Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, wonderful staff.

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Between the sister resort which is a private island and coral reef garden close by a quick kayak ride away. This was a great resort for those couples looking for adventure and fun. Hotel and entertainment staff are the friendliest and nicest people. I recommend renting a bicycle for a week to explore the island to meet locals and do shopping in town. Taxis are readily available too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Don't expect excellent customer service. Our air conditioning and TV didn't work and we called 3 times. They never came to fix it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Very expensive hotel with very average service

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Day pass to island.
Cons: Staff motivation. Too much talk on mobile phones while at work
Location: Good location, near town. Enjoyed cycle ride around island.
Too many staff with not enough to do. Beach staff poor. Beach kayaks poor condition. No single kayaks. Visit to Island was magnificent but double kayak was unstable so we did not use it. Other couple did and fell out!. Reception staff very helpful. Baristas helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Reneefrom San Martin, CA

Try Somewhere Else

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was just okay. We stayed in a beach bungalow facing the beach. It felt a like glamping. The room was dated and had a horrible smell (like a strong paint or shallac). We were there for 3 nights and it never went away. The restaurant served buffets most nights, which were just okay. The breakfast buffets were good. There aren't other restaurant options outside of bar food or going across to the private island, which was expensive and not that great. We wished we stayed somewhere else. The only plus was it was close to a little market. Given our limited food choices, we ended up buying food. Outside of the concierge, the staff wasn't that friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful stay!

Posted Nov 10, 2014
I spent one amazing week in this Hotel. They offer a great price and the hotel is great. Also, the staff was very nice. I totally recommend this.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Switzerland

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Too expensive for what it is. Garden bungalows noisy, at the street, no maintenance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Worst hotel I have stayed in in a number of years!

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Just about everything needed improvement. I did not find any of these issues at the Intercontinental in Tahiti or Moorea.
Dinner the first night was disappointing as we had to be moved as someone else had apparently already been allocated this table. We could not see the show from where we sat. Food quality was appalling. One lunch time at the bar my daughter's dinner arrived after mine was completely finished. We were charged twice for transfers and no reimbursement for their mistake. I also did not like sharing the pool with a large number of local children as I was there for a holiday away from children. Overall very disappointing and \I would not recommend anybody to stay at this hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Erikfrom Hawaii

Bad on almost all levels

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you want over the top snobbiness, overpriced bad food, and an "over-water bungalow" that's likely smack next to someone else or facing the restaurant, than this is your place! As soon as we arrived, we were given a pointless "tour" around the small resort, which turned out to be more of an effort to sell us pearls and waste some time since we had to wait for our room for 3 hours. When we finally were shown to our bungalow, it was in an awful spot facing the restaurant and pool area (about 20 feet away); so much for any privacy on our honeymoon. After complaining rather persistently (and them telling us "the resort was full", which was so ridiculously untrue we couldn't even justify it with a response), they tried to sell us on a bungalow at the "private island" for an additional $300 per night. We refused and threatened writing a bad review. Suddenly, a bungalow with a better located magically appeared and we stayed there. Not a relaxing start or good first impression. The restaurants were both lousy and WAY overpriced. We had a burger and fries (as in literally about 4 French fries on the plate) for lunch and it was extremely tasteless and bland. We thought maybe dinner would be better but $130 got us some tasteless lasagna (ever hear of seasoning?!?) with undercooked eggplant to the point that it was literally crunchy. Snorkeling was no better- there was literally ZERO fish in the water. It seems this resort destroyed all the coral when building it (as we were told later by the guide on a tour) and the hundreds of concrete pillars driven into the reef have let nothing survive. For a so-called "luxury resort", the place is in poor condition. The fences along the pathway are broken and the wood is rotten. We were so happy that we weren't there long. We went to Mai Tai Polynesia down the street and got a nice room with an ocean view for 1/3 the price and it was a much more "real" experience. If you want an over-water bungalow there are much better choices- and they aren't $700 per night like Sofitel. This resort is extremely pretentious and overrated. We enjoyed the Hawaiki Nui on Raiatea much more and the over-water bungalow we stayed at there had fish in the water, privacy, and great views. On a side note, Rairatea is a much nicer island than Bora Bora as well- and not as overpriced. Obviously, we would never stay at Sofitel again, even if they offered it to us for free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Overwater bungalow without the excessive price

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: There really wasn't anything I didn't like.
Cons: They could stream line the checking in process a little better on communication between the staff and house keeping as to room readiness.
Location: It is a very convenient location to a couple of markets where you can buy things to make sandwiches and other things to save money.
We had a very pleasant stay at the Sofitel Marara in Bora Bora. The price was less than some of the higher end places like St. Regis and Intercontinental, and I could not see that those were any better. We stayed in Bungalows # 56 and then moved to 58, and we were right over the water with our own steps down to the lagoon. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Our friends also thought their bed was very comfortable. We had an issue with not getting into our room until 3pm, but they gave us each a free drink to help with the waiting :-) The grounds are lush and beautiful.