Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Single Female Traveler from Providence, RI

Cozy respite from snowy, cold evening

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I arrived at the Thistle Inn after a long day of travel and was warmly greeted and shown my first floor room. It was much more spacious than anticipated, nicely appointed with a big bathroom and was warm and cozy. My host directed me to two open restaurants in the village and advised about not walking on the roads due to icy conditions. Coffee and snacks were available, but breakfast is not served here during the winter months. Overall, it was a warm and cozy respite from a blistery day.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Aeschlima from Flanders, NY

Don't visit in Winter!

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
On arrival we received the keys for the room and that was it. No breakfast in winter and no information where to get a cup of Coffee in the morning. We went to the room and it was cold. 63degrees F, and cold base boards. We asked the owner to do something about it, which he promised to do. The temp went down to 62F overnight and the baseboards stayed cold. He seems to be interested in cashing in the prepayments and then tough luck!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Danni from Australia

Cute inn, great little town

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Charming room
Cons: Service and cleaning hall carpets
Location: Fabulous seafood, charming village, beautiful setting, quirky and elegant shops, great book store, lovely little inns and picturesque harbor
A charming room, albeit a little noisy in the evening when patrons leave (there is a restaurant and bar downstairs.) A cursory meeting with the owner(?) who spent approximately 2 minutes with us and wasn't seen again after giving instructions where to leave the key when we checked out. We arrived for breakfast just before 9.00 and were told by the waitress that the chef may have finished. Fortunately, for us, he was still there. As there were only 1 other couple there just finishing up, and we had been told 9.30 we were surprised. We were not offered cereal, fruit etc but the eggs and pancakes were great. Service disappointing but still a charming place to stay- and the town itself is delightful
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Even though their website promised breakfast none was available after Columbus Day. Places they suggested were not open. We drove 30 miles for breakfast on Sunday. Ice only available sketchy hours between 10 am and 3 pm or so. When their restaurant was open no parking for guest residents if you ate other than their place. All in all one of the worst places we have ever stayed. Had to take water from our bathroom and down 2 sets of steep narrow stairs to make coffee and use yuk coffee mate as cream
3 out of 5
Recommended
by nice

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynn

1st trip to Maine & 1st B&B

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Pros: Quaint old building with character
Location: Coastal Maine Botanical Garden is not to be missed. Boat trips out in harbor also a must.
Great location. Easy walking to town center in Boothbay Harbor. Lovely porch for outdoor reading. Victory Chimes (downstairs) has the advantage of being on the first floor and having a large bathroom, but also the disadvantage of being less private. Pub and restaurant are quaint and food is wonderful. Omelettes and pancakes were both great. Sometimes hard to find someone to get coffee or ice...assuming because it was off season an ony a few rooms were filled.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave & Jean from Erie, PA

Great location, convenient to everything

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: convenient location...just a few blocks from the village center
Cons: can't think of anything...everything was fine
Location: Many excellent seafood restaurants....cruises on the bay and also whale watcing from 12 miles out to sea.
Boothbay Harbor is a lobster fishing center and a tourist attraction for whale watching. The Thistle Inn exudes old world charm having been built inn 1850. Our breakfasts were wonderful and made-to-order. The room spacious and very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful area! We were able to walk to all of the attractions and restaurants. The food and shopping were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Lovely B&B with a great breaktast

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was our second trip to Boothbay Harbor, and the Thistle Inn will be our home there when we visit again! The hotel is charming and includes its own bar/restaurant. The service is very good. Breakfast was included, made to order, and it was really great. Perfectly cooked omelettes! The rooms vary in size, but 3 of them are on the third floor up a steep and skinny staircase, so make sure to book on a lower floor if the stairs are a problem. Our room was clean with a nice layout and a large bathroom. The staff was very accommodating, our friends had booked for the wrong day, but a room was available and the arrangements were made very quickly. It's a short walk (5 minutes or less) to the harbor area. Highly Recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend in Booth Bay

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Very nice old hotel, easy and nice walk to center of town. Rooms were clean and good for the age of the house. Didn't get a change to eat a the hotel restaurant, however, we did spot a few locals there when we returned Saturday evening, which I think is a good sign! All in all, we would stay there again.