Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay if in Cambridge

Posted Nov 9, 2014
The host is very nice. The house is comfortable and peaceful. Many useful arrangements for travelers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Byron is a considerate and hard-working host. Breakfast is excellent. Room is over-priced. Location is good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ryu

ハーバードから徒歩10分

Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
B&BはBreakfast & Bedなのでホテルと違いバス・トイレ共用で朝食も管理人のおじさんが作ってくれるという形です。日本では見たこと無い業態なので、はじめはびっくり。しかし立地はRed LineのHarvard squareから徒歩10分と非常に便利がよかったですし、シャワールームなどもきれいでした。何日か泊まるには申し分無いと思います。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Fredericfrom Lausanne, Switzerland

Convenient but a bit old-fashioned place

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not an easy task to find a decent and affordable B&B in Cambridge for a 1-week stay. This one is charmful but room is not so convenient: furniture is outdated and A/C quite noisy. Not adapted to business trip (didn't know where to put my luggage) but most likely perfect for backpackers. The innkeeper is very nice and talkative which is great. I did enjoy our morning chatting when he was preparing breakfast (invariably a stuffed crepe with home made fruit compote and valilla yogurt) and good filtered coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

The host is great

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Breakfast was the best, and the best thing about the stay was the one and only host, great conversations at breakfast and advise on the city. Very nice neighborhood. Only reason that it did not get 5 stars is that the room has room for improvement, not any fault of the host. This is bed and breakfast, but not your honeymoon style B&B, I would stay here again. Room comfort could improve with a new air conditioning unit, other then that five stars. Sharing the bathroom, never a problem, and coming in and out with you wanted never a problem. No need to rent a car, easy with public transportation.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Hamburg, Germany

Great location, but low standard

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Please do not over-advertise because people will get disappointed.
Location: The hotel is very close to Harvard Yard and Square. Great location for Harvard, shops, restaurants. Close to public transportation.
I stayed in the B&B in Cambridge from 9-14 August 2014 when I attended a course at Harvard. The biggest asset of this B&B is the location: it is 10-min. walk to the Harvard Yard. The breakfast was also very good (crepes or flapjacks with blueberries), but could be more varied. Byron, the live-in manager was very helpful and entertaining. I booked this B&B based on the very positive reviews, but the standard has obviously dropped since they were written. Having said that, the owners have been working on bringing it back to standard, especially the cleanliness. However, more work is needed to make it a competitive B&B, suitable to the needs of business travellers or visitors to Harvard or MIT. It was also too expensive for what it offered ($188 a night!) The bathroom is shared! If you are on a tight schedule you will need to book the shower. We had 5 people competing for the shower, but the biggest problem was the toilet (no guest WC). The back porch needs a lot of work before it can be enjoyed by the guests, but they do have a selection of books and Byron is a walking encyclopaedia of knowledge about Cambridge and Boston. Parking: you will need a lot of luck or a lot of patience! The apartment is on the third floor, so ask Byron for help with your luggage. Bottom line: Great location, and great potential. With honest work this can be a great place to stay for visitors to Harvard or MIT. I hope the owners will turn this B&B around to deserve great reviews again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location close to Harvard square and train s

Posted Aug 11, 2014
It is a quaint home stay. The host Byron is welcoming and helpful. His breakfast crepes are so yum!!!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This B&B needs renovation.

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
This BB resides in the third floor of an old house. One of the four rooms on the third floor is lived by a staff there, who is nice and helps you with luggage. There is only one bathroom on the third room, which is extremely inconvenient. Most of the time, you have to share the bathroom with other at least four people, take turns and often wait to use the bathroom. The furniture in the room is old with a rotten wood smell. You can smell it all the time. The kitchen looks very dirty. The staff will make the breakfast for you if you are willing to wait there, which can take pretty a long time. Though you can tell the staff when you prefer to have the breakfast, you will feel really embarrassed if you are the only one having the breakfast at the time. In addition, can you imagine a BB not offering orange juice for breakfast? The worst part, the price is not cheaper than the other BB close by, which offers much better breakfast, service and room, and in which you do need to wait to use the bathroom. This BB in Cambridge has very thin wall, so you can always hear the noise from the busy street even at late night. In summary, I felt I lived in a hostel instead of a BB.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarafrom T

Lovely B&B

Posted Jun 17, 2014
This B&B couldn't have been more perfect. Great location. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, courteous staff, and breakfast cooked for you at whatever time you request. They even held our bags after we checked out so we could go to the natural history museum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island, New York, USA

Beautiful B&B in a great location.

Posted Feb 18, 2013
Pros: Warm, friendly staff.
Location: Right near Harvard.
Great location, right near Harvard, a short walk from the Harvard Square T station. The B&B is on the third floor of a beautiful old brownstone building. The room was comfortable and clean, with a great bed, and free wi-fi and TV. The bathroom is shared, but we never saw anyone waiting, and it was clean and well appointed. Very friendly staff--we really felt taken care of. We enjoyed the breakfast and conversation. Parking can be a challenge in Cambridge, but if you get lucky, there are a few free spots right in front of the building, and the nearby metered parking ends at 6 PM. We plan to stay here again on our next visit.