Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VT

Posted Jul 11, 2014
3 rd floor room, stairs were a real problem. Steep with small treads. Very difficult getting our luggage up
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Easy going, relaxed atmosphere.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Clean, liked the library in entry and the ease of travel around the area.
Cons: Stairs but good luck!
Location: Very close to main part of town but not in the hub bub.
The breakfasts were fabulous and the crew was very accommodating. Once the rain disappeared it was wonderful sitting outside under the trees and eating breakfast. We ate dinner elsewhere so no news on that front. Owner was a happy guy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Stay

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: You feel independent. People are there when needed but otherwise invisible.
Cons: nothing
Location: excellent
Quiet, comfortable and nobody bothers you. Nobody fauns over you. Guests are on their own and feel independent. Food is excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Would stay elsewhere.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: The breakfast and food staff were good. Note: You have to make your way into the attached tavern to get breakfast. The B&B dining room was not stay
Cons: Everything needs improvement.
Location: Boothbay Harbor shops offer unique and interesting shopping. Excellent food choices are available. The Maine Botanical Gardens located nearby.
We stayed at several B&B's on a trip along the Maine coastline. This was our only disappointment. Our reception was non existent. We stayed 2 nights. The Inn smells unpleasant. Our original room on the third floor was an embarrassment and should not be offered for occupancy. Luckily on our 2nd night a staff member allowed us to switch to a second floor room which which offered necessities such as light, ventilation and usable furniture. The computer for guest use is non existent. The coffee area was ill equipped and dirty. The breakfast was good. Typical snacks and beverages usually available at B&B's were not available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, fl

Posted May 17, 2014
Nice, friendly place with an excellent restaurant!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Single Female Traveler from Providence, RI

Cozy respite from snowy, cold evening

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I arrived at the Thistle Inn after a long day of travel and was warmly greeted and shown my first floor room. It was much more spacious than anticipated, nicely appointed with a big bathroom and was warm and cozy. My host directed me to two open restaurants in the village and advised about not walking on the roads due to icy conditions. Coffee and snacks were available, but breakfast is not served here during the winter months. Overall, it was a warm and cozy respite from a blistery day.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Aeschlima from Flanders, NY

Don't visit in Winter!

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
On arrival we received the keys for the room and that was it. No breakfast in winter and no information where to get a cup of Coffee in the morning. We went to the room and it was cold. 63degrees F, and cold base boards. We asked the owner to do something about it, which he promised to do. The temp went down to 62F overnight and the baseboards stayed cold. He seems to be interested in cashing in the prepayments and then tough luck!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Danni from Australia

Cute inn, great little town

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Charming room
Cons: Service and cleaning hall carpets
Location: Fabulous seafood, charming village, beautiful setting, quirky and elegant shops, great book store, lovely little inns and picturesque harbor
A charming room, albeit a little noisy in the evening when patrons leave (there is a restaurant and bar downstairs.) A cursory meeting with the owner(?) who spent approximately 2 minutes with us and wasn't seen again after giving instructions where to leave the key when we checked out. We arrived for breakfast just before 9.00 and were told by the waitress that the chef may have finished. Fortunately, for us, he was still there. As there were only 1 other couple there just finishing up, and we had been told 9.30 we were surprised. We were not offered cereal, fruit etc but the eggs and pancakes were great. Service disappointing but still a charming place to stay- and the town itself is delightful
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Even though their website promised breakfast none was available after Columbus Day. Places they suggested were not open. We drove 30 miles for breakfast on Sunday. Ice only available sketchy hours between 10 am and 3 pm or so. When their restaurant was open no parking for guest residents if you ate other than their place. All in all one of the worst places we have ever stayed. Had to take water from our bathroom and down 2 sets of steep narrow stairs to make coffee and use yuk coffee mate as cream
3 out of 5
Recommended
by nice

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com