Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Val from San Francisco

Fantastic location

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Cons: We had to ask about transportation information and it would be helpful if they offered to make arrangements when they receive the reservation.
Location: It is not easy to get to the island (motu) but it is worth the effort.
We loved the hotel and especially the service. Magdalena was wonderful and made us feel so welcome even though we spoke very little French. The location is amazing with a drop dead view of Bora Bora.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by gumis from leeds

Great view

Posted Nov 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a great time but mostly we spend time out of the hotel. There was a lot of power cuts during our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mixed Review

Posted Oct 18, 2011 on Hotels.com
Eden Beach Hotel is a family owned business that felt like a bed and breakfast. It's a small resort with about 6 bungalows that were in use. The bungalows in the back were under renovation during our visit. Positives: - Picturesque Location. This hotel is situated on a motu with a beautiful view of Mount Otemanu and the Bora Bora lagoon. It is very scenic, private, and quiet. I loved the view we had just sitting out on the beach. The view is really unbeatable. They also have a cute little pool facing the mountain and the lagoon. Hotel grounds are well landscaped and well kept. - Access to both the lagoon and the Pacific Ocean. We like to explore on foot and we only had to walk a few minutes to the back side of the motu to see the Pacific Ocean and its roaring waves. I don't think we would've been able to see the ocean if we stayed at the other resorts on the main island. - Warm welcome and thorough orientation to the hotel. The owner Vlad poured us juice and provided us with a lot of info about his hotel and its services (free kayaking, free ride to go snorkeling). They put out mosquito repellents at the front desk which guests can use. - Owner and his wife spoke English in addition to French. So we got along fine there even though we don't speak French. - Good food for dinner and generally with their warm plates. Food prices seem comparable to the big hotels on the island. However, alcohol prices seem expensive. Negatives: - Inconsistent Service. Given that this is a small family-run resort, you're dealing with the same people for your entire stay. The quality of our service seems to correlate with our spending at the resort. Service wasn't so great when we weren't spending money there. The owner checks in with you multiple times a day to see if you want something to eat/drink. I can see how some would appreciate that service, but it felt too in-the-face for us. We prefer to be left alone and approach the staff when we need something. There were also times where I felt like I was imposing on the owner, having to go to him for everything (bookings, rides to the main island). Although the owner expresses willingness to help us with our bookings, we had to keep checking back with him to make sure it was taken care of. When he made a mistake with one of our reservations, he was reluctant to call back to rebook. Other times he was apologetic for things. So service was unpredictable. At times we felt like a bother or an inconvenience to the owner, which was unpleasant. - Service costs add up quickly. We booked this hotel as a "budget hotel" in Bora Bora. However at the time of the booking, we weren't aware that it would cost us extra for transport from the airport to the hotel. I see that the major resorts have boats that pick up the guests directly at the airport. Eden Beach Hotel charges 3000CFP/person for a one way ride to/from the airport. The other option is to ride the free shuttle from the airport to Vaitape, take a taxi to Anau (3000CPF for the ride), and arrange for free hotel pickup from the Anau public dock. The hotel also offers free shuttles to Anau at set times each day. Other than that, you have to pay per ride to get to Vaitape, Matira, or Anau if it is after 6pm. So at the end, it's hard to tell if we saved money staying here or if we ended up spending more on the extra costs. The hotel website lists rates for all their services. - As beautiful as the hotel grounds are, this hotel is also far away from town. It can be a hassle having to arrange for a ride to the main island each time. While many restaurants offer free pick-up and drop-off, they only do so on the main island. So you'll have to make arrangements and pay for a ride to/back from the hotel if you go out for dinner. - While our bungalow looked clean, we found a cockroach looking bug in our bed sheets upon our arrival. There were also some ants in the room, but we've learned to co-exist with ants when we visit the South Pacific Islands, so that wasn't a big deal. - Low water pressure in the shower. Bathroom only came with a soap bar, so be sure to bring your own shampoo, conditioner, and other toiletries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Porto Alegre, Brazil

VERY NICE PLACE, VERY NICE STAFF, VERY NICE FOOD

Posted Mar 31, 2011
I really enjoyed staying in Eden Beah Hotel. The owner and his family provide a especial environment and offer more than expected: a friendly relationship! It was like a "homestay" experience. The surrounding nature is amazing, with the lagoon in the front and the open sea in the back. And don't miss to try the all Vlada's cooking abilities!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2010 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from NYC

secret paradise on motu/great prices

Posted Sep 9, 2008
I had an enchanting stay with my best friend. Owner Vlad made our stay with lots of friendly coffee and helpfullness. Its a beyond beautiful setting facing the volcanic mountains of bora bora that can't be improved on . You swim ,kayak,sleep all so wonderful,yes there are some bugs,very manageable though. For that eco tourist who wants away from the package tourist and have a little bit a heaven,I strongly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Amazing Honeymoon in Paradise!!

Posted Aug 15, 2008
We had a wonderful time on our honeymoon at the Eden Beach. The owner picked us up in a small boat from the airport. When we arrived at the Eden Beach there were two other couples staying there. It is a small resort, it is similar to a "Bed and Breakfast". The owner cooked our meals and they were delicious! We were upgraded from a garden bungalow to a beach front bungalow. The rooms were clean and nice, however they are simple bamboo huts. They do not have T.V.'s or air conditioning, however we did not miss it at all. The view is amazing of the mountain and the water is clear blue. There are activities the owner can arrange or you can just sit back and relax. Some of the activities the owner arranged for us were: renting a boat, renting bikes, kayaking, and snorkeling. This is a great place to stay for the value. It is beautiful and peaceful. We were impressed with the exceptional friendly service we received. We would recommend the Eden Beach Hotel. We had a great time and would love to go back one day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Good Value

Posted Aug 24, 2007
Hotel is run by a family (of Czech descent, interestingly), so don't expect a large staff waiting on your every whim. Hotel is very small and secluded -- only 16 bungalows. Only had 5 to 6 of them full when we were there. Bungalows are nice and eco friendly but not 'lap of luxury'. Expect to eat most of your meals at the hotel as eating elsewhere requires a boat trip (which costs money). Food is very good. If you want privacy and are willing to run on island time, this hotel is a very good value compared to some of the big name chains.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Beautiful & Off beat

Posted Jul 11, 2007
If you prefer a personalized B& B type experience with one of the island's best views, do stay at Eden Beach. This is a family run place with all the quirks that can apply and we loved it. Our hosts were accomodating and interesting, the other guests were the sort of friendly folk who shared our aversion to "corporate" holiday facilities, and the view of Bora Bora is sublime. While there's a fine restaurant and bar, you do need to get a boat ride to do anything other than kayak, read, walk or lay in the hammock - which suited us just fine.