Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Too expensive for what it is. Garden bungalows noisy, at the street, no maintenance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Worst hotel I have stayed in in a number of years!

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Just about everything needed improvement. I did not find any of these issues at the Intercontinental in Tahiti or Moorea.
Dinner the first night was disappointing as we had to be moved as someone else had apparently already been allocated this table. We could not see the show from where we sat. Food quality was appalling. One lunch time at the bar my daughter's dinner arrived after mine was completely finished. We were charged twice for transfers and no reimbursement for their mistake. I also did not like sharing the pool with a large number of local children as I was there for a holiday away from children. Overall very disappointing and \I would not recommend anybody to stay at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Overwater bungalow without the excessive price

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: There really wasn't anything I didn't like.
Cons: They could stream line the checking in process a little better on communication between the staff and house keeping as to room readiness.
Location: It is a very convenient location to a couple of markets where you can buy things to make sandwiches and other things to save money.
We had a very pleasant stay at the Sofitel Marara in Bora Bora. The price was less than some of the higher end places like St. Regis and Intercontinental, and I could not see that those were any better. We stayed in Bungalows # 56 and then moved to 58, and we were right over the water with our own steps down to the lagoon. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Our friends also thought their bed was very comfortable. We had an issue with not getting into our room until 3pm, but they gave us each a free drink to help with the waiting :-) The grounds are lush and beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Awesome, very beautiful and relax ing

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Great honeymoon, everything was perfect, beach, water, locals, just awesome
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your great ewperience with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from texas

Only one inconvenience

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Disclose shuttle charge to and from airport and it's just too pricey to eat/drink at hotel
Location: Swim with sharks sting rays
Everything was spectacular!!! Only thing I dislike is hotel wanting to charge $215 for boat shuttle to airport and not disclosing such charge until checkout
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014
Thank you for your great 5 stars comment ! our boat shuttle is available from the airport located up north of Bora Bora 20 mn away from Sofitel wich is at Matira Bay in the south. It is a 20 mn drive one way the cost is 151 usd for two round trip and for an amazing exeprience on the lagoon of Bora Bora. Tahnk you for your stay with us!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice Hotel direct on the Beach ( main island :) )

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: that it was in Bora Bora
Cons: more / better house keeping personal
Location: near by supermarket , good Pizza place ( cheap and good )
The cleaning was terrible . the cleaning was never before noon most likely between 2 -3:30 pm :( also the cleaning was super bad . The mugs get never cleaned the coffee pulver etc. got never refilled and if you asked the lady want to give you one bag in the hand ??? so beside this the Hotel is ok
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments. what you exeprienced regarding your room is far away from our usual standards and i really apologize for what happened! This is really important to have this information, i wish i could have it directly on site to take immediate action. overall you had a great time with us, thank you so much for choosing us for your stay at Bora Bora
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Crescenta, CA

Great hotel for the price.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Had a luxury garden view bungalow. Gorgeous view of the beach. Patio was inches from the sand! The little market was a five minute walk. It was a great way to save money, make a picnic, or have an in-room cocktail. Highly recommend kayaking to the reef.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014
Thank you for your comment and details regarding the informations!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Great Honeymoon Experience

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Great location on the main island, close to beaches. Hotel itself a bit outdated but it still was lovely. Staff was very helpful and great. Food was amazing, weather was really good, except rain one day. Great place to Honeymoon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your magnifique experience with us at Sofitel Marara Beach Resort at Bora Bora! all the staff (our ambassadors" join me to tell you how anjoyable it was to have you with us for your holidays!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Redondo Beach, CA

Perfect Honeymoon!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
This hotel was wonderful. We stayed there 4 nights for our Honeymoon. The staff was amazing, and we loved our overwater bungalow. The water in front of this hotel is Bora Bora blue. It's also a kayak ride away from Coral Gardens, the best spot to snorkel in Bora Bora. No complaints. We will definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience at Sofitel Bora Bora Beach! we are waiting to welcome you back! I would like to congratulate you both for your honeymoon and thak you for choosing Sofitel to celebrate this magnifique event!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by RR from Sydney, AU

Perfect location

Posted May 1, 2014
It is fantastic resort and close to town, Bloody Mary's, Matria Beach and Moana intercontinental. Staff was great with the exception of one staff member. Food was good and facilities were good with the exception of some aspects that would assume a renovation will be scheduled soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments it is important for us to have your feed back, always!