Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sara from barnet

great comfortable stay

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: large clean
Cons: greeting by reception staff on arrival
Location: although next to a very busy road no noise at night
reception staff not over friendly a little formal the hotel was very clean and the room very comfortable
1 out of 5
by pennie from oxford

Sleepless night

Posted Dec 23, 2013
We were allocated room 236 , top floor. All was okay until the middle of the night when it sounded like we had a baby in our room who was crying, intermittent crying through the night, it awoke at 6.30am. This room had an adjoining door to our room. The door had a 3/4 inch gap between the floor and door so it was no wonder we could hear the baby. I complained in the morning to reception staff, no apology was given only told that because of how I had booked the room - via Expedia, I had no chance of recompense. I explained that this room should no be let to anybody other than the other occupants. Blank faces. Enough said. I will never use this set ice nor hotel again. A really bad experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by roosmith from Cambridgeshire

OK but only 4* on tick boxes not quality

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
It's a tricky one when criticising a hotel regarding it's perceived status. I'm sure the hotel has the amenities to allow it to tick the 4* box but it really isn't. The hotel feels tired, the room was clean in the middle but edges were worn and slightly dirty, the shower curtain was grey, the shower was not much more than a dribble. The hotel was hosting a wedding during my stay, one of those that involves loads of people standing outside shouting at each other, and falling up and down the corridors falling over. Considering there were cheaper chain hotels around for this night, it wasn't good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Hereford Man from Hereford

Comfortable room.

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was comfortable and warm. Was also quiet considering that the hotel is next to the busy A1. Other guest noise not noticeable either. Will be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by sarah

Good quiet hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel with good facilties.
2 out of 5
by Paul from Leeds

Room smelled of smoke and very dated

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Rooms need updating
Location: Close to Ellstree Studios.
Stayed over on a trip to Ellstree to watch Strictly being filmed. Very disappointed with the room. Smelled badly of smoke and curtains had a cigarette burn in them. Bathroom was grubby and had mould on shower curtain. Positives - Bed was comfy and great breakfast. Nice looking pool area. Had friends staying in Ibis which seemed as bad - probably check out the Travelodge next time which is nearer to the studios and looks fairly newly built.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast was expensive
Location: Easy acces from motorway
Great location for Elstree studios. Free parking a big advantage
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

In case of emergency book a different hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was as expected. Fire alarm at 01:45hrs where the people on duty showed no leadership. people were waiting outside and no one told them what was going on others were sitting in the reception lobby. The alarm was silenced as people were still leaving the building. Thankfully a false alarm, i would not like to have been there if it was for real.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great service

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great service, after telling the reception desk how exhausted I was, he looked at my room and said I'd have a better rest in a different part of the hotel and swapped rooms for me.