Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

History in the bush

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: All the display-info and history about the wars.
Cons: Just lovely the way it is
Location: Sun City is 30 mins away.
Staff so helpful, wonderful rooms. There is much much to see and learn at this hotel. Wow so much history. We just loved this hotel in the bush. Wild buck walking in the gardens. The road to get to the hotel is not very nice and I didn't like the area. Once in the grounds of the hotel you feel very safe there is security gates and it's all fenced off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

An African adventure with some comforts of home.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: friendly knowledgeable staff well trained in hospitality.
Cons: room heaters/air conditioners needed to be checked upon entering, our room though comfortable could have been a little warmer, easily corrected.
Location: So much to do, most interesting walks ever taken.Do not miss the museums and Pigmy Hippos.
Friendly staff, trained in hospitality, comfortable rooms, very interesting dining facilities, eating meals in a museum, delicious meals with a large variety of menu choices for breakfast, in room tea and coffee, hot showers, comfortable beds that challenge your departure. Don't miss the Saturday bonfires in the BOMA with the meats grilled to order, cold beer, and many side dishes. Take the free tours of the Boer living Quarters, Pigmy Hippo walk, great exercise made interesting with the nature sightings. Short drive to Sun City, do not miss the High Tea at 3:00 PM, front desk will make the arrangements. Lots of wildlife at your front door, mind the impala herds on the roam just outside the compound. Great value, would certainly return. This location will put you inside the Boer Wars history, ask many questions as the staff is very knowledgeable, and take photos, do not leave your room without a camera, as photo opportunities are at every turn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adel from Antrim, Ireland

Comfortable hotel close to Sun City and Pilansberg

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: The War Memrobilia, the hippo walk. Great value for money. Nice big rooms, we were in a super deluxe with outdoor shower.
Cons: It would have been nice if they had facilities for making a fire outside. They did have a boma area but the fire was never lit.
Location: Great location, 20km from Sun City and Pilansberg National Park.
We Stayed at Kedar with our 2 kids. We stayed in a family room which had ample space and the outdoor shower was a plus. There was a buffet restaurant and a bar with a good menu to choose from. The gardens were good for a wander around, the hippo walk was a lovely walk to see the pigmy hippos on site, but what was most interesting is all the Anglo Boer War Memrobilia. All kept in good order. The Paul Kruger museum on the grounds made a good tour. All staff very friendly, especially Cecil in the bar. The hotel is 20km from Sun City and Pilansberg National Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Phil from Atlanta, GA USA

A very pleasant surprise

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Comfortable rooms, good food
Location: Sun City, Pilanesburg National Park, Rustenburg, Platinum Mines
This was a pleasant surprise. Was expecting to go to a place that allowed us to just lay down our head, but we got a lot more than that. The lodges were spacious and comfortable, the meals were good, and while we did not partake in some of the other comforts of the spa and the game drive among other things, there was plenty to do. There is an Anglo-Boer War theme to the place, with much old war paraphernalia decorating the buildings. We enjoyed ourselves and we would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from Vancouver, Canada

Nice stay

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: The park-like surroundings
Location: Sun City, Pilanesberg
This country lodge is very nicely situated in a natrual environment. Good facilities and nice gardens. About 25 mins drive to Sun City or to Pilanesberg National Park (Bakubung Gate). Helpful staff. Good breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
20 mins from Sun City, about R150 pp each way to Sun City. The rooms are quite large and adequatey equiped. Ask for the breakfast pack the night before if you have sunrise safari the next day- its delicious
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Serge from canada

Great hotel, why so many bad reviews?

Posted Dec 13, 2013
We stayed at the lodge and initially almost cancelled after reading some reviews. A great experience, almost a museum and great art and wildlife. The buffet breakfast was one of the bests and we at at the pub every night, great Fish&Chips and Burgers. Do widlife all around. Not only nice, but a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Francesca from London, UK

Highly Recommended!

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
From the moment I stayed to when I left, the experience was 10/10! The premises were spotless, the friendliest and most helpful service, nothing was too much trouble. Great rates and not too far from Sun City. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Kedar is nice, lots of history and game to see!!!

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: The history and game viewing.
Cons: Sound proofing between the rooms.
Room was nice, clean and neat! However the walls between rooms 12 and 11 and 10 are paper thin, we could hear full conversations going on next door at all hours of the night!! Other than that not bad at all!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sturgis, SD

Nice alternative to Sun City when visiting P'berg

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: The staff went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay.
Location: We didn't stay long enough to fully explore the lodge and the museum, but Sun City and Pilanesberg reserve are only about 1/2 hour away.
We chose this location rather than staying at Sun City for a short visit to Pilanesberg. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. The morning breakfast was very comprehensive and good, and the lodge could arrange game drives to the reserve - both their own and through a service at Sun City. Since we were leaving very early the last morning we asked for a breakfast pack - and were impressed at how much good food they were able to pack into the bags. Overall we were very happy with this visit.