Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom louisville,ky

great, small, quaint, homemade breakfast.

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: uniquely charming
Cons: nothing
Location: Portland trolley tour
recently remodeled, quiet, great bed, suite had everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom RI

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Nice hotel, room was a little small, but very clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Oct 6, 2014
My wife and I spent one night here on an anniversary trip to Maine. We could have stayed for the entire trip. Everything was first class. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations for dining, attractions, shopping, etc. continental breakfast is great...several homemade (really) pastries and coffee cakes. Truly a great stay in the freeport/brunswick area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Great hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Walking distance to restaurants in Brunswick, an easy drive to Portland, private hot tub.
Cons: Our room faced the highway and was a little noisy, though it got quieter at night.
Location: Gelato fiasco!
We stayed here for an end-of-summer weekend getaway, and had a lovely experience. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was nice. The private hot tub and sauna were a great perk. Overall, a fantastic experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay in Bruswick

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steve Malnickfrom Brunswich, ME

Ok, but not worth $200 a night

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
First, there was no chest of drawers in the rooms, so you have to live out of a suitcase. No built in air conditioners so they have portable ones vented into the window. Abysmal water pressure. Room was clean as was hotel. Would I stay again? probably not, especially at $200 per night for a small, queen sized bed. Much better value at a Courtyard or similar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David Plourdefrom corinth me

nice but not cheap

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is an older hotel that has been updated. Overall room was very clean and nice. Not sure it was worth all the money but if I could get a very good deal I would probably try again but not at regular pricing. The included breakfast is basic continental with boiled eggs, cold cuts and cheese as an option. within walking distance to main st of Brunswick.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tilghman, MD

the DANIEL delivers!

Posted Aug 14, 2014
When we decided to head for Maine with little time for advance reservations, I took to the Internet, and settled on trying this place after looking at some reviews. We were very pleased to discover The Daniel. Apparently at one time, this was THE hotel in Brunswick. We were treated like family in the recently restored hotel. They have thought of everything and we will be going back! Great service from staff, comfy room, nice linen, good breakfast, bright and airy public areas. Go Daniel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sean Merrittfrom Boston, MA

Shun the chain Hotels

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a pleasant surprise. The restaurant was excellent as was the continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Robinfrom Pattingham

Nice Hotel - Shame about the breakfast

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Daniel is a very nice hotel situated just off the main street in Brunswick. My stay was very comfortable except for a strange smell of each time I entered the room which I believe comes from it being situated over the kitchens. The breakfast was disappointing. This was not because of the quality of the food available but the extremely limited range of items available. For a continental breakfast to offer no breads at all is unusual, so is the concept of providing meat but no fork to eat it with. Strange.