Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Annie from Sydney

Fabulous

Posted Jan 3, 2013
Pros: The setting
Location: Heaven
Everything about this resort was perfect. The staff go above and beyond and are genuinely caring and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect place for longer stays in Bora Bora

Posted Nov 26, 2012
Pros: the location and depth of the water for overwater bungalows
Cons: nothing really
Location: perfect spot! just a couple minutes walk to several shops and restaurants (we stayed on beach/main side, not private island which is more remote).
Great hotel, great staff & ideal location if you're going to be in Bora Bora more than just a few days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John

Bora Bora Paradise

Posted Nov 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
The overwater bungalows are fanatastic here. The private outdoor sunning deck and ocean level swimming entry with fresh water shower is very convenient. Be sure to try and get the outer most bungalows on the property; the privacy is better. Don't miss all the ocean snorkeling...we even saw several stingrays swim by our bungalow.
2 out of 5
by George from Sydney NSW, Australia

Dissapointed Honeymoon

Posted Nov 4, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff
We stayed there for our honeymoon in March 2012. We were really tired from our extremely long journey as we had to wait an entire night at Papeete airport to wait for our connecting flight to Bora Bora and when we arrived, we had to listen to a long hard sell presentation by Anita. The room was really dissaponting and we had to endure our entire stay there with cold showers. We had the local show with dinner one night and the food was terrible. i noticed that lots of table did not even bother with eating their main courses. The manager was busy entertaining himself and his staff and were having meals just beside our tables. This is the first first class hotel that I have been to that the manager and staff is eating and drinking wine just beside the guest tables. I asked for my bill bout 7 times (I counted) and after several promises, I just walked over to the counter and paid my bill. The reception was even worse as they seem annoyed when we try to ask them any questions. The french lady working there was nice and very helpful but the local receptionists need to look at their attitude and realise that they are in the guest related industry and not the other way around. Other staff were very nice like the lady who greeted us at the airport, the guy who carried our bags, etc. I called reception a few times enquiring on how to connect my internet and the voice tone was not "nice" as I got the feeling that I was intruding on her other jobs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Todd from australia

Beautiful place, wonderful experience

Posted Oct 9, 2012
Pros: many
Location: Close to the public beach and there is a small general store nearby. The back of Sofitel's private island is one of the favorite snorkeling sites.
We spent 4 nights at Sofitel of Bora Bora and really enjoyed our stay there. The staffs are nice and the management is working hard to make the guests happy. We liked the dinner and dance party night (free!) and it's a very pleasant experience to row the hotel-provided boat on the most beautiful water in the world. We'll definitely go there again.
2 out of 5
by Pedro

To avoid

Posted Aug 15, 2012
Pros: Most of the staff, the location
Cons: The Host, the Room (facing other bungalows), the tendency to overcharge everything, they did not respect my booking terms until I complained;
Location: Ok location unless you stay in Motu part of the Hotel - 10 USD charged to come back to the main island!!!
Chose a overwater Bungalow but... though "on water" it faced the other Bungalows instead of the bay: bad design of the rooms, this is the case for about 2/3 of the Bungalows; allocated a type of room I did not book; extremely expensive for what it offers, they charge the unchargable (example, in a 50 USD burger you still have to ask and pay extra 10 USD for the fries; 10 USD for a 5m Boat ride to the small island in front belonging to the same Hotel!); the staff was very pleasant (most all women the "Mommy type") but the "Master of Cerimonies" was a Fellini Movie-type of man, very loud and "populist" in his style, activities belonging more in a Highway 66 Motel than a Honeymoon resort in Bora Bora!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Overall experience

Posted Jul 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
I was told that I wasn't able to get a hot shower but a lukewarm shower because of the way the overwater bungalows were designed with solar energy, but when I asked another couple staying on the private island they told me they had hot water all the time in their overwater bungalow. The term "nickel and dimming" came to mind when they charged for Internet usage by the hour. I would not suggest breakfast plan because it was the same food every morning and the food quality was extremely poor. The scenery was beautiful until you exit the resort, then you feel the 3rd world country effect. It also didn't help that the resort is next to a local water spot that local kids were swimming and playing extremely loud music from their vehicles. The staff was helpful in booking restaurants to eat and arranging transport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Monument, CO

Bora Bora for rest and relaxation

Posted Nov 29, 2011
We spent a week on the island of Bora Bora. The overwater bungalow was well worth the extra money. We stayed in the Sofitel Motu Private Island, which was off the main island and a short boat ride away from the main Sofitel resort. We considered the boat rides back and forth part of the unforgettable experience. We are already looking at when we can go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from São Paulo, SP

Beautiful islet

Posted Nov 16, 2011
Amazing islet. Fantastic sunset view. Very good hotel. I stayed at overwater bungalow and they are in a very good condition. Breakfast is great. Dinner could be better. You have a boat available from 7am to 22pm to take guest from the islet to island, every 15min, for free. So do not think you will be isolated or spend hundred of dollars with boats.