Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Centrally located, close to tram stops.

Posted Sep 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay at the Gambetta Hotel. The staff were most helpful and polite. My only complaint was the size of the bathroom, whch was very small, also a lackof cuboard space was another small problem.
2 out of 5
by Aussie Gal from Sydney

Staff are terrible.

Posted Aug 18, 2012
Pros: Cute rooms with French windows
Cons: Rude Staff
Location: Fab spot
Hotel is nice, clean and cute infact. Rooms are basic but all you need and the location is fab but unfortunately that is all ruined by the fact the staff are incredibly unhelpful. Particularly if you don't speak French. Very difficult to get any information and they are just not even willing to help. Not worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quite pleasant.

Posted Jul 18, 2012
Cons: The lack of lifts or luggage assistance.
Location: Great location, very central.
Very nice and central. Only concern is there is no lift to the first floor and due to the way the floors are staggered you may have to carry luggage up and down a few flights of stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from Sydney

Small but nice

Posted Jun 20, 2012
Rooms are small, as people have said. But they are comfortable and clean and in a perfect central location. I would stay there again if I ever return to Bordeaux in the future.
3 out of 5
by Margaret from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK

Disappointed

Posted Jun 13, 2012
Pros: Friendly staff and clean
Cons: Small shower in bathroom and no room .
Location: Location easy to get to by public transport
This hotel was very disappointing,the staff were helpful and friendly but the room was very small and the view was very dismall looking out onto rooftops,although it was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Cameron

Great location

Posted May 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
Overall pleasant stay. Great location, and nice simple room. Not bad for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2011 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gambetta Hotel,Bordeaux

Posted Aug 14, 2011 on Hotels.com
the hotel was situated in the city centre so very good for sights,restaurants and shops.The hotel was smelly and dingy and the room was small.The passageway to the room was unlit and so in complete darkness at night.I would not stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset, UK

Small and airless room

Posted Jul 22, 2011 on Hotels.com
We chose the Hotel Gambetta because the location sounded perfect and the price was reasonable. When we arrived, the location WAS ideal, very central and easy to get to everything. However, our room was extremely small, the shower did not work properly and the room was airless, with one window looking out onto a very small open area, which allowed no breeze or air to come in. There is no air con, which means the only cooling you have is the overhead fan, which when on full is noisy and kept us awake. The weather was not good during our 3 night stay in July and although this was disappointing, had the sun been out and the temperature up we would have really struggled. As it was we both slept poorly and struggled with the heat at night. I can cope with a small room, so this was not the biggest issue, but the lack of air and heat in our 3rd floor room made this an uncomfortable stay. We were at the back of the hotel so the room was quiet, we were fortunate with our neighbours too, as the walls are very thin. Rooms at the front of the hotel would be noisy as you are on a busy road.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

OK, but...

Posted Jul 19, 2011
For a very small room in a provincial hotel, it seemed somewhat overpriced. No real complaints, though you have to climb stairs to access the elevator. Good breakfast.