stay at Captain Daniel Stone Inn. The only issue was a little bit of highway and heating noise. Other than that, the room and hotel were very clean. The employees were couteous and pleasant. The continental breakfast was also good. The only suggestion is that they provide both coffee and tea options for the Keureg coffee makers in the rooms. THey do have tea at the lobby Kerureg table. I am certain if I called the front desk someone would have run some right up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jonathan from Wickenburg, AZ

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Captain Daniel Stone Inn. Beautiful, very clean room. It's a place that we would go to again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Phil

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Good Value

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our room was spacious and clean. We were only there one night traveling through to home. We particularly enjoyed the happy hour specials and the comfortable chairs in front of the fireplace in the bar area, as well as the wonderful cookies on arrival!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Robert jordan from Powder Springs

Bob

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
What an enjoyable stay. Everything was upscale and beautiful. Breakfast was superb--organic and healthly.