Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location in the heart of the city

Posted Sep 30, 2014
This hotel is not a chain hotel but has all the amenities that you need. It is located at the heart of the city within 5 minutes walk to all the luxurious designer stores, such as Hermes, Louis Veitton, etc. As you go out from the hotel, there is Hugo Boss shop, restaurants, Carrefour grocery store, small indoor market, pastry shop, and cafe that was full of people at midnight in September.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Hotel Continental, Bordeaux

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Lots! But it won't, because its an historic building and there's no way to shoehorn any more rooms into it.
Location: very central to Bordeaux's Golden Triangle and the waterfront.
Centrally located but short on amenities. We arrived to find a broken air conditioner. i say "find' because they didn't bother to tell us, though they knew the problem existed, creating a half hour or so of additional frustration. But they comped our breakfasts - when we asked - as an offset to the stuffy room because they were too full to move us. Old fashioned Europe hotelier, quaint but I would try an American chain if i had to get work done in Bordeaux or wanted to stay a while. Or just wanted to be more comfortable. How can a nation that provides something as modern and efficient as the TGV still manage to offer devices like the elevator or the AC or the heater in this bathroom that look like something out of the 1950's, and work as well as they would if they were that old?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Nice enough hotel in a fairly central location

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Location, price, very polite and helpful staff.
Cons: The rooms look a little tired
Location: Great shopping, bars, restaurants. Historical monuments. The tourist office is also close by.
This hotel is convenient if you plan on travelling to Bordeaux city centre by bus from the airport. This costs 1.50 Euro's compared to an estimated 30 Euro's or more for a cab. The buses are great and run every 10 minutes or so, highly recommended. There is a stop at Place Gambetta, a small park and about a 5 minute walk away from the hotel. The hotel is hidden down a quiet side road and is fairly unassuming inside. The staff were all incredibly helpful and knowledgeable and gave us some great advice on things to go and see and do as well as helping with directions and restaurant bookings. The room was fairly basic but clean and tidy and we had no complaints. The view was fairly uninspiring and overlooked just another section of the hotel building although I'm sure there must be other rooms with better outlooks. For the price and location I would recommend the hotel. Rue St Catherine, the main shopping street is about a 5 minute walk away, Rue St Remi (good for restaurants and bars) is about the same distance and the river is about a 10-15 minute walk. The tourist office is about 10 minutes away and useful for booking vineyard tours in addition to other general information.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location and lovely building

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Our room looked out over the old cinema complex and to the beautiful city buildings. Parking was close by and the room just right. Would recommend a stay here if you want to explore the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Perfect location for Bordeaux

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The cost was good considering the location and the staff were very friendly and helpful
Cons: Definitely if you stay request a room with airconditioning if it's summer. I didn't and had a fan but it wasn't enough for the heat in Bordeaux!
Location: Very close to the main centre and shopping district as well as restaurants and transport links.
I had a conference to attend at the Opera house so this was a great location to walk to and from. It was also situated amongst many shops and cafes and bus transportation to the airport
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great hotel in the heart of Bordeaux

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Directions to the hotel if travelling by car would be useful.
Centrally located, charming building, and exceptional staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Na

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Na
Cons: Na
Location: Central
Very ordinary. Bordeaux is an excellent place to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sheilah W from Australia

central location

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is centrally located, so that you can walk easily to the points of interest in the city. Room was very clean & comfortable. Reception staff were very helpful & spoke English. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, as we preferred to have it in one of the nearby cafes which is cheaper too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

A well located, mediocre hotel.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The staff were kind and attentive.
Cons: I'm afraid the hotel needs renovation and redecoration.
Location: The location is the only distinguished aspect of this hotel. It's inside the old city, close to the liveliest streets of Bordeaux.
The building itself is charming, but the hotel seriously needs refurnishing. The receptionist was very kind to let us choose from the 3 vacant rooms, which were all small, weary, dim and lacking fresh air.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Susan from Epping

Perfectly placed hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We arrived at the Hotel Continental at about 11.00 am but were able to check into our room then. We asked for a quiet room and were on the 5th floor overlooking the central light well, which was not a problem. The lift however is small, and very slow-moving. It takes an age to arrive, particularly in the morning when cleaning staff are using it. We mainly used the stairs to avoid the long delay but it was a long way up! Breakfast was adequate but nothing special. The coffee machine was very slow which could lead to queues at busy times, and they rigorously enforced the time of close of service for a couple who arrived at 9.55 am and service closed at 10.00 am. The couple had to wait while the waitress checked that they could enter! There was a problem with the plumbing on Sunday morning which meant that there was no hot water which was not a problem particularly for us but might have been if it was our check out day. We requested late check out and were able to use our room until 1.00 pm at no extra charge. The wifi password and connection were not easy to log into but, with the receptionist's help, was achieved and from then on there was no problem - access throughout the hotel. Bordeaux is a beautiful city and the hotel is situated in a very convenient position to explore it all. We will recommend the Continental to friends.